smaddy tek a wild guess dats all, nuh need fi mek anyting outta it.
Explain this to me (Especially the men)
South Florida is called "Kingston 21". It has the 2nd largest Jamaican community in the US (NY is no. 1). According to the U.S. Census Bureau there are 153,000 people of Jamaican ancestry. Most people will tell you it is underestimated due to people who are here illegally and those who don't trust the census. The number is closer to 250,000.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWhen did all of these Jamaicans arrive in South Florida? I have a cousin in Jacksonville and her brother is also in Florida, Miramar wherever that is. I have an uncle near Jacksonville. I guess I have to remember that my family is no different from any other Jamaican family and the same patterns apply.

Miramar and Lauderhill are Jamaican enclaves. In Miramar all 5 commissioners are Jamaican or off Jamaican descent. Same thing in Lauderhil. If you don't claim your Jamaican descent in these areas you will not get elected.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
I used to have an Aunt from New York who would refer to here like it was Jamaica. She would say things like "Last time I was here I saw cousin xxxddd" when that cousin is actually living in Jamaica.Originally posted by Emperah View Postdats why dung deh a mi 2nd yaadOut of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
When did the demographics shift? Aren't you all afraid of the stand you ground laws?Originally posted by Xavier View PostI used to have an Aunt from New York who would refer to here like it was Jamaica. She would say things like "Last time I was here I saw cousin xxxddd" when that cousin is actually living in Jamaica.
Originally posted by Emperah View Postwah ya talk bout it's bin that way fi de longest while dis nuh new.
doan mek mi haffi tell yuh bout de cocoon again
Here is the deal Emperah. I went to St. Petersberg, Clearwater, and Orlando before my son was born. He is now 23. I don't recall running into any West Indians then. Ditto when I took him to Orlando at age 7. Did not go back until last year .... to Palm Beach.....and there were quite a few Haitans and Jamaicans working at the hotel. One was even from the same town as my family.
So know I have not been in a cocoon. I have been travelling a lot just not to the USA. I used to travel via LA before 9/11 enroute to Asia. Last year I went to New York for the first time since my son was born. I was surprised that the community where we stayed was largely Jamaican (and other Caribbean), East Indian and Latin American...no African Americans. I'll be going down later this year.
Xavier this would make a good feature for the front page about the growth of Jamaican communities in the USA. If I had time I would research it myself. Here is a source Xavier:
The Migration Information Source provides fresh thought, authoritative data, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. For more about the Source, click here.
There clearly has been a shift. Do you remember what the USAID rep said about the failure of the contraceptive initiatives in Jamaica. This would have been circa 1983/84. Wish I could find it on-line but it pre-dates the internet. He said "We've send enough condoms down there to sing the island but the main thing that Jamaica keeps exporting is Jamaicans."
We soon fill up de whole a de US Eastern seaboard.
Last edited by Tropicana; 10-21-2013, 06:20 PM.
all dem place yuh name is weh old yt ppl go
You did not go to Broward or Dade county weh de Jamaicans dem is everyweh, weh yuh cyan drive inna yuh cyaar and hear bout 4 reggae stations to soca statons and bout 5 spanish ones.
I've been to those places yuh chat bout and have never had a desire fi guh back deh.
Wh'appen you prejudiced?Originally posted by Emperah View Postall dem place yuh name is weh old yt ppl go
You did not go to Broward or Dade county weh de Jamaicans dem is everyweh, weh yuh cyan drive inna yuh cyaar and hear bout 4 reggae stations to soca statons and bout 5 spanish ones.[/QUOTE]
Oh okay that explaines it.
How could you not like Palm Beach? I haven't been to Boca Rotan but I hear it is amazing. Yes it was White people who told me that.Originally posted by Emperah View PostI've been to those places yuh chat bout and have never had a desire fi guh back deh.