Ever been in a situation where your partner just does not get along with a good friend or doesnt participate in a business social setting? How do you try to draw them in and get them to participate so that you all have a good time and its not weirdly uncomfortable? Do you just accept that never the 2 shall mix, or keep trying for a happy village of all loving together?
How do you handle this
Great suggestion- this might be the solution to the friends co-existing together situation- a little extra diversion, some familiarity could be the trick!Originally posted by j-kid View PostTry meeting in a place of familiar surroundings that yuh mate feel comfortable. If ah man try sports surrounding, movie night, concert, community project. If ah ooman, a play, fashion show, dinner, concert.
I have a friend who has to go to a lot of business/networking events, and it looks much better if her hubby is with her. He feels like a trophy having to accompany her... well I shouldnt say that. I will say that he isnt always interactive when I see them out
Sometimes I feel so bad for her because I see how hard she tries to bring him into a conversation, while he is (seemingly) checked out and practically rolling his eyes or on his phone. She is constantly saying things to prompt him "didnt you honey", "Like the time Bill did... talk about when you.." 
Wouldnt it be better to let him stay home if this is the dynamic? Put him and the world out of misery?
Originally posted by DearK View PostGreat suggestion- this might be the solution to the friends co-existing together situation- a little extra diversion, some familiarity could be the trick!
I have a friend who has to go to a lot of business/networking events, and it looks much better if her hubby is with her. He feels like a trophy having to accompany her... well I shouldnt say that. I will say that he isnt always interactive when I see them out
Sometimes I feel so bad for her because I see how hard she tries to bring him into a conversation, while he is (seemingly) checked out and practically rolling his eyes or on his phone. She is constantly saying things to prompt him "didnt you honey", "Like the time Bill did... talk about when you.." 
Wouldnt it be better to let him stay home if this is the dynamic? Put him and the world out of misery?
The idea of a familiar place is great. However it sounds like these events are held in a place that is not so familiar surroundings. Typically there is another "trophy males" there. It is essential that she tries to find out who the other "trophies" are and see if any of them have something in common with hubby. They can have a conversation about "men" stuff while she does her professional networking. Also she should try to include him in what she is trying to accomplish for the event. We men think we are "knights with shinning armors" and when a women say "help" it strokes the ego
Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Whoa. Hold up. These are two adults with good communication skills, right?Originally posted by DearK View PostEver been in a situation where your partner just does not get along with a good friend or doesnt participate in a business social setting? How do you try to draw them in and get them to participate so that you all have a good time and its not weirdly uncomfortable? Do you just accept that never the 2 shall mix, or keep trying for a happy village of all loving together?
Why is one trying to get the other "to participate so that you all have a good time?" That sounds childish and even controlling.
The former. Why compel one's partner to accept a friend they really don't care for?Originally posted by DearK View PostEver been in a situation where your partner just does not get along with a good friend or doesnt participate in a business social setting? How do you try to draw them in and get them to participate so that you all have a good time and its not weirdly uncomfortable? Do you just accept that never the 2 shall mix, or keep trying for a happy village of all loving together?aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon