Originally posted by Tropicana
single maddars sex ting
Originally posted by blugiant View Postyuh meen awl weekend.
mumma selfish bad ann doan tink aff ar dawtah. mumma figgar shi juss a phone cawl away pon da weekend plus shi pay ar babysitter pon mondayBut what about the other activities going on in the home? Isnt mom concerned about the older boys bringing in other girls?
Better for you to report and have the authorities decide to accept it or not.
Originally posted by DearK View PostShe pays the 16 y/old? I confess I didnt notice that in original storyBut what about the other activities going on in the home? Isnt mom concerned about the older boys bringing in other girls?
Better for you to report and have the authorities decide to accept it or not.
natt mii. pass itt upp da ladder ann cya. let da biggar head decide wat fe do
Originally posted by blugiant View Postiff wan 16 year ole was givinn upp ar weekends ann doinn itt money, den wood dat be okay?
natt mii. pass itt upp da ladder ann cya. let da biggar head decide wat fe doAnd then the cycle repeats.
I do feel that a 16 y/old can responsibly 'babysit' her 10 and 5 y/old sibs, but my opinion is that it should only be done for a few hours, and certainly not overnight. Children need an adult/parent at home at nights (my opinion).
Why is the 21 y/old not the one in charge? (altho he doesnt sound like he;s too considerate of others :O)
Originally posted by blugiant View Postdat y mii reported itt to sumwan more knowledgeable so dem can tekk de action deem appropriate.
tropi given wat yuh kno bout da system wear wood da child be bettar awf? mii kno sum yuths woo end upp inn da system den tart fe bawl dat dem waan fe go oome
Man that is a $6 million dollar question.
With all of those men in and out, the female children are at high risk of sexual abuse, however, group homes and many foster homes are not the greatest either.
If they could get a child protection order to work with the mother and clean up her act, that would be ideal. Some of our people (I assume she is a yawdie) are not easy to work with.
If there is a relative who could take the children as foster children, that would likely be better but they should be blood relatives (e.g. grandparents). I have seen too many instances in which children are sexually abused by uncles who are not blood relatives.
Mind you I have also run into situations that would sick your stomach where the father is the one doing it but I would like to forget those.
Originally posted by blugiant View Posttropi dem legislations were passed fe putt more blakk yuths inn da system
When a Black child should be removed from the home, you have to fight like hell to make it happen.
There was one instance in which the father, West Indian, brought up his 2 teenage daughters. He was sexually abusing one of them. It wasn't my case but I begged my supervisor to remove the child. The wicked White social worker and my supervisor fought me. As soon as the girl turned 16 (which is the age limit here). They closed the case. It's things like that didmi stomach and make me eventually change careers.
Let's not go there.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostGood for you blugiant. We need more like you.
With all of those men in and out, the female children are at high risk of sexual abuse, however, group homes and many foster homes are not the greatest either.
If they could get a child protection order to work with the mother and clean up her act, that would be ideal. Some of our people (I assume she is a yawdie) are not easy to work with.
If there is a relative who could take the children as foster children, that would likely be better but they should be blood relatives (e.g. grandparents). I have seen too many instances in which children are sexually abused by uncles who are not blood relatives.
Mind you I have also run into situations that would sick your stomach where the father is the one doing it but I would like to forget those.
Interesting discussion re relative care- we usually suggest that the grandparent, who had a go and likely didnt do so well with mom, is the best choice to now parent the kids in questionNow grandma may or may not have acquired any new parenting skills, but she's usually the 'best we can do'.
I'll say I've seen good and bad in both foster and bio homes. There's hope in both cases
How do you know the mother hasn't been bringing men into the home?
Re: foster care, thought I would throw this into the mix.
Wildrose Seeks Emergency Debate On 145 Alberta Foster-Child Deaths
Alberta's Human Services minister, reacting to reports the government kept under wraps the deaths of 89 foster children, said those cases weren't published because the children died of natural causes or by accidents.
"There was no attempt to hide (the numbers)," Dave Hancock told the legislature during question period Monday.
"The numbers that weren't published were those children who died tragically of natural causes."
Both Hancock and Premier Alison Redford also stressed that the province must publicly report all child deaths and has created a new independent children's advocate to look into the deaths of all kids in government care.
"We did that because I worked in the family justice system and I worked in child welfare, and I am a concerned Albertan just as every other Albertan is," said Redford.
