Bushy hair and stereotyping
Seems like jah_yout does not find the stereotypes negative based on the fact that im ave im knickers in a knot.
For everyone else, why do you think these negative stereotypes of Aborigines are being perpetuated?
By the way, the Gleaner is no better.
Illustration of Africans being captured and led to the ships for their long journey across the Middle Passage.
Freedom fighters: Maroons and many others fought slavery.
AUGUST 1, 2012 marked 174 years since the proclamation of full freedom for Africans in the British colonies. Full freedom for approximately 311,000 enslaved Africans in Jamaica was not achieved until August 1, 1838....
Last edited by Tropicana; 05-16-2014, 09:08 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostGreat it did it's job...
Blu does it very effectively too.
....as long as these attention grabbing and silly titles keep you and others coming, I will keep coming up with even sillier titles...just watch me.
fimi title ar creative
yuh kno tropi bushy hair iss wat jamaicans cawl good hair
J-Kid....this is what my hair looked like but twice as long, twice as big and much bushier as my hair is quite kinky even though everything but the crown is wash and wear.....notice she ave a bone in her nose......well kinda.
Maybe I need to become a dancer.
hugenatural.jpg
Last edited by Tropicana; 06-14-2014, 11:20 PM.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostSo how mi kno das not yuh Tropi, yuh board persona could bi quite opposite ah whe yuh is?
Whoever it is, di girl got mad skills!
Like har transitions, an di one foot flip-ups pan di toe almost floored mi.
No my skills are not to that level. I only did 6 years of ballet (1 year on point). Gave it up when I was 13.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostTropi, ah lady does not heng har draws out in public, noh matter how nice dem may bi. Goh put it inna di bathroon fi dry.
I'm going somewhere humid soon so if mi not careful...de bush lady with BIG hair may return
....but I will not be putting a bone in my nose.
Seriously when it got like that I picked up some scrunchies at the bend down plaza in the town where I was staying or wore a scarf. Only left it loose in de 'ouse. Betta memba fe pack dem.
Oh one more ting....before jah_yout come back wid im cross self mek mi say...is MY hair. If we wan't laugh bout i', is MY business.
So how do you like my hair style...J-Kid...think it has potential?Do you think this look could catch on?
Last edited by Tropicana; 06-16-2014, 01:23 PM.
No I will not be posting any photos of my wild hair. Not sure when it will be in that state again.
First of all press and curl gone out LONG time.For years I had a low natural, medium natural, biggish natural, and braids (with extensions).
The braids really helped the hair grow. At this length, it would be unmanageable in it's natural state unless I had braids all the time.
Now, I don't do anything to the hair on the top of my head....the texture has changed.
I get the rest of the hair relaxed with chemicals to remove about 10% of the curl pattern...that is what is called wash and wear.
If want to wear it straight I get it blow dried and curled with a curling iron. I am doing this less and less and as a result is getting longer.
As long as I put in the right products in it looks fine wash and wear for day to day use. If I put the moisture in when it is humid outside....
but not this long.closer to this
Last edited by Tropicana; 06-16-2014, 03:26 PM.