Re: Question
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So I don't understand how there can be 'no fault' and 'legal grounds for the dissolution of...' </div></div>
but, Nunya, you just ansa you own question herso:
I live “common law” with my partner but we’ve never been married. Am I able to apply for a divorce?
No. You cannot apply for for, nor do you need to apply for one. Only married people, whether they are of the opposite or same sex, are eligible to apply. <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-style: italic">Despite your exclusion from the divorce process, you may still be able to apply to the court or negotiate a formal separation to settle support, child custody and other outstanding matters between you and your partner.</span></span>
According to oonu rules up deh...they are excluded from assigning things like fault. They do have the right to ask a court to settle other aspects of the relationship.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So I don't understand how there can be 'no fault' and 'legal grounds for the dissolution of...' </div></div>
but, Nunya, you just ansa you own question herso:
I live “common law” with my partner but we’ve never been married. Am I able to apply for a divorce?
No. You cannot apply for for, nor do you need to apply for one. Only married people, whether they are of the opposite or same sex, are eligible to apply. <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-style: italic">Despite your exclusion from the divorce process, you may still be able to apply to the court or negotiate a formal separation to settle support, child custody and other outstanding matters between you and your partner.</span></span>
According to oonu rules up deh...they are excluded from assigning things like fault. They do have the right to ask a court to settle other aspects of the relationship.