<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and <span style="font-weight: bold">carrots on the eat sparingly list due to high carbohydrate levels anyway
give the carrots to the horses and eat callaloo instead </div></div>
I like carrots and they do fill me up maybe i`ll take more celery and cukes to snack on.
I used to think that. But, for me at least, the list of foods that make my mouth itch include peach, apple, pear, cherry, apricot, etc. Problem started for me when I moved to mid-Atlantic state and experienced Spring pollen allergy, particularly to Beech, Birch, Oak, Ash, Maple ... all dem tree weh doan grow a Jamaica
Turns out mi wasn't too wrong:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mayo Clinic</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Pollen-food allergy syndrome
In many people who have hay fever, fresh fruits and vegetables and certain nuts and spices can trigger an allergic reaction that causes the mouth to tingle or itch. In some people, <span style="font-weight: bold">pollen-food allergy syndrome — sometimes called oral allergy syndrome</span> — can cause swelling of the throat or even anaphylaxis. This is an example of cross-reactivity. Proteins in fruits and vegetables cause the reaction because they're similar to those allergy-causing proteins found in certain pollens. For example, if you're allergic to ragweed, you may also react to melons; if you're allergic to birch pollen, you may also react to apples. <span style="font-weight: bold">Cooking fruits and vegetables can help you avoid this reaction. Most cooked fruits and vegetables generally don't cause cross-reactive oral allergy symptoms</span>.
Common cross-reactivity between pollens and fruits and vegetables:
If you are allergic to Birch pollen, you may also have a reaction to:
Apples
Carrots
Celery
Hazelnuts
Peaches
Pears
Raw potatoes
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Carrots taste bad and not good fi u
rejoice ova the itching of u mouth cawna </div></div>
I used to love raw carrots so I was mad when I developed the allergy.
Anyway, vinegar and citric acid cause the vegetable proteins to break down - similar to the effect obtained when cooking - which is why you can eat raw carrots marinated in vinegar and lemon juice.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.