No its not the most polarizing choice in PR history last year was universally panned as such when they chose Gretchen, the fact that Anya won fan favorite means she has a following.
I thought it was a blah season, the best in terms of sewing and construction was Vicktor so I thought it would be between him and Anya but when dem dash him weh I was like please don't let it be Josh so then I was ok with Anya winning.
LOL thats what some people said but really the other finalists didn't really wow me either you can look at all the designers who showed at Fashion week, the finalists and the decoys
I had a feeling she was going to win. She just looked like the package dem could market and sell. Most designers aren't particularly "stylish" and most a
dem yuh can't even tell dem a designer. She dressed decent and had this edgy look to her. Maybe this year them was going in a different direction.
Now mi know the part dat bringle most viewers and/or budding designers is the fact that she only learn fi sew 4 months before the competition. In other words
she not self taught and she never guh fashion school 4 months prior to competition mek it look like she just get up one day out of the blue and decide seh she want to design.
Can she be as successful as christian ? We shall see
mi miss di whole season (except fi maybe di first episode) but mi can seh based on dem pics dat she cannot come up to christian serano. him have style, flair and skillz - di trifecta. she lucked out tho so mi happy for her but mi agree that it look like a line that was a one-trick pony
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No its not the most polarizing choice in PR history last year was universally panned as such when they chose Gretchen, the fact that Anya won fan favorite means she has a following. </div></div>
that's what mi mean by polarizing - you had massives for her and massives against her (Anya, mi mean), while Gretchen was apparently hated by all.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I thought it was a blah season, the best in terms of sewing and construction was Vicktor so I thought it would be between him and Anya but when dem dash him weh I was like please don't let it be Josh so then I was ok with Anya winning. </div></div>
mi no know a wah tek over Viktor, is like he had a colossal failure of judgment and dash weh im good piece dem fi some new idea. Josh mi neva waan fi win, and i was surprised he got second, but when mi tek a second and third look at his collection, it started to grow on me. he's good with the details, if not with the taste level.
i liked Anya as a contestant, was okay with her winning.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so a 1 pattern she have dat she work wid & win eh? </div></div>
smy leff out the short dresses, which were among my most favourite looks from her collection:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">LOL thats what some people said but really the other finalists didn't really wow me either you can look at all the designers who showed at Fashion week, the finalists and the decoys
Nine Project Runway Season 9 designers showed at Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week on September 9, 2011. Below you will see images of the designers...
the Laura decoy collection was the strongest. I read an interview and she said she was able to produce this work after she left the show and got Nina out of her head. Laura produced a lot of crap on the show trying to anticipate what the judges wanted.
Yes I read many reports that said people thought she would be in the finale cause they really liked her collection, they were shocked that she wasn't. On the show though she did do some ugly things so I don't blame them for giving her the boot but she did redeem herself with this collection.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I had a feeling she was going to win. She just looked like the package dem could market and sell. Most designers aren't particularly "stylish" and most a
dem yuh can't even tell dem a designer. She dressed decent and had this edgy look to her. Maybe this year them was going in a different direction.
Now mi know the part dat bringle most viewers and/or budding designers is the fact that she only learn fi sew 4 months before the competition. In other words
she not self taught and she never guh fashion school 4 months prior to competition mek it look like she just get up one day out of the blue and decide seh she want to design.
Can she be as successful as christian ? We shall see
She's actually attended Parsons, but took a graphic design course, not a fashion design course. She started her own fashion line in 2009 without the ability to sew, and then at some point decided to acquire the skill and apparently apprenticed under one of Trinidad's top designers.
There's a lot of her story that was not mentioned in the show, as i'm sure occurred with the other contestants. in fact, the way the show was edited, it did a disservice to anya and perhaps all of them.
however, she was fan favourite for all but about two weeks on the show, and the lowest she dropped was second. yet there are people who grudge her, saying she should have not accepted the fan favourite prize money, because it's like Miss Congeniality and that prize usually goes to a non-winner.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes I read many reports that said people thought she would be in the finale cause they really liked her collection, they were shocked that she wasn't. On the show though she did do some ugly things so I don't blame them for giving her the boot but she did redeem herself with this collection. </div></div>
its funny though, that the show itself doesnt bring out people's best, because of the combination of weird challenges and timelines for getting the work done.
on the other hand, some of the other decoys' work was truly bad. extra time had the opposite effect for them.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.