what is the deal on this stuff?
Keratin hair treatment
Re: Keratin hair treatment
a girlfriend of mine had it done
she has 'white girlish wavy hair' so when she wanted it straight she would blow it dry with a brush - now it is dead straight
and today I noticed a few PTA tzarinas with the dead straight look too
so was wondering about it with different types of hair.
mi chop off mi hair so back to the blow dryer for me
and since mi sweat eena mi head is plenty blow drying fi do
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so was wondering about it with different types of hair. </div></div>
on Gen's board there are some black naturals that get it done.
the majority of them seem to like the end result.
Re: Keratin hair treatment - is deadly
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what is the deal on this stuff? </div></div>
Kia, steer clear from this stuff. I read about it way back when and heard that it is carcinogenic.
See article below:
<span style="font-style: italic">(CBS) Women are raving about a new hair-straightening process from Brazil that works and, by all accounts, works well, for up to four months.
But Brazilian Keratin Treatment (BKT) uses formaldehyde, a chemical known to cause cancer.
On The Early Show Friday, Dr. Ellen Marmur, a dermatologist at New York's Mount Sinai Medical Center, raised red flags about the potential health risks of BKT.
It's grown rapidly in popularity in the United States over the last six months.
It promises shiny, voluminous, straight hair -- even on colored or damaged hair -- for three to four months. The procedure, which costs between $150 and $800 or more, is available at salons across the country.
BKT claims to use keratin, a type of protein, rather than chemicals to naturally smooth out and straighten hair.
But experts say that's doubtful, and it's really the formaldehyde that makes the treatment work.
Formaldehyde is considered a carcinogen by a number of health and safety agencies.
Apparently, noxious fumes are released when it's applied, posing potential risks to the customer, the person applying it, and even others in the vicinity, Marmur says, adding that it's not just the risk from the actual application of the treatment, but from what happens in the months following it, when the chemical breaks down, that worries her.
There haven't been any conclusive studies about BKT, but experts are concerned about the possible inhalation or absorption of the formaldehyde in it.
2The Cosmetic Ingredient Review Expert Panel, a group of doctors and scientists who assess and set recommended safety standards for cosmetic ingredients, determined point-two percent is a safe level of formaldehyde. However, samples tested by an Allure magazine investigation contained at least ten times more than that, and experts say amounts of formaldehyde in BKT vary.
Marmur stresses that, "It's not regulated at all. And why take the chance when there are other, safer options?"
Authorities have linked one death to BKT. It happened in Brazil.</span>
Source
BOAL my board
nuh yuh did tell mi bout it ?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so was wondering about it with different types of hair. </div></div>
that was 2 yrs ago DotCom
Here is what they are saying now:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I find in my salon I get those women do Japanese one time then COPPOLLA Complex Keratin Hair Therapy to fortify their hair...
Over a year ago, Allure magazine first uncovered the truth into the Brazilian Keratin hair treatment that turns dry, frizzy hair into smooth, silky hair for months. Stylists and clients often wear gas masks and other protective equipment and still may feel the ill effects of this potential fatal gas. Fear not, there are safer keratin products on the market...
It is commonly known in the industry but not known in the general public that some Brazilian tretments contain high concentrations of formaldehyde, a cancer causing chemical. The magazine found that many of the more popular treatments on the market contain more than ten times the .2 percent considered safe by the Cosmetic Review Ingredient Review Expert Panel.
In all fairness, there are many keratin treatments on the market that are quite safe. They contain aldehyde, a safer form of the deadly chemical formaldehyde. Many stylists feel they are now much safer. They will wear gloves and work near proper ventilation. There are many on the market...Caribbean Dream, Chocolate Keratin, Pravana, Paul Brown, Brazilian Keratin but he best I have used and the only one recmmended at The Salon At Manalapan by Lawrence Gerard is the Keratin Hair Complex Therap by COPPOLLA. It is like skin care for your hair..The hair becomes healthier with the build-up of keratin. It encases the hair follicle with a keratin bond to fortify and strengthen the hair shaft and give it outstanding shine while cutting up to 95% of your frizz and cuts your blow dry time in half!</div></div>
sourceIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I dont think it is a fair picture because they show an 'air dry' look on the left and the straightened look on the right.
The difference is the hair is straight just as if it were straightened with a straightener but when you wash & blow dry your hair after the treatment it is a blow dries a <span style="font-weight: bold">lot</span> faster. Also if you have color in your hair, it coats and protects it so less split ends/dry hair issues.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so was wondering about it with different types of hair. </div></div>
so gen have hair board. caca fawt. weh di link
Dem call it 'Brazilian' dung this side.
It seems to work on all hair textures, although I haven't seen it on very coarse hair. It does give the hair a nice healthy bounce and sheen. Its very expensive....$300-$500 a treatment. <span style="font-style: italic">South Florida Prices I have been quoted by asking people I know who have had it done.</span>7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
It prolly no more dangerous than lye based relaxers.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Hay_Virtuoso</div><div class="ubbcode-body">that was 2 yrs ago DotCom
Here is what they are saying now:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I find in my salon I get those women do Japanese one time then COPPOLLA Complex Keratin Hair Therapy to fortify their hair...
Over a year ago, Allure magazine first uncovered the truth into the Brazilian Keratin hair treatment that turns dry, frizzy hair into smooth, silky hair for months. Stylists and clients often wear gas masks and other protective equipment and still may feel the ill effects of this potential fatal gas. Fear not, there are safer keratin products on the market...
It is commonly known in the industry but not known in the general public that some Brazilian tretments contain high concentrations of formaldehyde, a cancer causing chemical. The magazine found that many of the more popular treatments on the market contain more than ten times the .2 percent considered safe by the Cosmetic Review Ingredient Review Expert Panel.
In all fairness, there are many keratin treatments on the market that are quite safe. They contain aldehyde, a safer form of the deadly chemical formaldehyde. Many stylists feel they are now much safer. They will wear gloves and work near proper ventilation. There are many on the market...Caribbean Dream, Chocolate Keratin, Pravana, Paul Brown, Brazilian Keratin but he best I have used and the only one recmmended at The Salon At Manalapan by Lawrence Gerard is the Keratin Hair Complex Therap by COPPOLLA. It is like skin care for your hair..The hair becomes healthier with the build-up of keratin. It encases the hair follicle with a keratin bond to fortify and strengthen the hair shaft and give it outstanding shine while cutting up to 95% of your frizz and cuts your blow dry time in half!</div></div>
source </div></div>7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dem call it 'Brazilian' dung this side.
It seems to work on all hair textures, although I haven't seen it on very coarse hair. It does give the hair a nice healthy bounce and sheen. Its very expensive....$300-$500 a treatment. <span style="font-style: italic">South Florida Prices I have been quoted by asking people I know who have had it done.</span>
The rate here is $150/hr so it does work out to the $300-$500 depending on hair length.
The way it protects hair that has been colored is so worth it.