<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MrsMarieK</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So Carol and I work together and since I came here I know how Carol and her husband met, where they go on vacation her husband's problem with alcohol and each and every annoying family member he has back home in Jamaica.
So does everyone else. They know every single thing about her family. Me, I keep it cordial, I think they pick up on most of the comments I make about my personal life are in jest and I think they have figured out they don't know the real me.
With the exception of one person none of them know where I live, what I drive what my husband's name is nothing.
So anyhow, its coming on to Christmas and every one seems to stop by your desk for a bit of chatter during the holidays and one girl stopped by and saw my poster on my desk (it has my b'day on it) she said oh I didn't know you were born in December I said yes she said great month I said yup she said my husband's born December so I said really, great.
She then said she had a friend, cat aunt something or another was born in December I wasn't really listening to which I smiled and replied wow.
Then she pulled u a seat and said You know Marie we know nothing about you, we know you are Jamaican cuz that's where Carol's husband is from but we dont' know anything else, is your husband Jamaican, I replied yes eh is and stopped.
She paused too expecting more. I just sat there with this silly grin plastered on my face and stared at her till she got up and left (I think I made her uncomfortable, I have a talent for making people uncomfortable it's an art I've perfected over the years).
So tell me this, how much about your life does your coworkers know.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gullygirl</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is di whole heap a follow up questions dem mi caan tek..
if yuh ask mi "how was mi weeken", an mi seh "good"..
no need to ask what mi did duh, where mi went, wat mi made for sunday dinna.. </div></div>
lawd unno cantankarous eeeeeh......why yu noh juss tell di people dem wha dem want fi hear.....[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
This is my monday morning convo repeated at least 6 times fi di day.
Me - Mawnin so an so
dem - [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] Hi Tanya how was your weekend, do anything fun?
Me - well if you call turning tricks on 3rd ave in -20 fun then yes [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] so an so yes [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] I sure did [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: TanyaAynat</div><div class="ubbcode-body">lawd unno cantankarous eeeeeh......why yu noh juss tell di people dem wha dem want fi hear.....[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Me - Mawnin so an so
dem - [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] Hi Tanya how was your weekend, do anything fun?
Me - well if you call turning tricks on 3rd ave in -20 fun then yes [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] so an so yes [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] I sure did [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
</div></div> [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]yeah, mi really gwaan tell mi boss dat [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whatever.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: LadyZ</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: TanyaAynat</div><div class="ubbcode-body">lawd unno cantankarous eeeeeh......why yu noh juss tell di people dem wha dem want fi hear.....[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Me - Mawnin so an so
</div></div> [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]yeah, mi really gwaan tell mi boss dat [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whatever.gif[/img] </div></div>
yu si Zed is all in di tone, because 90% a di time dem not even a listen to yu....dem juss a look opportunity fi prove to dem self dat smaddy else life sucks more dan fi dem.
try dis, next time smaddy seh Good morning how are you, juss smile big and say quite terrible thanks and how are you. ....mi 100% sure dem agoh answer fine thanks.
Lawd oonu cold sah! There is a happy medium with coworkers, after all you spend a lot of time with them, that don't mean they have to know your personal business but you can be cordial and polite.
Agreed - no one's seriously saying you shouldn't be cordial and polite.
It's just that sometimes, people want to know alllllll your business - and that's a bit much.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lawd oonu cold sah! There is a happy medium with coworkers, after all you spend a lot of time with them, that don't mean they have to know your personal business but you can be cordial and polite. </div></div>
"so, are you getting all ready for xmas"
me: yes
she: what do you do for christmas
me: just the regular.
i don't want to tell her i don't celebrate xmas because it will open up one big barrage about the whys and wheres of that. and people are so out of it that they just take it everyone is like them and want to discuss their weak bladder, receding gums, bulimic daughter that ran away to live in a commune, drunken fumblings with guys you pick up in bars, or their favourite porn. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]
The same girl mi menshan uppa tap, call mi one night..mi frighten suh till..
shi got my number from the company directory and wanted to discuss American Idol..It was the night Melinda got voted off, she was quite upset cause shi was a Melinda fan..
anyway, mi was feeling very generous dat night, suh mi indulge har..
by the time the conversation was over, mi fine out seh a 5 vibrators shi have.. and wat shi used each a dem fah..
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.