Karina could feel the blood drain from her veins... she could not believe what her eyes were seeing...
She moved like a zombie to the other side of the room, stepping over broken glass and debris... she paused to run her hands over the fabric of her brand new sofa set which had been cut to ribbons... even as she looked over to where her state of the art computer had been and a small sigh rose to her lips.
All that was left were dangling, mangled cords.
She ran into the bedroom - there was more of the same - no surface, no object had been spared... and then, something caught her eye underneath the bathroom door, a cord... she flung the door open and there floating in a tub full of water was her computer, her monitor and her printer... she gave a small sob, she hadn't even finished paying for it and she did not have renters insurance.
She sunk to the floor and began sobbing just as the front door erupted into a loud pounding.
“Who’s there?”
“Who the hell u think it is Karina? I want what’s mine”
Karina jumped up and backed into the corner – it was Jerome and she KNEW it was him that had done this to her apartment.
“What do you want Jerome? I have nothing for you, haven’t you done enough damage already?”
“Karina – u ain’t seen the damage I can do… and you gonna feel it if you don’t open this door now!”
Karina – picked up the phone, the cord was cut – she ran over to where she had dropped her purse on the way in and grabbed her cell phone. “Jerome, I’m calling the police so u better just leave right now”
“Aiiight Karina call the police then, I’ll be right here waiting when they get here cause I want what’s mine.
“What’s yours Jerome? What do I have that you think is yours?”
“My three thousand dollars Karina – that’s what I want… where my money at HO!”
“What three thousand dollars – you never gave me any money”
“Oh yeah is that what you think? What about that three hundred dollar boots you wearing? What about that eight hunnred dollar bracelet that u blinging on yuh hand… do you think u can walk around in that stuff and then step out on me with another fool Karina? Do you think I am a punk!! – I’ll kill you and then I’ll kill him”
“Oh Lord Jerome what are you talking about – first off I told you that I didn’t want these things because you and I are NOT together – but you insisted on leaving them here… I never told you that I was your girlfriend – if you want them you can have them back”
“Aiight then Karina open the door and give them to me”
Karina paused – something about the way he said that made her wary.
“Well I think I’ll just wait until the police get here since I’ll have to explain to them anyway”
There was silence then a loud thud and the door reverberated with force.
Karina gasped and looked around for something to use as a weapon if he should get through… another thud and she could have sworn she heard the latch breaking…
“Quick Karina THINK” she was talking to herself now, her palms were sweaty and she couldn’t get her thoughts straight… where were the damn police when you needed them?
She moved like a zombie to the other side of the room, stepping over broken glass and debris... she paused to run her hands over the fabric of her brand new sofa set which had been cut to ribbons... even as she looked over to where her state of the art computer had been and a small sigh rose to her lips.
All that was left were dangling, mangled cords.
She ran into the bedroom - there was more of the same - no surface, no object had been spared... and then, something caught her eye underneath the bathroom door, a cord... she flung the door open and there floating in a tub full of water was her computer, her monitor and her printer... she gave a small sob, she hadn't even finished paying for it and she did not have renters insurance.
She sunk to the floor and began sobbing just as the front door erupted into a loud pounding.
“Who’s there?”
“Who the hell u think it is Karina? I want what’s mine”
Karina jumped up and backed into the corner – it was Jerome and she KNEW it was him that had done this to her apartment.
“What do you want Jerome? I have nothing for you, haven’t you done enough damage already?”
“Karina – u ain’t seen the damage I can do… and you gonna feel it if you don’t open this door now!”
Karina – picked up the phone, the cord was cut – she ran over to where she had dropped her purse on the way in and grabbed her cell phone. “Jerome, I’m calling the police so u better just leave right now”
“Aiiight Karina call the police then, I’ll be right here waiting when they get here cause I want what’s mine.
“What’s yours Jerome? What do I have that you think is yours?”
“My three thousand dollars Karina – that’s what I want… where my money at HO!”
“What three thousand dollars – you never gave me any money”
“Oh yeah is that what you think? What about that three hundred dollar boots you wearing? What about that eight hunnred dollar bracelet that u blinging on yuh hand… do you think u can walk around in that stuff and then step out on me with another fool Karina? Do you think I am a punk!! – I’ll kill you and then I’ll kill him”
“Oh Lord Jerome what are you talking about – first off I told you that I didn’t want these things because you and I are NOT together – but you insisted on leaving them here… I never told you that I was your girlfriend – if you want them you can have them back”
“Aiight then Karina open the door and give them to me”
Karina paused – something about the way he said that made her wary.
“Well I think I’ll just wait until the police get here since I’ll have to explain to them anyway”
There was silence then a loud thud and the door reverberated with force.
Karina gasped and looked around for something to use as a weapon if he should get through… another thud and she could have sworn she heard the latch breaking…
“Quick Karina THINK” she was talking to herself now, her palms were sweaty and she couldn’t get her thoughts straight… where were the damn police when you needed them?