Originally posted by Fancy DatdamnDiva
Is age really just a number?
Originally posted by Fancy DatdamnDiva View Postmi neva follow di real life story...mi neva kno a tru story dat
Originally posted by FLUFFY View PostUnder rock unda de sea yu live? wowsers. Dah deh did big big on Oprah missis.....when him come pan stage wid him unibrows dem and roach killer shoes...white shirt wid GAY screaming through his pants.
guess soh...mi nuh watch Oprah or tv summuch henyway...so whappentalk di tings dem
Originally posted by FLUFFY View PostUnder rock unda de sea yu live? wowsers. Dah deh did big big on Oprah missis.....when him come pan stage wid him unibrows dem and roach killer shoes...white shirt wid GAY screaming through his pants.
What does this even MEAN? I dont know but I cant stop laughing!
Originally posted by Peasie View Post
Originally posted by Fancy DatdamnDiva View Postnot so good?mi did tink seh dem end up happy togetha
Now there may be some but I have never heard of them.
In a tale rich in lost love, closeted secrets and acrimonious divorce, it turns out that famed local writer Terry McMillan -- whose celebrated romance and subsequent marriage to a man 23 years her junior became the subject of her fictionized best-seller "How Stella Got Her Groove Back" --actually got her groove back with a man who now says he's gay.
The story is spilling out in made-for-Hollywood detail in Contra Costa CountySuperior Court, where McMillan has filed for divorce from her Jamaican- born husband of six years, Jonathan Plummer.
McMillan, 53, said in court documents that the marriage was based on a "fraud" because Plummer lied about his sexual orientation -- and married her only to gain U.S. citizenship.
"It was devastating to discover that a relationship I had publicized to the world as life-affirming and built on mutual love was actually based on deceit," she wrote in her declaration. "I was humiliated."
Plummer, 30, countered in court papers of his own that McMillan has turned on him with a "homophobic" vengeance and is trying to force his return to an uncertain future in Jamaica. He wants to void the couple's prenuptial agreement that would keep from him most of the millions she's earned as a writer.
He also claims he was denied his full share of royalties, as spelled out in the prenup, from "How Stella Got Her Groove Back," the fictionalized account of a single mother's torrid relationship with a Jamaican young enough to be her son that very much parallels the lives of McMillan and Plummer.
Plummer's attorney, Dolores Sargent, said her client has no interest in embarrassing McMillan or extorting money from her.
"All I want to do is settle the case in a way that's fair to both parties ... and that allows Jonathan sufficient funds to re-establish himself," Sargent said. "And we have been blocked."
In court papers, however, McMillan leaves little doubt that she believes Plummer was always motivated by money.
"Jonathan has manipulated me from the very beginning in his scheme to come to the United States, become a citizen and get rich through someone else's effort," McMillan wrote in one of her filings.
In fact, McMillan says Plummer zeroed in on her precisely because of her celebrity status as an author whose earlier books included "Waiting to Exhale, " which sold some 4 million copies and was made into a movie.
In an interview, Plummer insisted that he didn't know he was gay when he met McMillan in June 1995 at a Jamaican resort. Nor, he says, did he seize on the author's fame.
"I was a 20-year-old kid when I met her and had no idea that she was anybody other than an attractive, older woman," he said in court papers.
For her part, McMillan, who was then 42, said she worried when she first met Plummer that he was interested only in her money. "But Jonathan was very charming and made me believe that he was crazy about me," she told the court.
The two eventually married in Maui on Sept. 8, 1998 -- but not before Plummer signed a prenup that waived his rights to everything should they ever part, including "temporary and permanent spousal support and attorney's fees, " according to court papers filed by McMillan.
The couple settled in McMillan's $4 million Danville home and, at least according to Plummer, enjoyed a happy life -- until the last few years when the marriage started coming undone.
"He became less attentive, less charming, more distracted and absent from the home," McMillan wrote in her declaration.
Plummer said he was spending long hours with a dog-grooming business in Danville that McMillan had set up for him a couple of years ago in apparent anticipation of a split.
It wasn't until just before last Christmas, Plummer says, that the two finally split -- after he revealed he was gay.
"I was kicked out of the house in December right after I told her," he said in the interview.