since moving to the borderland...my combo skin seems to be in overdrive. oily along the t-zone and normal/dry on the other areas. folks at the skin care counter seem to think i need a toner, but i find traditional ones to be too drying.
yup your skin will change with environment and seasons.
get one that does not have pore-clogging ingredients (as that won't help the T zone) and preferable alcohol free. I don't know your daily routine, but oily skin still needs moisture/hydration, and follow up with sun screen to prevent sunburn/age spots/hyperpigmentation.
Toners are designed to remove the extra oil dirt & residue post cleansing. Yes a good cleanser should do this but sometimes you can miss a spot or two and it helps. Also if you have oily skin a toner helps a great day.
A concealer hides undesirable skin blemishes prior to application of foundation and helps create a flawless appearance.
Ms Exced, products can be affordable if you get the drugstore versions Also, toner is not really necessary, but some women like it.
Concealers are also used to hide the dark circles under the eyes (hereditary usually or from lack of sleep). you know that dark look under the eyes that mek the eyes look sunken ???
<span style="text-decoration: underline">This is the basic routine for most women</span>:
cleanse
toner
protect (moisturize)
<span style="text-decoration: underline">Depending on the skin type/condition (acne,blackheads etc.) other steps may include:</span>
facials (monthly to quarterly depending)
exfoliate (1x a week or depending to remove dead skin cells)
peel (1x a week depending)
anti age (day and/or night)
renew (usually at night)
Same attention yuh give yuh face should be given to ears, neck and decolletage
No, it's not easy achieving smooth, flawless skin that nuh look like crusty elbow
ok maybe crusty elbow is a bit extreme but you get my gist
I guess my almost 50 year old face holding up thank god fi good genes
I don't wear make-up meaning foundation
I do exfoliate every Sunday and do a monthly facial
I moisturize day and night, yes including neck etc
The other day mi buy a bottle of Witch Hazel and wipe mi face before I wash it.
Oh in the cold months mi fling on mi vaseline on mi foot and elbows, keep mi feet soft and smooth
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Toners are designed to remove the extra oil dirt & residue post cleansing. Yes a good cleanser should do this but sometimes you can miss a spot or two and it helps.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Toners are designed to remove the extra oil dirt & residue post cleansing. Yes a good cleanser should do this but sometimes you can miss a spot or two and it helps.
Den yuh can't just wash twice wid di cleanser? </div></div>
some people say washing twice is drying?
It depends on the individual and skin type and/or concerns the individual may have regarding their skin. can you skip the toner ? sure.
for example, if someone is prone to breakouts, and they wash with cleanser and rinse with water. let's assume they rinsed well and removed all trace of cleanser. a toner with 2% salicylic acid swiped across the skin will sit on the skin and supposedly assist in getting rid of the breakouts, followed up with an acne cream.
maybe you want a vitamin c toner to layer under your expensive vitamin c serum
there are all sorts of toners on the market with all types of extra ingredients which might be appealing to someone, alpha hydroxy, hyaluronic etc.,
Most cleansers have pore clogging ingredients suh is like yuh a rub oil pan yuh face and then use the toner fi try get it off
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Toners are designed to remove the extra oil dirt & residue post cleansing. Yes a good cleanser should do this but sometimes you can miss a spot or two and it helps.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Toners are designed to remove the extra oil dirt & residue post cleansing. Yes a good cleanser should do this but sometimes you can miss a spot or two and it helps. </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">some people say washing twice is drying?</span> </div></div>
this is me. then when mi face get dry...my t-zone get into overdrive. These days mi coulda well save di US oil crises wid di amount ah oil my t-zone producing ahn at di sed time mi around my yeye dem dry like wah
Lawd Gen yuh a expert pan dem tings man Mi was a read and lear like Miss Exced.
Mi have to admit mi noh have much in terms of facial products. Just the basic cleanser.. for make up its just foundation and powder. And once in a blue moon mi deep clean wid rubbing alcohol or Sea breeze
Maybe if mi invest inna toners and dem tings deh mi can get rid a some a mi skin problems
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.