Too young for the 'big chop'
Re: Too young for the 'big chop'
If your preteen wanted the 'big chop' would you let her? I do know women and young girls who live in the sub saharan part of africa do wear their hair short so it is no big deal.
When girlkia was in the orphanage they cut all the girls' hair short so for me I would think of it as associating it with being an orphanIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dear god i can already envision her with multiple tattoos and piercings and maybe a girlfriend...</div></div>
BOALWidd dem dey aize dey, mi nuh kno how shi nuh fraid fi juss liff awf.
Dat gurl dey is a disastah waiting fi errupt. Shi jussa beg fi attention, authority and guidance but har parents. Dem? Dem too busy.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If your preteen wanted the 'big chop' would you let her? <span style="font-weight: bold">I do know women and young girls who live in the sub saharan part of africa do wear their hair short</span> so it is no big deal.
When girlkia was in the orphanage they cut all the girls' hair short so for me I would think of it as associating it with being an orphan</div></div>
Some a di country dem a Africa chop awwf di yung gurl dem hair fi a reason. Wen mi did guh a Malawi, dis lady dat was wi "guide" tell wi sey in <span style="font-weight: bold">dat particula village</span>, dem chop awwf yung girl hairs suh dat man cyaah push up pan dem.
A awfta dem reach a certain age now dat dem stawt adorn dem hair and put eeen style, sayka man is attractid tuh hair.
Nuh gwaanfor a das why di hawrse hair a big money mekkah.
<span style="font-style: italic">A suh mi getti suh mi selli</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CyberPhobic</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dear god i can already envision her with multiple tattoos and piercings and maybe a girlfriend...</div></div>
BOALWidd dem dey aize dey, mi nuh kno how shi nuh fraid fi juss liff awf.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Dat gurl dey is a disastah waiting fi errupt. Shi jussa beg fi attention, authority and guidance but har parents. Dem? Dem too busy. </span></div></div>
That there is the truth...
Kia the girls from Ghana their hair was cut off cause of the same kinda idea ... now what about men leaving the likkle girls alone and our little girls accept they are little girls. Enough time fi man and boyfriend and sex when them get older ... it wont ever go out of style so no need to run it dung.
To me its just hair it will grow back.
i may change within the next 12 or so yrs but i sure hope if my child say she want to cut it and color har scalp rainbow i let her....i mean at the end of the day its just hair and dye rite? its not permanent.
and hopefully when i say no to the tatoo till ur much older she will understand that some things matter and some dont....check back in few years
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CyberPhobic</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If your preteen wanted the 'big chop' would you let her? <span style="font-weight: bold">I do know women and young girls who live in the sub saharan part of africa do wear their hair short</span> so it is no big deal.
When girlkia was in the orphanage they cut all the girls' hair short so for me I would think of it as associating it with being an orphan</div></div>
Some a di country dem a Africa chop awwf di yung gurl dem hair fi a reason. Wen mi did guh a Malawi, dis lady dat was wi "guide" tell wi sey in <span style="font-weight: bold">dat particula village</span>, dem chop awwf yung girl hairs suh dat man cyaah push up pan dem.
A awfta dem reach a certain age now dat dem stawt adorn dem hair and put eeen style, sayka man is attractid tuh hair.
Nuh gwaanfor a das why di hawrse hair a big money mekkah.
<span style="font-style: italic">A suh mi getti suh mi selli</span> </div></div>
Sad but it makes perfect sense.. Why man cyan leff girlpickney alone eh?If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dat gurl dey is a disastah waiting fi errupt. Shi jussa beg fi attention, authority and guidance but har parents. Dem? Dem too busy</div></div>
i haf to agree with this... even though i'm pretty much the poster child for being the extreme opposite of "conservative", even <span style="font-weight: bold">I</span> think this child is already way too fulla herself, and thinks she all that, at what - 11? and acts like she's 21, and her parents seem to encourage it. Yes she's talented, but a cocky self-important child star is not cute. It still looks to me like a disaster waiting to happen. of course maybe i'd be wrong, perhaps she'll grow up self-confident and strong, instead of just cocky, demanding and narcissistic. i guess we'll see in the next 10 years or so -