This weekend I had somewhere to attend that called for a special wardrobe. Considering the current economic situation and the shallowness of my pockets, I decided that I would have to make something to wear instead of buying it off the rack. Rite Aid had a sale on mini/travel equipents (blenders, iron, ironing boards, sewing machines, etc.) not too long agao. I think CVS had a similar sale recently. I picked up the itty bitty mini sewing machine from Rite Aid (possibly weighs about 5 pounds) several months ago and it's been sitting, gathering dust until last Friday. On Friday I made a dress (cut and sewed it in about four hours) with the machine. I must admit that the likkle machine likkle but tallawah. Of course, being the impatient person that I am, I didn't use the measurements that I'd taken but decided to do a 'blind' pattern instead. The results were a little alarming, shall we say, but even so, I'm still proud of my creation (Sorry, no pics available).
Anyone else taking this route (or thinkinbg about it) of making their won outfits?
(for shame) since I didn't go by the original measurements and did the blind sewing instead, the hips were a bit, shall I say snug for moi, so in one of my exuberant state of bending down to retrieve something from the floor, there was a slight 'accident'

. Dis one dress though was for a specific type and color, an because it still did kinda winterish, dem tings deh noh in season yet. And when dem in season, dem would cost mi an arm and a leg. For now though, mi haffi keep plodding thru wid dis likkle one weh cost less than $12 and weigh bout 5 pounds or less. It noh dat versatile, but it wi do fi now
<span style="font-style: italic">I just wish I could get some of the patterns Britisha has so that I too can make fashionable designs.</span>