I guess my only question is "why?" Why would any woman, particularly a woman with kids be so desperate?
I stumbled across this and in view of recent dicussions, thought it might be an interesting topic to explore. Steering clear away from humourous thread (cyann boddah), let's look at something very serious:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Women Can Really Be Weird
Women Who Fall in Love with Prisoners and Ex-Cons
Have you ever wondeed why a women would be a penpal to a prison inmate? I can understand that if it is a situation where a wife is writing to her husband and a child to their father who was incarcerated. What about the others who write to total strangers? Is it because they are desperate or an ominous sign of the shortage of men? Perhaps, it is because of feeling too much sympathy for someone incarcerated - - after all - isn't it our so-called Christian duty? Or are they so alone that is the only to ease their anguished hearts?
I am writing about this after hearing the news that a female juror in the Scott Peterson case is now his pen pal. Supposedly her therapist (apparently she needed one after the trial) advised her to write Scott Peterson. The article alluded that the therapist "didn't think she would actually mail it " but she did anyway and thus, they have become pen-friends. I wonder though about what sort of friendship between her and Scott Peterson could be, after all, wasn't she one of those who sentenced him to death? Now, she is singing a different tune, but alas, too late. Or maybe she was out of tune when she agreed with the rest to sentence this "charming man" to death.
This makes me furthur wonder why women fall for prisoners, ex-cons and the types of men that their mothers would vehemently disapprove of. Perhaps, it's a complex
SOURCE (HTML)
Source(JPG)
Any thoughts? Reactions?
I had a friend at college...White and very mousy. She couldn't get a guy to pay attention to her if her life depended on it. Next thing you know she was involved in "prison ministry" and she married a Black guy when he was released from prison. I know another "big horse woman", Black Jamaican, who started dating a guy with a criminal record. She met him when he was in jail. Even married him when he was released. That didn't stop the authorities from deporting him straight back to Jamaica.
So wha' mek? It's difficult to understand. Can anybody shed some light on this?
I stumbled across this and in view of recent dicussions, thought it might be an interesting topic to explore. Steering clear away from humourous thread (cyann boddah), let's look at something very serious:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Women Can Really Be Weird
Women Who Fall in Love with Prisoners and Ex-Cons
Have you ever wondeed why a women would be a penpal to a prison inmate? I can understand that if it is a situation where a wife is writing to her husband and a child to their father who was incarcerated. What about the others who write to total strangers? Is it because they are desperate or an ominous sign of the shortage of men? Perhaps, it is because of feeling too much sympathy for someone incarcerated - - after all - isn't it our so-called Christian duty? Or are they so alone that is the only to ease their anguished hearts?
I am writing about this after hearing the news that a female juror in the Scott Peterson case is now his pen pal. Supposedly her therapist (apparently she needed one after the trial) advised her to write Scott Peterson. The article alluded that the therapist "didn't think she would actually mail it " but she did anyway and thus, they have become pen-friends. I wonder though about what sort of friendship between her and Scott Peterson could be, after all, wasn't she one of those who sentenced him to death? Now, she is singing a different tune, but alas, too late. Or maybe she was out of tune when she agreed with the rest to sentence this "charming man" to death.
This makes me furthur wonder why women fall for prisoners, ex-cons and the types of men that their mothers would vehemently disapprove of. Perhaps, it's a complex
SOURCE (HTML)
Source(JPG)
Any thoughts? Reactions?
I had a friend at college...White and very mousy. She couldn't get a guy to pay attention to her if her life depended on it. Next thing you know she was involved in "prison ministry" and she married a Black guy when he was released from prison. I know another "big horse woman", Black Jamaican, who started dating a guy with a criminal record. She met him when he was in jail. Even married him when he was released. That didn't stop the authorities from deporting him straight back to Jamaica.
So wha' mek? It's difficult to understand. Can anybody shed some light on this?