Who in their right mind would object to Dances with Wolves or Breakfast at Tiffany's.
Onoo strange sah?
dancinn widd wolves ting nuh bout oyinbo ann indigenous tryinn fe play nice. oyinbo ann indigenous peeps both enslaved afrikkans. wen indians use fe attack nuh latt aff blakks dem slaughter.
breakfast att tiffany sund like bunch aff oyinbo chattinn nunsense
da qwestian is y wood yuh tink dose typa movies moas jamaicans wood waan fe sitt dun ann waste 4 hour watchinn
tropi yuh aff do a bettar jabs aff pickinn movies cah dat sund like more like yur interests. itt like playinn music, iff yuh waan da dance fe ram play da music de peeps waan fe dance to natt dose dat yuh waan fe ear
In an idealized New York City during the early '60s, Holly Golightly (Audrey Hepburn) is a charming socialite with a youthful zest for life who lives alone in a nearly bare apartment. She has such a flippant lifestyle that she won't even give her cat a name, because that would be too much of a commitment to a relationship. Maintaining a childlike innocence yet wearing the most perfect of designer clothes and accessories from Givenchy, she spends her time on expensive dates and at high-class parties. She escorts various wealthy men, yet fails to return their affections after they have given her gifts and money. Holly's carefree independence is changed when she meets her neighbor, aspiring writer Paul (George Peppard), who is suffering from writer's block while being kept by a wealthy woman (Patricia Neal). Just when Holly and Paul are developing their sweet romance, Doc (Buddy Ebsen) appears on the scene and complicates matters, revealing the truth about Holly's past. Breakfast at Tiffany's was nominated for several Academy awards, winning Best Score for Henry Mancini and Best Song for Johnny Mercer's classic tune "Moon River".
Theatrical Performance
Domestic Box Office
$9,551,904
Top Grossing Films (1961)
1. West Side Story $43,656,822
2. The Guns of Navarone $28,900,000
3. El Cid Allied Artists $26,600,000
4. The Absent-Minded Professor $25,381,407
5. The Parent Trap Walt Disney Productions $25,150,385
6. La Dolce Vita Koch-Lorber Films $19,516,000
7. Lover Come Back $16,937,969
8. King of Kings $14,483,352
9. One Hundred and One Dalmatians $14,000,000
10. Splendor in the Grass $11,426,000
11. Blue Hawaii $10,440,453
12. Judgment at Nuremberg $10,000,000
13. Breakfast at Tiffany's $9,551,904
14. The Misfits $8,200,000
Dances with Wolves:
Lt. John Dunbar is dubbed a hero after he accidentally leads Union troops to a victory during the Civil War. He requests a position on the western frontier, but finds it deserted. He soon finds out he is not alone, but meets a wolf he dubs "Two-socks" and a curious Indian tribe. Dunbar quickly makes friends with the tribe, and discovers a white woman who was raised by the Indians. He gradually earns the respect of these native people, and sheds his white-man's ways.
I am about to blow a gasket. We ended up watching White House Down the other night. After it was over, my Mom said she didn't like it. We had selected A Beautiful Mind but the family had in on DVD. So we took it with us to the home in the country.
They don't have DVD player there so it was played from a laptop and it kept skipping. I indicated that a man in Chinatown who owns a DVD store told me that, when this happens, the best thing to do is to wash it and clean it with toothpaste. Well of course no one listed, tried to clean it by blowing on it and rubbing it with cloth and then when that didn't work, washing it with water.
Of course no one wants to try what the professional suggested. I said, "I've tried it many times and it has worked but just disregard. I guess the man doesn't know what he is talking about, after all he only does this for a living. "
Next time this discussion comes up and I am asked my opinion....all mi ave fe tell dem is 2 bad words. Can hardly wait to go home at the end of the holidays.
My sister has been hanging out down south for too long. She watches all of these hillbily shows on the Tru network. Shows like Storage Wars, Moonshiners.
She bettah come back to Canada before she stawt talk like dem.
There is a channel showing re-run marathons of old Black and White TV shows like The Twilight Zone. I've seen the new colour version that as shot in Toronto so it's fun to see classics with actors who went on to do really well.
Yeah, Hollywood running outa ideas, soh dem been re-making ah lot ah very old movies. Dem been going fi di sure ting, an bin resurrecting ah lotta ah di old money makers.
TV is having the same challenge. I notice dung yah they are doing wall to wall re-runs (marathons) of old classics...even Black and White shows like the original Twilight Zone. There are whole channels that re-run black and white oldies.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.