Originally posted by SueSumba:
[qb] di pansoot outfit deh nice fi real and it *is* elegant. den additionelle noh muss have sitt'n like the black outfit?
hope you enjoy your special occasion tomorrow. and i hope you find something [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray: [/qb]
thanks, sue. i'm not fond of outfits that show awf mi awm dem [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] , anna peer dat at additionelle (which is a branch of pennington's btw).
mi waina go shop tonite but dat rahtid wedda outdeh change mi mine...
The first dress Shandra posted is flirty and feminine plus the shawl covers the arms in style. The other outfits look too "granny or christian" IMO.
Whatever you decide to wear, make sure to show plenty cleavage and put on some pretty pretty earrings. If you spend the evening seated, that's what people will see most of the time anyway. Enjoy yourself tonight.
Mtngal - let me know if you find anything and where. I started picking up things at Penningtons and Additional Elle this year and I'm not too thrilled with theie very limited selection of styles for formal or even work wear.
By the way, I was driving yesterday afternoon through that storm and ended up driving under a recent fallen wire on Duplex Ave., and then through a mini lake on Bayview just south of Steeles. Never seen anything like that before! I hope you didn't have to venture out last night.
morning Black star. i put myself through torture yesterday, trying to find an outfit. My first shock was finding out that the major department stores in Scarborough don't carry formal wear! They carry those in their downtown stores. Another reason for me to quit the burbs as soon as mi can afford it.
i found the Voluptuous store and bought a sheer top that never look too bad. But the damned store had no camisoles or decent tank tops to go under it...i don't get it...
long story short, i dug through my and my daughter's closet and cobbled together an embroidered black top with a long formal skirt. My girls pronounced me presentable (though they really wanted me to wear the sheer top.)
the event was very sweet, a couple who celebrated 50 years of marriage. they are community leaders, too. so lots of activists and politicians in the crowd, stalwarts and newcomers, young and old. i reconnected with a lot of people that i don't see much of anymore because of this suburban existence i've adopted. and i bonded with an older lady at my table, a Kingstonian through and through on both sides of her family. i had a good time!
hi kia. i gave cash. i remember that in a lot of modern african tradition, giving people money is a great honour or so i tell myself. i was contemplating a CD compilation of hits from the year they were married (1955), but music is so personal. turns out they love Sammy Davis Junior, and i KNOW i would never have thought of getting them that.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.