Anybody have any tips on how to prevent/control/repair breakage? I been trying to grow my hair back for 3 years and now it is finally past my shoulders and the darn thing keeps shedding like a dog. I have to sweep hair off my bed every morning. Help!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Hair Remedies
Re: Hair Remedies
It will help to know what you are doing to your hair now - any chemicals, excessive heat, what you do to it at night, what products you use. Breakage is often traced to 2 things in processed (colored/permed/texturized/pressed) hair - dryness and overuse of heat .
Let's see..
I wash every 1-2 weeks
Products vary based on condition of hair
Shampoos:Motions, Optimum, Garnier Fructis
Conditioners: IC Detangler, Garnier Fructis
Treatment Conditioners: IC, Hair Mayonaise, Cholesterol
Leave-in Treatments: African Pride, Optimum Care
Moisturizers: Pink Lotion, Profectiv, Carrot Oil, Olive Oil, Dax Pomade
Intense Treatments:Aphogee, Hot Oil
I am sure this is not the entire list of products I use. I use the curling iron at least once a week, and use heat to dry my hair. Blow dryer is most convenient for me so I rarely go under the bonnet.
I perm every 6-8 weeks and I have not colored my hair since nearly 4 years ago. My hair was breaking off in chunks terribly and since then I decided not to do it.
Well...what do you suggest?
First off, it seems like you are using an awful lot of "treatment" products. One thing that can make your hair brittle is using too many products with protein. I only use a treatment product every month to six weeks for that reason. Also, using so many products, you might not know which ones are working and which ones are not.
My favorite new line of products is the L'Oreal vive for women of color shampoo, conditioner and leave in cream. Very inexpensive, but made with the same basic ingredients as in their ultra-exclusive Kerastase line. Garnier products are also made by L'Oreal, but I find the vive line even more moisturizing. Moisture is key.
Also, you might consider perming every 8 - 10 weeks instead of 6 - 8. When I started going 10 - 12 weeks, using a weaker formulation, my hair got a lot stronger. No matter how well a beautician applies the relaxing solution, there will be some overlapping. Using a milder perm might do wonders for your hair.
BTW - I have a condition that makes my skin and scalp very sensitive, so I have done lots of research on how to keep my hair healthy. Even my dermatologist, who I have to see regularly for my condition, says that my hair is in excellent condition. I am happy that I only spend about $40 a month to keep it in excellent condition, as I do all maintenance myself, and the mild perm allows me to wear it in a number of styles. I wash it every week or so, with a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner, and then use a leave in (usually a creamy one in cold weather, and a liquid in warm weather). Every other night I use a nightly repair cream by Mizani, and that's it. No in between curling, heat, products . . . I let it air dry for an hour, and then blow dry it on medium - never high. I only use heat on my hair when it is clean, so I use a large barrel curling iron the day I wash it - or at the latest the next morning. Using a curling iron on hair that is not clean is just burning whatever residue is on your hair onto the shaft. This routine has worked for me for years. I'm 40 and my hair is as healthy as it was when I was in my teens.
Yeah Skells, what Lynntt said
. Although, I realize you don't use ALL those products every time you do your hair, I have to say I've had success with the less is more philosophy.
When I saw your regimen the first thing I wondered is how often you use the aphogee. You have to really be careful with that. It's a very strong protein and if you use it incorrectly, you can do more damage than good (it'll cause your hair to get brittle and break off). Also, a lot of people swear that pink oil is bad for the hair. It never did anything for me; I prefer natural oils (olive, jojoba, unrefined coconut, etc. instead).
I rarely use heat either. Since I wear braidouts 75% of the time, my hair gets lots of moisture because I wash it every couple of days. When I wear a straight style, I roller set it and dry it under a medium hot dryer. I don't know how you wear your hair, but sometimes I think healthy hair gets sacrificed in lieu of trendy styles. Once you figure out what your hair responds favorably to, you can strike a balance between the two.
Lynntt thanks for the tip about the L'Oreal Vive. I didn't know it is similar to Kerastase. That's good stuff, but rather pricey.
Skells, good luck with your hair. I'm sure more people will come along with suggestions. Black Star has really good ideas when it comes to haircare.
What tha heck is an aphogee?
btw, isn't waiting 2 weeks to wash your hair, waiting too long? Ah mean, it nuh stawt smell by den?
I too prefer natural products - makes my hair strong and naturally shiney and really cuts down on breakage and split ends.Originally posted by blackberryrain: [qb]I prefer natural oils (olive, jojoba, unrefined coconut, etc. instead[/qb]
However, I have a problem with excessively dry scalp and I had to cut back on my natural products (bun mi esi! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] ) and use medicated shampoo. The shampoo I am now using has totally darkened my hair to the extent where people are asking me if I got it coloured...
I was also told that I should cut back on washing my hair (I wash my hair twice a week, any less dan dat an mi jus feel icky).
But I agree with BBR, the natural products will in most cases work best.
And oh, yeah, don't forget to either wrap your hair at night or sleep on a silk pillowcase. This seriously cuts down on friction which causes split ends and breakage.
Girl, it had the same basic ingredients! Since I like to drench my hair with conditioner, the cost of using Kerastase is definitely not in my budget.Originally posted by blackberryrain:
[qb]
Lynntt thanks for the tip about the L'Oreal Vive. I didn't know it is similar to Kerastase. That's good stuff, but rather pricey.
