Re: rasta ann mzungu oomen
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mountaingal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">years ago in a discussion about rastafarianism on the board, it was pointed out to me the saying "death to black and white oppressors" as evidence that rastafariansim was not really about black consciousness per se. which was a surprise to me, a bit.
to you sista mountaingal & also sista elke...
'rastafarianism' a babylon ting...'rastafari' is i and i ting because ras don't deal with ism & schism...
now mountaingal...saying that ras is not about black consciousness per se based on the nyabinghi saying 'death to black & white oppressors' is curious...
why is death to a black oppressor not black consciousness?
i would argue that it IS black consciousness as well as black INTELLIGENCE...should i side with a black man who oppresses me just because his skin shade is the same as mine?
and coversely should i run weh a white man who is helping me just because his skin shade is different from mine?
in my opinion...NO!
even the great malcolm x evolved to see that this stance was folly...
and in my opinion rasta is among the most conscius of black men because he defends the motherland, africa...
rasta knows that all humans came from africa/ns & we are all one blood...
i guess some can't figure out how i and i defend the mother without hating others...it's just the teachings of his majesty...
the higher man can't be hateful or petty, but must strive for justice...
so the nyabingi crede doesn't mean ras is not a conscious black man, it means he is a JUST one...
now as far as ras & white ooman...
personally, myself & all my bredrins have dem black empress...but my point in that other thread is that i can't just look at a man & conclude that he is a 'sellout' simply based on the mate he chose...i would have to look deeper;
first of all having locks doesn't absolutely=rastafari...he could just be a locksman...a rastafari must overstand where ras tafari=haile selassie i fits into prophecy & revelation...
if a man claims rastafari & has a white empress he must have a reason for doing so...being angry & judging him for it is not necessarily a productive thing...
racism is a powerful thing & me personally love rasta because it has helped me to learn over the years & decipher the mystery of racism...one of the most powerful vices to have seduced mankind...
ras can bun fiyah & call dung brimstone pon babylon all day...babylon represents the corrupt unjust system of vampirism & devilishment, not a race of people per se...it just happens that over the last few hundred years european powers have occupied babylon's position, so we bun fiya pon dat, not necessarily the white race in & of itself...
more later...ras-pect
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mountaingal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">years ago in a discussion about rastafarianism on the board, it was pointed out to me the saying "death to black and white oppressors" as evidence that rastafariansim was not really about black consciousness per se. which was a surprise to me, a bit.
to you sista mountaingal & also sista elke...
'rastafarianism' a babylon ting...'rastafari' is i and i ting because ras don't deal with ism & schism...
now mountaingal...saying that ras is not about black consciousness per se based on the nyabinghi saying 'death to black & white oppressors' is curious...
why is death to a black oppressor not black consciousness?
i would argue that it IS black consciousness as well as black INTELLIGENCE...should i side with a black man who oppresses me just because his skin shade is the same as mine?
and coversely should i run weh a white man who is helping me just because his skin shade is different from mine?
in my opinion...NO!
even the great malcolm x evolved to see that this stance was folly...
and in my opinion rasta is among the most conscius of black men because he defends the motherland, africa...
rasta knows that all humans came from africa/ns & we are all one blood...
i guess some can't figure out how i and i defend the mother without hating others...it's just the teachings of his majesty...
the higher man can't be hateful or petty, but must strive for justice...
so the nyabingi crede doesn't mean ras is not a conscious black man, it means he is a JUST one...
now as far as ras & white ooman...
personally, myself & all my bredrins have dem black empress...but my point in that other thread is that i can't just look at a man & conclude that he is a 'sellout' simply based on the mate he chose...i would have to look deeper;
first of all having locks doesn't absolutely=rastafari...he could just be a locksman...a rastafari must overstand where ras tafari=haile selassie i fits into prophecy & revelation...
if a man claims rastafari & has a white empress he must have a reason for doing so...being angry & judging him for it is not necessarily a productive thing...
racism is a powerful thing & me personally love rasta because it has helped me to learn over the years & decipher the mystery of racism...one of the most powerful vices to have seduced mankind...
ras can bun fiyah & call dung brimstone pon babylon all day...babylon represents the corrupt unjust system of vampirism & devilishment, not a race of people per se...it just happens that over the last few hundred years european powers have occupied babylon's position, so we bun fiya pon dat, not necessarily the white race in & of itself...
more later...ras-pect