Nunya, I'm just reading this and I've wondered where you have been lately. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img] You probably don't remember but years ago when I was at home for about a week getting myself ready to go on some interviews you were here on the board and we laughed and joked with each other so much. This is why I love to pick at you at times. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/nahnahnay.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/nahnahnay.gif[/img]
I knew I liked you for a reason cause I too started off in the Arts in College in Advertising and Design. I also love to write "haven't posted any stories on the board" but people that are close to me have also tried to push me in that direction as well. I don't paint but my love is cartooning. So sorry about your husband's condition same thing runs in my family, but what can you do?
I am very happy work wise, there is nothing like getting an unexpected hug from the little one even if he's been stubborn and getting into things. The parents can be a little too needy at times but the love of a child over powers anything foolish that may be going on through out the day. Summer time is the best with picnics, swimming, everything outside wouldn't trade it for an office job for anything. Plus anytime the baby starts to show out all I have to do is squirt him with the water gun a couple of good times. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Hang in there. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/blushing2.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/blushing2.gif[/img]
(((Nunya))) Sorry things are so rough for you now. But, sometimes things happen for a reason and perhaps your post was a sign, cuz I'm here to tell you that Boundie is right. (Congrats on your success (((BB)))) ) Three years ago I had the same revelation, turned my back on the corporate world and decided to make my long time writing habit-- my new career.
In the last two years, I've had several plays professional produced and a handful of short stories published while finishing my MA in English education. This summer I'm teaching a drama class to middle schoolers. And last Saturday, I attended the premier of a new 1-Act I wrote. Afterwards, I was just about to walk out the door when I felt a tap on my shoulder. It was the Artistic Director of a major local theatre company. He heard of me. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/shocked.gif[/img] Came specifically to see my play. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/shocked.gif[/img] Wondered if I had a full-length he could read for production in their fall season. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/shocked.gif[/img] He didn't want just any play. He wanted one of my plays. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
So, Nunya.... me, you and BB have always been the writers around here. I believe it is your turn now. It's a leap of faith-- yes. But, if you believe in yourself and have friends/family who believe in you too-- anything is possible. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
(((Nunya))) I am sorry you are going through all of this. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] I am sure you will find the answers and it will all work out for you. When I was trying to figure out the direction I was going to take, I just told myself that I have family and friends that love me, what is the worst that can happen? I'd have to join the circus to make money? Well, at least I'd be perfoming. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
Thanks for the pats on the back everyone. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img] It sure feels nice. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img]
Thanks Lacy, Ms ilp (is dat de same ILP [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]) Samantha, BB an Zarah.
The feedback of everyone in this thread has been tremendously motivational. So thank you all. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Way to go Lacy!!!! My turn now??? No pressure, huh??? ~lol~
What do you guys think of this: I was mentioning to someone how difficult it is for black writers here in Canada to get published. They suggested that I start up a publishing co (I'on know nutn bout publishing [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek.gif[/img]) and that they would help with start up costs!!!!
Mi no like borrow money - cause it have a tendency fi age mi [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smirk.gif[/img] But at dis crossroads, mi nuh tink mi should just dismiss de offer jus so...
Nunya girl, you are sooo talented. I don't doubt your turn will soon come.
I started out sending my stuff to any and all contests I could find. That's how my first play was produced-- in Denver of all places. Of course, I didn't get to see it but they sent me a program and a DVD of the performance. Another play won a couple a different contests with prize money totaling $2500. The short stories were published by the contest sponsors and I haven't had to fork over anything but entry fees (the most expensive was $50, although most contests are free). As another writing side job, I pen horoscopes for a newspaper at $25/pop. When I finally built a resume of works, I started making the rounds locally. It took a lot of time and energy, but it was worth it. To date, I've made almost $8,000 on my writing.
As for that 'no place for black literature', I wrote a short play called 'Chat Patwah'. The executive producer of a small local theatre troupe (young, white, gay guy) absolutely loved it. They will be performing it next month. (Although, it will be interesting to see how they pull this off. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img] )
Start with the contests, Nunya. Look for one's specific to your genre. Your stories are too good not to be shared with others. So, go break a leg!! (((Nunya))) [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
As for that 'no place for black literature', I wrote a short play called 'Chat Patwah'. The executive producer of a small local theatre troupe (young, white, gay guy) absolutely loved it. They will be performing it next month. (Although, it will be interesting to see how they pull this off. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img] )
That made me BOAL! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] I'd love to hear that miself. Prolly would spend a lot of time wincing and laughing at in appropriate moments ~lol~
Your success gives me hope Lacy. Cheers! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
That made me BOAL! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] I'd love to hear that miself. Prolly would spend a lot of time wincing and laughing at in appropriate moments ~lol~
I'm already [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] They had me re-edit and re-spell things out in the most peculiar ways so they get the inflection right. I'm really really looking forward to this.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
About a month ago, David was hospitalized for a week because he had a heartbeat of 180. Needless to say, I was scared. During the time that he was in the hospital, I was forced to look at somethings that I knew I had to change, but just 'couldn't be bothered with right now' before...
<span style="color: #009900"> Sorry to hear about David; hope he's feeling much better now. </span>
I hate my job. And this hatred is starting to affect my quality of life. I have become short-tempered, bad-humoured and more or less intolerable... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] <span style="color: #009900"> Not sure if you're using the correct tense here...always thought you were like that...[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]...[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] :[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </span>
I like the town in which I live. It's not too big and not too busy. However, industry here is seriously limited. And as ya'll know, I don't have a car [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
To get a better job, we'd have to move. I do not want to be travelling to Toronto everyday [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] but I don't want to live there either.
So my Mom calls me up and tells me that she's giving a piece of land that was bequeathed to her, to me.
<span style="color: #009900"> Move to the land and let it work for you. </span>
David is pretty excited and is ready to move there right now (he hates his job too). My son is not too keen.
<span style="color: #009900"> Board him with family member; he'll be awrite. </span>
As for me, I am ready to go home, but we haven't enough money to do so.
<span style="color: #009900"> Between you and your husband, it sounds like you could make it work. It seems as if people in Jamaica know how to stretch money much more than we do away from home. You will learn...if you want to be there. It's when you don't want to be there that the problem is created; in that case everything becomes a problem. Island living is...hmmm...wonderful!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.