what does it mean when you are talking to somone and you kiss your teeth at something they said???
kissing teeth
Re: kissing teeth
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">but what if they take it as meaning something else </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]...what else dem coulda tek it fi mean?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what does it mean when you are talking to somone and you kiss your teeth at something they said??? </div></div>
To me it means rudeness...simple. But now that I've been to anger management classes I don't box people anymore. Jus tun di odda cheek an keep tings movin. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: coolbeans</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the person is jamaican?
i could ongly suggest that u try fi do it quieter [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] </div></div>
yes CB the person is Jamaican
but i do it without thinking
it is jus a natural reaction for me
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Makeda_Sess</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what does it mean when you are talking to somone and you kiss your teeth at something they said??? </div></div>
To me it means rudeness...simple. But now that I've been to anger management classes I don't box people anymore. Jus tun di odda cheek an keep tings movin. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] </div></div>
it not something i do in anger
so no need for anger management classes
it is jus a natural reaction
and as MarieK sey it can also mean that I agree with something with what the person said
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Makeda_Sess</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what does it mean when you are talking to somone and you kiss your teeth at something they said??? </div></div>
To me it means rudeness...simple. But now that I've been to anger management classes I don't box people anymore. Jus tun di odda cheek an keep tings movin. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] </div></div>
it not something i do in anger
so no need for anger management classes
it is jus a natural reaction
and as MarieK sey it can also mean that I agree with something with what the person said </div></div>
I find that if we make exceptions, we confuse people, especially the children we raise and sometimes model this "rude" way of responding to our children unconsciously. When they pick it up and start using it in their communication, it is considered rude and disrespectful. My experience has been that kissing your teeth is disrespectful and that's that...
It's like saying the word N****r is okay in some settings and not okay in others. ???
exception? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
I dont' think hissing your teeth is hardly comparable to the use of the N word.
It is the fact that the action along with other phrases can have different meanings.
Like the phrase get out of here. This weekend my best friend and her fiancee was staying with us, he said something unbeleivable and I said "get out of here" can u imagine if di man did pack up him sinting an leff.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi been getting inna trouble nuff lately over it from a certain someone</div></div>
kisteeth...maybe if u say a who wi caan gi yu some more insight inna di situation.