The remarks follow an investigation by the Edmonton Journal and Calgary Herald newspapers that found 145 children have died in government care since 1999.
The government has only publicized 56 deaths over that period.
The report lists youngsters who have died by hanging, malnutrition, hypothermia, head trauma, drowning, disease, fire, and stabbing.
They have overdosed, been asphyxiated, died in car crashes or because of sudden infant death syndrome.
A third of the children died as infants and another third were teenagers. Most were aboriginals.
The report also found that those in the system struggle with secrecy, bureaucracy and privacy rules that don't even allow parents to publicly identify their dead children.
It found the government also lacks a mechanism to track recommendations made from death investigations to improve foster child safety.
NDP critic Rachel Notley told the house that while Redford created a new Child and Youth Advocate last year to explore the deaths of foster children, the rules triggering an investigation have narrowed in order to lessen the number of investigations.
"Having a death reported to you is not the same as doing an investigation about how that death happened and how it can be stopped," said Notley.
"The fact of the matter is the Children's Advocate has done two reports so far. It's just not good enough."
All three opposition parties asked Speaker Gene Zwozdesky to grant an emergency debate on the issue, saying they need to get to the bottom of why the deaths were not reported and to make sure the children currently in care are being treated well.
Zwozdesky rejected the debate, noting that while it is a critically important issue, there were already 42 questions and answers on the topic during question period alone, not to mention member statements on the topic.
The newspaper report was the result of a four-year legal battle between the newspapers and the province, which declined to release the information until ordered to do so by Alberta's privacy commissioner.
Hancock told the house that they fought the release of the information to protect the privacy of the individuals involved and to prevent collateral harm to people connected to those in foster care.
When parents are irresponsible, there are no easy solutions.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostActually that is not true. The original legislation was put into place for poor white families who were abusing and neglecting children.
When a Black child should be removed from the home, you have to fight like hell to make it happen.
There was one instance in which the father, West Indian, brought up his 2 teenage daughters. He was sexually abusing one of them. It wasn't my case but I begged my supervisor to remove the child. The wicked White social worker and my supervisor fought me. As soon as the girl turned 16 (which is the age limit here). They closed the case. It's things like that didmi stomach and make me eventually change careers.
Let's not go there.
inn merikka blakk yuths mekk upp da majaritee aff yuths taken fram dem home cah da social servives ann child welfare peeps ar povertee pimps dat gitt more money fe tekk blakk yuths ann place dem inna foster care
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostGood for you blugiant. We need more like you.
wat relative inn dem rite mind wood tekk soo manee yuths fe tekk care aff.
With the right support it's been done. I'll never forget a Jamaican grandmother in Toronto who did it. She even was able to get a house eventually and the boys grew up to be proper young gentlemen. She had great support from an excellent social worker...no not me.........and a network was mobilized to help her.
I remember a situation from when I was growing up. There were 9 children in the family. The oldest girl had finished high school when the parents died...car accident I think. Anyway, she did not want her siblings to end up in foster care so she applied to be the foster mother. At the time where were the child welfare authorities going to place 9 Black children. Anyway, with lots of support and the children pulling together as a team, they never spent one day in foster care.
It may not be easy, but it can be done.
Originally posted by DearK View PostIts definitely not fair to the 16 y/old that she has to leave her youth behind and take on this responsibility just so Mom can get time away with her man. What about her own homework, friends,after school activities? So sad that mom doesnt think of that or of the fact that the little ones still need her at home. Why does she have to be with boyfriend all week?aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Diplomat, are you kidding me...not enough information....it is highly inappropriate for a mother to run off aand lef' her 16 year old to take on her responsibilities. A little less
would do this single mother with 5 pickney a world of good.
Also perhaps I have misunderstood you but as a trained minister this sounds like you are excusing whoring:
Sadly, more times than not women are saddled with non-supporting baby fathers who are nowhere to be found and so Mom does whatever is necessary to put food on the table, clothes on their backs, etc.
Originally posted by Diplomat View PostAgree with you re the parentification of the 16 y/old and Mom staying away every weekend and not thinking about her little ones needing her at home. However, the other issue to be factored in is that of survival. Sadly, more times than not women are saddled with non-supporting baby fathers who are nowhere to be found and so Mom does whatever is necessary to put food on the table, clothes on their backs, etc. The optics in this case are really bad in that Mom comes across as being irresponsible. IMO, there isn't enough information in the given situation to really understand the factors that influence the choices this mother makes.