Look at the Israeli model who is kicking Naomi Campbell
Re: Look at the Israeli model who is kicking Naomi Campbell
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Arjen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">me hope sey Naomi taking a hint from Tyra an getting involved in other business ventures..she'll be too old in a minute [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img] </div></div>
Naomi not that smart man...membah seh she not even pass O'Level...and Tyra did get accepted a one college out in Cali [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
Lawd why yu su ruff pan poor Naomi man [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
enoe..dis is the likkle game dem play wid de black "supermodels" pitting dem 'gainst each adda..cause there can be only one [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]I was wandering whether Esti is one of the Falashas that migrated to Israel..appears she is
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Of Jewish descent, Esti Mamo was born in 1983 in the small village of Chila in eastern Ethiopia. She is a member of the Beta Israel community of Ethiopian Jews.[2]
At the age of 9 she and her family immigrated from famine and poverty stiken Ethiopia to Israel, where the family was moved to the slum district of a southern Israeli city. A younger brother committed suicide in 2004.[3]
As a teenager Mamo founded a Black girls' dance group called Mango, which has performed professionally in leading clubs in Israel and represented Israel in London's Notting Hill Carnival.
[edit] Modeling & acting
Discovered at 15, she resisted overtures from modeling agents until she finished school, but at 18 Mamo started a modeling career. [4] Since then, she's been featured on the covers of Israeli magazines, as well as on the pages of high fashion publications Elle and Vogue.
From 2004 on, Mamo has worked in Europe campaigning for several international brands. She also studied acting in Israel, and has acted in various Israeli TV productions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Hot Israeli supermodel -- the description conjures up certain images of tanned brunettes with chiseled features and a look that says, "I'm trained with heavy weapons; don't try anything."
Naomi Campbell or Tyra Banks, arguably the most famous of black supermodels, is not what you might picture. Nevertheless, Esti Mamo is the latest fashion-clad sabra to come out of the Holy Land, and she looks more Naomi than Upper West Side JAP. The 24-year-old is a member of Israeli's Falasha community of Ethiopian Jews.
Born in a mud hut in eastern Ethiopia, she ended up in a southern Israeli slum where other Falasha live in poverty. Faced with bleak economic prospects and the ever-present discrimination that comes with their skin color, the Falasha don't have it easy. Mamo herself lost a brother to suicide.
"I have applied for jobs," Mamo told a British newspaper early last year. "When the employer hears my voice over the phone, there is no problem. But when I turn up for the interview with my black skin, suddenly the job is no longer available."
Not that Mamo will be applying for low-income work any longer. Discovered at age 15, she resisted overtures from modeling agents until she finished school. Since then, however, she's turned up on the covers of Israeli magazines and jumped to the pages of high fashion pubs Elle and Vogue.
Having overcome poverty in Africa, racism in Israel, and her own mother's trepidation at the thought of her little girl photographed in bikinis, Mamo hopes her own groundbreaking success can open doors for others in her community. "I was the first black face to be regarded as acceptable on the front pages of Israeli magazines," recalls Mamo. She's more than welcome in the pages of ours.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">'Queen of Sheba'Model tries to open doors for fellow Ethiopians in Israel
by Loolwa Khazzoom
JTA News and Features
TEL AVIV ‹ It was early evening on Ma'ze Street in central Tel Aviv, and drivers were impatiently honking at the small white car stalled in the middle of the street. A young Ethiopian couple was peering out of the car in excitement, watching the outdoor photo shoot nearby, where Esti Mamo ‹ one of Israel's top supermodels and the first Ethiopian-Israeli to make it in the industry ‹ was being photographed in a Nike swimsuit, decorated with silver flowers and beaded jewelry.
The photo shoot was part of a local campaign to bring together stylists, make-up artists, photographers and models in a creative adaptation of Nike athletic wear. For her contribution to the exhibit, celebrity stylist Dorin Atias chose to work with Mamo for the first time.
"I saw authenticity in her, a rare beauty that most people don't have ‹ an inner light," Atias says. Mamo "is very connected to herself. She's classy. She embodies both strength and softness."
That classiness is what first got Mamo noticed in Tel Aviv eight years ago, when she was just 15 years old.
"A modeling agent saw me in a supermarket and said, 'You're beautiful. I want you to model for me,' " Mamo recalls. "I said I'd think about it. He pursued me for two months, so I finally decided to go along with it, just to do him a favor."
Mamo soon was approached by another agent, who referred her to the prestigious Image Modeling center.
"I've brought the Queen of Sheba!" the agent declared.
Mamo signed with Image and her career took off ‹ leading not only to personal success, but opening doors for additional models from the Ethiopian community.
"I can say with certainty that Esti was the first Ethiopian model in Israel," supermodel photographer Avi Harel says. "She's made a tremendous impact on the industry, opening doors to women following her. Before Esti, you couldn't find any Ethiopian models getting work. Esti did a great service to her community."
Mamo's confidence and success may have created opportunities for dark-skinned women from other communities in Israel as well.
"In the last few years since Esti opened the doors, the general taste of the fashion world has expanded to embrace models of all colors," Harel says. "Today, it's a normal part of Israeli culture."
With an easy laugh, Mamo is friendly, and seems grounded.
"I am a role model for a lot of Ethiopians who want to go in this direction," Mamo says. "I'm not getting rid of my culture, just adding new things to it, and educating society about who Ethiopians are."
When she rubs elbows with individuals in powerful and privileged positions, Mamo says, it's often the first time they've spoken to an Ethiopian.
