Some likkle girls from Ghana start come mi church and today one of them ask mi what mi use in mi hair to make it so soft and since everything mi use in mi hair come outa one bottle mi need unno help fi some recipe fi something fi deep condition that wont cost me too much as mi promise them mi going to get some ideas and give them a treat. Them hair cant take the same sort harassment that mine will take because apart from when it breaks because of lack of moisture I have no other issues with it ... theirs wont be like mine but mi want to help them... her words "my hair is very hard but I don't want to change it, just want it to be easier to comb". I need something that will contribute to growth as well.
Phatty / Kurlie/Black Star
Re: Phatty / Kurlie/Black Star
To alleviate chronic dry and rough hair, deep condition hair twice a week until it improves, then decrease to once a week. Depending on styling practices (flat iron, relaxer, etc.) continue deep conditioning once a week, otherwise you may be able to get by with doing this once every two weeks.
============================
BlackIceQueen had posted a recipe for a deep conditioner which I like but am too lazy to make on a regular basis:
- one very overripe avocado
- olive oil
- egg (optional); use only in every other treatment
Mix together in a blender until completely smooth and creamy.
<span style="color: #CC0000"><span style="font-weight: bold">IMPORTANT</span></span>: Do not mash with fork as avocado lumps are impossible to remove from hair; also the egg will not be mixed enough and could cook in the hair if using heat).
After shampooing, apply to hair in sections, insisting on the ends and any other areas that may be extremely dry or rough.
Cover with plastic and leave on overnight or go under hood dryer at medium heat for 30 minutes. Rinse thoroughly with warm water (not hot), then cold. Style as usual.
====================================
You can also improve store bought deep conditioners:
- 2-3 parts conditioner (Queen Helene, Lustrasilk, ORS Hair Mayonnaise or similar; Queen Helene is the most moisturizing IMO)
- 1 part honey
- 1 part 100% vegetable oil such as coconut oil, olive oil, sweet almond oil, or shea butter.
- 1/2 part castor oil
NOTE: You can increase the amounts and make this mixture ahead of time; this allows you to combine different oils if you like.
Combine ingredients in bowl and mix well.
Apply to hair in sections after shampooing or on dry hair, insisting on the ends and any other areas that may be extremely dry or rough.
Cover with plastic and leave on overnight or go under hood dryer at medium heat for 30 minutes. Rinse with cool water, then cold. Style as usual.
Natural Conditioning Avocado Hair Smoothie
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Umd_8ASD6Dc"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Umd_8ASD6Dc" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Today aint the day...
I want to find something that works for my hair...that gel don't work for people with my hair type chick.
Suh until mi find sinting weh mi cyaa wear an' still look professional going to work it go tan di way it tan...AHWOAH
an mi too lazy fi goh stalk it down right now