Show yuh colours
TEEN FASHION
Tuesday, August 08, 2006

With the Emancipation and Independence holidays just passed and of course the death of Jamaica's most beloved cultural icon Louise Bennett Coverly, nationalistic pride, now more than ever, should be at its peak.
Though the 44-year-old nation still has a long way to go, we have made steady strides to promote our love and support for the country. Even putting a new spin on the national and Rastafari colours (red, green and gold), accepting them as a part of mainstream fashion. International designers such as Christian Dior and sport gear manufacturers Puma, Adidas and Reebok have all created fashion lines that celebrate the colours of our island. It is sadly noted, however, that the trend was only followed after it hit big off-shore. Simply put, some Jamaicans just don't value their place in the world until the international 'big guns' declare what has always been here, worthy.
Still, teenagers like 15-year-old Jeffery McDonald believes despite the international predators that capitalise on brand Jamaica, "it still helps to promote our country". He, like most teenagers, says he wears Jamaican-inspired clothes mainly because of fashion.
"Yeah. I wear Jamaican colours on T-shirts and stuff like that," McDonald told TEENage yesterday in phone interview.
Though the national and Rastafari colours has almost become a mainstay in fashion not many give thought to its symbolism and importance to the Jamaican identity. The Jamaica Information Service documents that the flag first raised on August 6, 1962 chronicles past achievements and inspires future success.
"The sun shineth, the land is green and the people are strong and creative" is the symbolism of the colours of the flag. Black depicts the strength and creativity of the people; gold, the natural wealth and beauty of sunlight; and green, hope and agricultural resources.
This according to 17-year-old Danielle Greene makes her proud to be Jamaican.
"I wear the colours all the time but I don't see a lot of them in the stores," she said, highlighting that local style chain Ammars' is one of the few stores that carry Jamaican inspired clothes- its new line Deyah has recently been launched.
Most others, she says, carry them at expensive prices and are usually only situated in tourist areas. She however, does not deny that a lot of foreigners support these fashion trends and often buy them as gift for friends.
Greene said, too, that, though the trend is hot right now she does not always wear Jamaican-inspired clothes since she is "no tourist". While most teenagers are excited to be in the latest fashions, 15-year-old Raveen Lue isn't.

"I don't wear it because I don't fancy the colours," she told TEENage, adding that her being Jamaican just isn't enough to compel her to wear them.
"I see them in the stores but I just won't buy them," she said. Latoya Gordon, three years Lue's senior also shares the same opinion.
"I just don't see the point [of wearing Jamaican-inspired clothes] if I live in Jamaica," Gordon said, maintaining that the colours just don't appeal to her.
Though the reviews on the brilliant colours are varied, none can deny that brand Jamaica is steadily on the increase and that more and more people are buying into the "irie-hype" of what Jamaica truly represents - a nation teeming with strong creative people who 44 years after independence, are now looking ahead to a brighter, more colourful future.
Clothes provided by: Ammars
Photographer: Bryan Cummings
TEEN FASHION
Tuesday, August 08, 2006

With the Emancipation and Independence holidays just passed and of course the death of Jamaica's most beloved cultural icon Louise Bennett Coverly, nationalistic pride, now more than ever, should be at its peak.
Though the 44-year-old nation still has a long way to go, we have made steady strides to promote our love and support for the country. Even putting a new spin on the national and Rastafari colours (red, green and gold), accepting them as a part of mainstream fashion. International designers such as Christian Dior and sport gear manufacturers Puma, Adidas and Reebok have all created fashion lines that celebrate the colours of our island. It is sadly noted, however, that the trend was only followed after it hit big off-shore. Simply put, some Jamaicans just don't value their place in the world until the international 'big guns' declare what has always been here, worthy.
Still, teenagers like 15-year-old Jeffery McDonald believes despite the international predators that capitalise on brand Jamaica, "it still helps to promote our country". He, like most teenagers, says he wears Jamaican-inspired clothes mainly because of fashion.
"Yeah. I wear Jamaican colours on T-shirts and stuff like that," McDonald told TEENage yesterday in phone interview.
Though the national and Rastafari colours has almost become a mainstay in fashion not many give thought to its symbolism and importance to the Jamaican identity. The Jamaica Information Service documents that the flag first raised on August 6, 1962 chronicles past achievements and inspires future success.
"The sun shineth, the land is green and the people are strong and creative" is the symbolism of the colours of the flag. Black depicts the strength and creativity of the people; gold, the natural wealth and beauty of sunlight; and green, hope and agricultural resources.
This according to 17-year-old Danielle Greene makes her proud to be Jamaican.
"I wear the colours all the time but I don't see a lot of them in the stores," she said, highlighting that local style chain Ammars' is one of the few stores that carry Jamaican inspired clothes- its new line Deyah has recently been launched.
Most others, she says, carry them at expensive prices and are usually only situated in tourist areas. She however, does not deny that a lot of foreigners support these fashion trends and often buy them as gift for friends.
Greene said, too, that, though the trend is hot right now she does not always wear Jamaican-inspired clothes since she is "no tourist". While most teenagers are excited to be in the latest fashions, 15-year-old Raveen Lue isn't.

"I don't wear it because I don't fancy the colours," she told TEENage, adding that her being Jamaican just isn't enough to compel her to wear them.
"I see them in the stores but I just won't buy them," she said. Latoya Gordon, three years Lue's senior also shares the same opinion.
"I just don't see the point [of wearing Jamaican-inspired clothes] if I live in Jamaica," Gordon said, maintaining that the colours just don't appeal to her.
Though the reviews on the brilliant colours are varied, none can deny that brand Jamaica is steadily on the increase and that more and more people are buying into the "irie-hype" of what Jamaica truly represents - a nation teeming with strong creative people who 44 years after independence, are now looking ahead to a brighter, more colourful future.
Clothes provided by: Ammars
Photographer: Bryan Cummings