Aldi
Re: Aldi
Cho.
I've been hearing about Aldi for a minute now. Saw a write up on them in the WSJ a year or so ago.
Saw them in the news again a few weeks ago - hard times, yaddah yaddah - people turning to all alternatives for saving $, yaddah yaddah, people flocking to this relatively new to the US store now, to save big time on their groceries. Been meaning to ck 'em out.
So I did today.
Dunno about Aldis in other areas, but the location I went to day - woefully underwhelming.
Slim, slim, SLIM pickings.
I don't mind buying generic - I buy generics all the time. But the generics there seem like stuff you see at the dollar store. Sub sub SUB! par.
First and last time I'm going there.
The only thing I liked about the place, was the shopping carts.
The simplictiy of the set up is ingenious.
Aldi has been in my area around 8 years. I hate it!
I did not know what to expect when I went. I had to fish a quarter out my purse to get a shopping cart. The selection was meager, and for sure. there were no name brands I have ever heard of before.
I understand that it is a UK thing for cashiers to sit down. I have no problem with that at al,l but I did have an issue when my items were just tossed back in my cart.
I did not know I was expected to come with my own carrying device, scavenge boxes in the store, or purchase bags from Aldi.
Their saving grace was decent produce.
The Aldi company owns Trader Joes. Aldis is a German owned company with supermarkets all across Germany and Europe. They don't take credit cards ( processing fees) but they do accept food stamp cards. You bag your own groceries, rent the shopping carts for 25c and you bring your own shopping bags.
Love Trader Joes
Aldi operates similarly to Trader Joes, using in house brands (as opposed to nationally recognized US brands). The supermarkets only stock a small inventory for
higher turnover (according to them), which is why they look like that.
I don't have one by me but when I was in Florida couple weeks ago I made it over there and yup I shopped. I prefer organic goods and didn't see any there, so I probably wouldn't shop there. But if I was single yup I would shop there.
It's best to research foreign stores before you go there. I looked it up before so
I was prepared
I remember me and my brother at the register while the cashier was ringing up the items and she scan and toss them inna the cartI was on the floor
Mi had to seh "lady mine yuh bruk the apple juice"
people who shop there either love it or hate it
funny there is one in one of the neighboring towns and mi neva penny it cause it out of the way.
trader joes here is ok for the prepared foods. I have not had much success with their fruit
and why is this thread in health?If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so at unno Costco dem bag yu groceries?
and yu regular grocery store unno noh rent the carts? </div></div>
dont rent carts at our grocery
and costco places the items into the cart for you.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so at unno Costco dem bag yu groceries?
and yu regular grocery store unno noh rent the carts? </div></div>
Dahjah soon come tell u fi stop shop a Superstorenowadays I only buy what can fit in a basket in Safeway cause I not looking fi no quarter for the cart ...
Gen - I ckd out Aldi BEFORE I went there. <span style="font-style: italic">Memba mi seh is lang time mia hear 'bout dem</span>.
But all the checking you do, can't prepare you for whats what when you get there. There's nothing that tells you how sub par and dollar store feel and selection it has.
At first I didn't - but then I did, end up liking the shopping cart scheme.
All the carts are locked together by a unique and simple mechanism. <span style="font-style: italic"> (to whoever asked)</span> To release one for use, you have to put a 25cent quarter into a slot on the handle. You go about your shopping. The only way to get your .25 back, is to put the cart back where you got it, link it back up to the other carts, and then your .25 is released from the slot/handle.
I don't mind having to bring my own back - or like Costco, use their discarded cardboard boxes. But for me to go there again in THIS lifetime, they;re going to have to step up the quality - on every level, product wise.
Now if they bring Tescoto the usa - now THAT would be a dream.
why do you want to take home smaddy cardboard box when u can get a cargo holder tingy for your car and place the items in there
seh Yuri recycle the cardboard
it zips and folds.. Case Logic makes itIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.