Mr Vice Grip
Dear Pastor,
I have been with a guy for two years. He has three children whom he supports as best he can. He lost his job about a year ago and since then he has been searching for employment, but all he gets are odd jobs here and there. He explained to me that he would love to buy me things but because of his financial situation he's not able to do so.
Sometimes he gets jobs. I know he receives money but he has never one day given me anything. What do you think of this guy? Is he just plain mean and keeps using his situation as an excuse? I do love him but most times I say to myself that I should be treated better and being with him makes no sense at all.
C.R., St. Catherine, Jamaica
Dear C.R.,
Your man is mean, very mean. And I beg you, please do not marry him, otherwise "dog nyam you supper". You would have to support him. This man is not someone you can be proud of. No good man would refrain from buying his girlfriend little gifts. It doesn't have to be expensive gifts but she should be able to say "my man gave me such and such". Loving men don't go to see their girlfriends with empty hands everyday. Such men would live on women and expect the women to feed them Sunday to Saturday. "Caant wuk. Nuh sanky nuh sing so"
Pastor
jamaicastar
Dear Pastor,
I have been with a guy for two years. He has three children whom he supports as best he can. He lost his job about a year ago and since then he has been searching for employment, but all he gets are odd jobs here and there. He explained to me that he would love to buy me things but because of his financial situation he's not able to do so.
Sometimes he gets jobs. I know he receives money but he has never one day given me anything. What do you think of this guy? Is he just plain mean and keeps using his situation as an excuse? I do love him but most times I say to myself that I should be treated better and being with him makes no sense at all.
C.R., St. Catherine, Jamaica
Dear C.R.,
Your man is mean, very mean. And I beg you, please do not marry him, otherwise "dog nyam you supper". You would have to support him. This man is not someone you can be proud of. No good man would refrain from buying his girlfriend little gifts. It doesn't have to be expensive gifts but she should be able to say "my man gave me such and such". Loving men don't go to see their girlfriends with empty hands everyday. Such men would live on women and expect the women to feed them Sunday to Saturday. "Caant wuk. Nuh sanky nuh sing so"
Pastor
jamaicastar