What are the rules of engagement on both sides for people who are separated ?
Separated
Re: Separated
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Geneva</div><div class="ubbcode-body">other than being civil ? wah yuh mean ? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] </div></div>
Do you set limits or just see where things go ?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: JM1</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Geneva</div><div class="ubbcode-body">other than being civil ? wah yuh mean ? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] </div></div>
Do you set limits or just see where things go ? </div></div>
Separation does not have to lead to divorce. Many couples have found their way back to each other after being separated so IMO just see where things go. Setting limits may ruin the chance of salvaging the marriage.
You can say that again but thank God for second, third, fourth, etc. chances.
My marriage was done, divorce papers were filed and there was no getting back together for us so I didn't think twice about hanging out with the person at the time.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...
My marriage was done, divorce papers were filed and there was no getting back together for us so I didn't think twice about hanging out with the person at the time. </div></div>
But isn't that different from being 'separated'?
This may sound weird, but I think people (men) will tend to be interested in a woman who is "seperated" more than a woman who is "divorced"... not sure why. It is almost like they are off the hook for a bigger type of committment if the woman is seperated (in case they go back), but if a woman is divorced and dating again, it is almost a sign to a man like they are trying to replace the lost relationship/marriage.
Myself, I was seperated for 2 1/2 years before my divorce last summer. There was no chance of reconciliation because my husband was cheating which is why I kicked him out (seperation) in the first place, and it was a matter of $$$ before the divorce happened.
I have not dated since. I am just enjoying time with my daughter while she is at a great age. I have been asked out, but I have not wanted to put my daughter through any more confusing times or difficulties. I figure there will always be time for another relationship later in my life if I choose to go that route. For now, my daughter, working hard to model independence for my daughter, and travelling the world with my girl are the biggest things to me.
Everyone is different though... and the rules of engagement are different in every situation.
JM1, you sound tormented in yur dialogue... I am sorry. Go with your gut... don't pressure yourself. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Nunya, you're not divorced until the judge say so. I've seen many petitioins that were rejected. </div></div>
That's not the point I was making. Folk who are separated, are saparated with an explanation.
If I met someone and they say they're separated, they would then explain or I would ask for the explanation of just how separated they are - since some folk are separated 'to try it apart', or others are separated with a view to 'working it out', while there are those who are separated with a view to divorcing.
In your case it was the third instance.
During my single years, I met many a man that were 'separated' but would say they were divorced, when in point of fact, dem did jus 'bruk up fi a likkle bit but dem nah go eva done'...
It's a tough thing!
My wife (ex wife) and I have been separated for over four years now. We have a separation agreement and I have not seen her in over three years. Do I still call her my "wife' or do I call her my "ex-wife"?
I want a divorce but I just don't have the funds at the moment to pay a lawyer to pursue it and I don't trust those do it yourself divorces.
I suppose if I met a woman who I wanted to begin a relationship with I would tell her my situation. With any luck she would understand and not just give up on me because I am separarted and not divorced.
If I meet the right woman I will pay the money to get a divorce but until then it seems like a waste of money because it will not change my situation at the moment.