[/qb]
L'Oreal - which puts out not only Kerastase, but also Garnier, Redken, Soft Sheen and Matrix - really works for my hair. I try new products now and then . . . love Paul Mitchell and Mizani but hate the high prices . . . but over the long haul L'Oreal products have worked best for my hair maintenance.
Also, please keep in mind what Blackberry said about sacrificing healthy hair for being "on trend". I see so many sistas with hairlines eaten up and scraggly ends and 5 pound weaves it's scary. We are so lucky to have so many options with our hair, we just have to remember that our hair is very, very delicate.
jeez! this is great advice. too bad I only saw this after I had my hair cut. l'oreal vive, huh?
Lyntt, I winced while reading your advice because I did almost everything the opposite of what you did. I permed every 6-8 weeks. I washed my hair every week(couldnt stand the feeling of it dirty, trust me). I used pink oil(I have a bottle sitting on the dresser now), hot oil treatment, Carrot oil, hair mayonnaise etc (sometimes all at once). poor me... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
I used to use curling iron all the time. all the time. split ends like crazy, because I coloured often too.
Now I'm starting over. I have not permed my hair since June. Instead, I wash my hair and use cholesteral treatments with a steam cap to "deep treat" it. It started looking darker and a lot stronger after awhile but I got impatient with having long perm on the ends so I cut it.
I used texturiser but I let it stayed in only half the time recommended, so it was barely texturised. I'm happy with that. My thing is though, that I want to colour it(to offset the boy-cut which I'm not particularly fond of). what are your suggestions?
Donnika, I wash my hair every week - nothing wrong with that and actually it's good for permed hair because it adds moisture.Originally posted by Donnika:
[qb] jeez! this is great advice. too bad I only saw this after I had my hair cut. l'oreal vive, huh?
Now I'm starting over. I have not permed my hair since June.
I used texturiser but I let it stayed in only half the time recommended, so it was barely texturised. I'm happy with that. My thing is though, that I want to colour it(to offset the boy-cut which I'm not particularly fond of). what are your suggestions? [/qb]
You know, I find many women don't have any idea of what to do with their hair. I have lots of friends who don't own shampoo - they go to the salon every week and wouldn't know how to do their own hair if you paid them. For those of us who like to take a little more control, and save lots of money, there is so much mis-information out there. When I was diagnosed with Discoid Lupus, though, I had to take charge. I started going to hair shows with my friend and sister who are licensed, and listening to advice at the lectures about keeping clients' hair healthy as opposed to just styling it to mask unhealthy hair. I researched everything I could find on hair. I learned what type of hair I have, and what it will and will not do.
Once I learned what works for my hair, and decided that I liked the versatility, ease and (for me) low cost of having chemically straightened hair, the first thing I did was find a beautician who specializes in healthy hair, not fancy cuts or coloring. She really is a gem, and is truly concerned with the health of her clients' hair. All of her clients have healthy hair, whether permed or pressed.
Then I had to, thru trial and error, find a routine that worked for me. Because my hair is very porous and takes to a perm easily, I can take a very mild perm to get the level of straightening that I want. Because it's not "bone straight" I can go 10 - 12 weeks between touch-ups. [The reason most women go every 6 or 7 weeks is that there is a BIG difference between the straightness of the permed hair and their natural texture. As I'm sure you know, when there is such a marked difference in textures the hair will break off once the new growth comes in. If you don't use a very strong perm, the difference isn't so great and you can go longer between touch-ups.
]
Donnika, I'm not sure you are realizing that you are still perming your hair . A texturizer is a perm, just a mild one. I suppose I could say that I'm texturizing my hair instead of perming, but the truth is that you have to realize that if you are permanently relaxing the natural texture of your hair you are using a perm. "Barely texturized" just means "barely permed". You have to realize that and you have to treat your hair accordingly. Which means, if you want your permed hair to be its' healthiest, you shouldn't color it. If you just have to do it, it's better to color hair that is lightly permed than hair that has been super-relaxed - but if you want your hair to be as healthy as it can be stick to one chemical procedure.
Once my gray started coming in I thought for a hot second about coloring, but my stylist refuses. She will not do it. So I'm left with my gray highlights!
I am not a licensed specialist, but I do play one sometimes on television and at the Bronner Brothers International Hair Show!
Thanks guys for the advice. I use Aphogee anywhere from 8-10 weeks and no I don't use all those products at the same time. I go a week to 2 weeks between washes as I usually don't have the time.... I work 3 jobs. The summer time is different...the heat really kills my hair..it gets frizzies and really bouffy, plus I swim alot in the warm weather. And sometimes it depends on the style my hair is in. I mostly wear it out so yes it gets snagged on my clothes.
By the way, what do you all think about Dominican Blowouts? I hear they give good results in terms of mangeability in between perms, body and length. But doesn't the heat have a bad effect on the hair?
Dominican blowouts are fine as long as the hair is properly conditioned..
also to prevent breakage it is good to sleep on a satin or silk pillowcaseIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Denorex. Really helps my scalp and there isn't that 'tarry' after feel that other 'tar' shampoos tend to leave behind.Originally posted by Arjen:
[qb] Nunya,
Which medicated shampoo do you use? [/qb]
The only drawback is that my hair is now a deep deep brown...