"We're living in one country. How can it be that someone still hasn't come to know us or our culture?" she asks. "We're so much on the periphery here. We gave up everything we had. We dreamed of coming to Israel, because it's our home. We sacrificed so much ‹ people died on the way. If this is what comes to us in the end, it's very sad. It hurts me terribly."
"I speak about Ethiopians wherever I can. I teach people about the music, history, food," she says. "We have to work on the government's relationship to the community. There is a very serious problem in how Ethiopians are absorbed into society here."
Israeli officials acknowledge that Ethiopian immigrants have not integrated as quickly as other communities, but say it's because of the cultural gap that these newcomers, who often come from poor villages in Africa, face in dealing with established Israeli society.
Poverty, drug abuse and violence have stalked the Ethiopian immigrant community ‹ because the community feels degraded in Israel, Mamo says. Ethiopian youth have come to feel so rejected by Israeli society, she says, that many become depressed and a number have committed suicide ‹ like her own brother in 2004.
"I don't like to talk about it, because it's very painful," she says, "but I have to speak out, because it's not just my brother who was a victim ‹ it's happening to Ethiopian youth across the country."
Using her status and power as a supermodel, Mamo hopes to put her community's issues on the map ‹ not only in Israel, but across the globe.
Wherever she models, she promises, she will educate those around her about Ethiopian-Israelis. And when she finishes with her modeling career?
"I'll come back to Israel and run for Knesset," she says.
aye sah
well good luck to har [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
thanks for the pic RD..i'd never heard of her
sorry for the overkill wid de articles yawl..but me find dis very interesting
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Israel's Ethiopian Jews, the Falasha, have found a role model in a 23-year-old whose looks have turned her into one of their most exciting new fashion talents.
Esti Mamo has moved on from the mud hut where she was born in eastern Ethiopia to Paris modelling studios and her face adorns the pages of magazines such as Elle and Vogue.
Esti Mamo had to overcome racism to become a model
Nicknamed the Queen of Sheba by her agent, Miss Mamo flies to New York next week hoping to join the supermodel ranks and leave behind the racism suffered by Falashas in Israel.
The discrimination leads to joblessness, drug-taking and domestic violence. Miss Mamo's brother killed himself last year, a death she blames on an inherently flawed welfare system.
"Ours is a very traditional society in Ethiopia," she said, "but once you come to Israel the hierarchy begins to break down.
"There are few jobs for Ethiopians so a jobless father loses status in the community and family. That can develop into domestic violence with children no longer respecting their parents.
advertisement"Sadly for Ethiopians living in Israel there is no shortage of tragedies."
Tracing their roots to Jewish tribes driven out of the Promised Land 2,000 years ago, the Falasha are offered a home by Israel, which was founded in 1948 as a sanctuary for all Jews.
But unlike any other Jewish community, they are subject to a quota imposed by the Israeli government of 600 immigrants a month.
Community leaders complain that Falashas suffer clear discrimination because of their skin colour. "It boils down to racism," said Adam Baruch, a Falasha activist.
"I have applied for jobs and when the employer hears my voice over the phone there is no problem. But when I turn up for the interview with my black skin, suddenly the job is no longer available."
Standing in the sink estate of Hebsiba where 300 Falasha familes are corralled on the edge of one of Israel's smartest towns, Netanya, the social deprivation is clear.
It is seen in the "Fuke [sic] The World" graffiti on the wall and the faces of teenage Falasha boys in the shadows as they smoke and complain about the lack of jobs.
Social problems make all the more remarkable Miss Mamo's transition from a childhood in rural Ethiopia to a Falasha ghetto in southern Israel and on to her modelling career.
She was discovered by a modelling agent as she shopped in Tel Aviv at the age of 15 but was reluctant as she wanted to finish school. But the agent persisted and she started modelling at 18.
"I was the first black face to be regarded as acceptable on the front pages of Israeli magazines," she said.
"It took time but after a few years they said I was the first to 'open the door for others'.
"It took a bit of time to persuade my mother that it was OK to model underwear or swimsuits but now she supports me totally."
Back at Hebsiba a straw poll of Ethiopian children showed they had all heard of Esti Mamo. "She is a great example - I want more of us to make a success like that," said one teenage girl.
But as The Daily Telegraph arranged for Miss Mamo to be photographed in a Mediterranean marina, the only other Falasha in sight was the lowly security guard
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jht...requestid=59394
ironically..I'm spending tomorrow with an Israeli client whose here for a short visit [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70456-eyebrows.gif[/img]
yu seet doe [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smirk.gif[/img] .me did tink tings improve fram when de Falasha fuss ketch deh...guess not [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whistle.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Geneva</div><div class="ubbcode-body">suh even in the promised land not all jews are equal eh [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smirk.gif[/img] </div></div>
Ain't that a disgrace though? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] Why, why, why?
And then they have the <span style='font-family: Arial Black'>chutzpah </span> to try and convince us that it is only raining, while they [censored] in our heads...
...and most of us run along believing that mess. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/mad2.gif[/img]
Speaking of <span style='font-family: Arial Black'>chutzpah & change </span>, Arjen have you heard of this Hip Hop Group? http://chutzpahthegroup.com/
Perhaps you can weave it into your conversation with your israeli visitor...considering the "dread" hat association with your avatar and whatnot. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
So as far as you know, just what is it that makes them leave Africa to go to this place Israel, the home of the non-black Jews? Do they think that by virtue of being Jew, that red neck Jews will accept them in their family?
These Falushas seem to be naieve and gentle souls unaware of the wolves that the shepherds have brought in to cull the unwanted.
here you go Atticus [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
see har website ya..