Yes mi know some of them were gallis but as I look at vintage photos and see how well they used to put themselves together and listen to the beautiful romantic music some of them sung,
mi can't help but wondah ...wha mek? The older men spoke so nicely regardless of income level. Shoes polished till dem did shine.
I mean at least women today still take time to do their hair and put on make-up. Yes many Jamaican men do dress up for special occasions. So much of what one sees is the jeans, sloppy shirts, uncombed hair...
I mean compare how gentlemanly these gentlemen looked.
jamaicanmen.JPG

with the rough and cruff attire and manner of speech today.
I am not putting anyone down.....just wondering.
mi can't help but wondah ...wha mek? The older men spoke so nicely regardless of income level. Shoes polished till dem did shine. I mean at least women today still take time to do their hair and put on make-up. Yes many Jamaican men do dress up for special occasions. So much of what one sees is the jeans, sloppy shirts, uncombed hair...
I mean compare how gentlemanly these gentlemen looked.
jamaicanmen.JPG

with the rough and cruff attire and manner of speech today.
I am not putting anyone down.....just wondering.
men just don't write these kind of songs today.