Love to wear linen but the everyday kind crushes so easily...any suggestions of crush - free care?
Linen
Re: Linen
Eh...eh...wid all ah di expert dem pon di board not even one ansa...?
Awrite den, mi will juss continue my way and crush up by the end of the day...
Thanks fi no help. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
The NOW acceptable look for "casual" linen clothing IS wrinkly....it's actually part of the whole style. If you are wearing very tailored blazer & creased pants, t's a different story, but the new casual unconstructed styles are meant to be worn with a "ripply" look. Are you familiar with the J.Jill catalog? There would be examples in it of what I'm talking about. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
They have some linen belnds now that wear much better, but, they still carry some of those "characteristics". It is supposed to be charming...which it is for ten minutes....dry cleaning and starch helps, though.
Missis, mi have neighbourly dry-cleaning service since mi neighbour carry dem fi mi and carry dem back..and dem still wrinkle. ANd they are so pretty but wrinkle...wrinkle...wrinkle...
So Miss Jewel...mi eena style an' don't even know it????? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
But to tell yu di troot...mi noh too like di wrinkly...but if yu seh soh, den mi will gwan wid it.
Mekk sure tell me when it gawn outta style now...
Shandra, i luvvvvv me some linen, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] its so classy, wrinkles and all, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img]
anyting linen always looks great,
the ruffer linens, u find in skirts and dresses, but dem usually have dose lined,
u buying some linens???
i'll take a skirt suit, pant suit, dress, and looottsss of skirts, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img]
Shanra,That "wrinkled" look is not everyone's cup of tea, but I find the older I get, the looser, unconstructed and comfortable I like my clothes...I'm a big fan of "texture" in fabrics, so really don't mind a ripply look in the linen. My linen things are never lined, so I just throw them in the wash & dryer till they're almost dry and then touch up around the edges with an iron if needs be.
You may prefer your clothes to be more tailored & fitted, so sometimes, with linen that means dry-cleaning.... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
I have one linen jacket dress. It looks great when I put in on. Once I get in the car & drive somewhere it's a MESS [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70392-silly.gif[/img].
I used to have a few pairs of Linen short too. Not sure exactly whar became of them [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Shandra, i luvvvvv me some linen, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] its so classy, wrinkles and all, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img]
anyting linen always looks great,
the ruffer linens, u find in skirts and dresses, but dem usually have dose lined,
<font color="green">u buying some linens???
</font> i'll take a skirt suit, pant suit, dress, and looottsss of skirts, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70458-applaud.gif[/img]
Missis: dat's all mi buy! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Ther are some shops in Miami that sell pere linen and dat's where mi 'buyer' get dem from. Cute...but lawks, dem is too crushable...
I have one linen jacket dress. It looks great when I put in on. Once I get in the car & drive somewhere it's a MESS [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70392-silly.gif[/img].
I used to have a few pairs of Linen short too. Not sure exactly whar became of them [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Dooh...noh bada start mi up wid di linen shorts set dem...pure crush -a - roo... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] but mi stillwear dem...cause dem start out very classy...
Shanra,That "wrinkled" look is not everyone's cup of tea, but I find the older I get, the looser, unconstructed and comfortable I like my clothes...I'm a big fan of "texture" in fabrics, so really don't mind a ripply look in the linen. My linen things are never lined, so I just throw them in the wash & dryer till they're almost dry and then touch up around the edges with an iron if needs be.
You may prefer your clothes to be more tailored & fitted, so sometimes, with linen that means dry-cleaning.... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Di cleaning is not di problem...is di look like yu neva goh to de cleaners... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] But mi gwine tekk yu word fah it...and fava mash up banana...and blame yu wen anybaddy tell me seh me fava mash up banana... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
me no have a problem wid de crush up look, and more time ppl always a tell me say, misses a how u iron so, it look like a cleaners iron it, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] me iron good, but for linen crush, to me its the character of the material, it still look good, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
Love to wear linen but the everyday kind crushes so easily...any suggestions of crush - free care?
Lots of starch for linen [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]. I love linen as well. Love all the natural fibers, silk, linen, cotton, wools. Silk and linen are the hardest to work with and stains just ruin them so easily.