How do you ask your new mate if they've ever been tested for HIV and STD"s?!. You don't wanna scare him/She away but how do You ask without him/she feeling offended. It's like if you ask them the common answer is....."why, you think I got something?"
How Do You Ask
Re: How Do You Ask
The question you should ask is "WHEN was the last time you got tested?" and if they act offended that means they don't know if they have something or not so you need to let them know you can't tell either by looking so they need to go get tested or you will be keeping yourself to yourself.
People lie - a truism that can never be overstated.
They will look you in the eye and tell you that they were just tested last week. And they are ingenious too. They'll supply additional info that'll have you thinking 'a mus chroo im a talk...'
Info like: I had to get tested last week because of a new insurance policy at work. Mandatory thing, so I know I am clean.
Unless you see the dated paper giving them the all clear, neva tek a one's word fi it...
As to the suggestion of going to get tested together - it's a good one. But some will balk at it, cause some folk refuse to get tested. They won't say they don't want to get tested but they'll find a reason not to go...
I had a promiscuous friend, who always believed she could tell by looking if someone's got supm. And she's college educated too [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whatever.gif[/img]
I used to worry about her kids cause I was sure that one day she was going to pick up more than she was equipped to deal with...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The question you should ask is "WHEN was the last time you got tested?" and if they act offended that means they don't know if they have something or not so you need to let them know you can't tell either by looking so they need to go get tested or you will be keeping yourself to yourself. </div></div>I asked that exact question. him said "two years ago and me noh have nutten"
me say "well a full time yuh do annedda one"
him say "me noh have nutten"
me say "how yuh know dat, ya'ah dacta now?" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]
yes, me noh nice when me need serious answers. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smirk.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you haven't been tested either that is a good idea or you can just go with them if you have. If both tests come back negative make sure he/she whomever know that protection still has to be used! </div></div> and be damn serious about it too. cuss him and exit the relationship if him a form fool and noh want use condom
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Annshan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How do you ask your new mate if they've ever been tested for HIV and STD"s?!. You don't wanna scare him/She away but how do You ask without him/she feeling offended. It's like if you ask them the common answer is....."why, you think I got something?" </div></div>
Why should that scare anyone away? More importantly, you should ask if he/she will come with you to get tested so you can start out the relationship with trust. It only takes one week afterall, they give you a paper afterwords with the results you can show each other.
No reason fi feel no weh.
If yuh nuh aks dem, dem ago ask you. An if dem nuh ask you, then de a hide sinten.
But sometime dem nuh give you paper eno. So you haffi trust di smaddy. Caw to get residence visa dem test mi fi HIV an ting and dem nuh gi you paper fi show, just gi you visa. So mi know seh mi pass, but mi nuh have di paper fi show.