<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">MG, great that you have walked 13.1 miles and planning to run a 5k on Sunday.
I'm taking it that you have been training and getting yourself prepared. I have one rule of thumb when it comes to running any distance race... taking it seriously. Your training should have you doing 2-3 distance runs per week, including your cross training at least once a week.
Eating - This will be your first time so your body has to get some used to and you'll eventually figure out what works well for you. However, you need the energy to complete a 5K race. <span style="font-weight: bold">Eat properly in the days and night leading up to the race. The recommendation is to eat carbs (pasta, rice, bread/bagles).</span> Personally for me, the less I eat the better I feel but each person body behaves differently. Just don't over do the eating. The night before the race, eat early to allow your body time to digest the food.
Start hydrating before and after the race. A 5k is a shorter distance but you will still sweat.
Pace yourself - this will be your first (i'm taking it is); so start off at a moderate pace and then as the miles start to kick in and your body start to find that groove, then you can kick in the speed. The recommendation is to start off comfortably and pace yourself.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My bro is an avid 5K runner and he often does the pasta and rice thing a day or two before the race ...so your bro not leading yuh a stray. It's the energy that you will need why that is the case. An memba seh yuh ago burn it off in di race so doan sweat it wink Jus doan ova do it.
Wendy did say that ... no bax mi again if mi mix up name
Thanks MG...a triathelete dude with my running group, said that maybe i was so hungry the day after my "long run" because i not hydrating properly before and after (probably true), and him also seh someting else bout eating within an hour after and getting a good mix of protein and carbs, but with an emphasis on protein (at least a think is suh him did seh)
There is value in adding (extra) carbs to ones diet a day or 2 before a long race. BTW: A long race is considered anything that will take you longer than an hour to complete. A longer distance requires glycogen (carbs) to be already in the body prior to the race. During the race then all one has to do is continue to add. Now folks think they need to nyam off an entire loaf of bread or a box of pasta. What they don't know is carbs can come from other sources like fruit (which is what I do 48 hours or so before a long run) or a starchy veggie. And usually the loading is ONE or TWO extra servings. Like SandiF, my stomach can't take too much before a long run, so the night before I eat regular (except I leave out the leafy veggies...sakah gas ) and that morning eat a banana.
Now during the race....most sponsors will provide carbs on the course. Grab one and look at the amount of calories and carbs that are in the pack. Yep, you guest it....it ain't much. 100 calories (approx) and about 24-25 grams of carbs. During a 13.1.... most folks will have 1. During a 26.6 they will have 2. During my long runs...I happen to eat orange quarters and 2-3 twizlers. but a carb...is a carb at that point.
CB...if is just a 5k....you nu really need so much carbs. Eat a good meal few hours before you run. Longer run? Wi can talk then.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is early morning, and about 5 miles. me caan really eat much..but i eat when i come back.
is the intense hunger the next day me was a wonder bout.but maybe is just greedy me greedy </div></div>
so jus eat a good mean the night before and make sure you have a high protein meal after you run
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is early morning, and about 5 miles. me caan really eat much..but i eat when i come back.
is the intense hunger the next day me was a wonder bout.but maybe is just greedy me greedy </div></div>
You're not abnormal for being a little hungrier a day or two after expending a little more energy. Seriously, think about it. You run 5 miles and come in come eat regular meal. But you never eat before you left in the first place... now mi not saying go wolf down an entire chicken, but an extra fruit or add a few more veggies to your plate. In those days after. For me....it is thirst....I can't seem to drink enough water for 24-48 hours after a long race.
i laugh at a "little" hungrier...if only
but i gwine try the suggestions, and make an effort to eat more in a controlled manner, so that me doan turn into "food " monster the next day
If u want to track intensity it should help... I'm going to use mine on Sunday to see how much calories I burn, and try nuffi eat back more than that.
the ladies I run with have this watch and seem to really like it. Not cheap but if u don't mind used maybe u can find a bargain.
Forerunner 110 is the easiest way to track your training. It’s GPS-enabled so it knows how far and how fast — with no extra bells and whistles. There’s virtually no setup required, so you can just press start and run or walk with it.
Train Smarter, Not Harder
Whether you’re training to complete your first 5k or other race distance or you want to get faster and fitter, having accurate workout data is the key. Forerunner 110 uses GPS to accurately record your distance, time and pace. Data from each run is stored in the unit, so you can go back and review how you did last week or last month. Or, upload to our Garmin Connect™ website for more detailed analysis.
Easy to Use
Now there’s nothing standing in the way of you and your run. Forerunner 110 is our simplest training device yet. Out of the box, you’ll charge it, take it outside to find GPS satellites and answer a few setup questions. Then just press start and take off. Once you’re done, press stop. It really is that easy.
Follow Your Heart
Some versions of the Forerunner 110 (men’s black/red and women’s gray/pink) come with a heart rate monitor to display your heart rate in beats per minute. It also provides heart rate-based calorie computations so you can accurately track your calories burned. If you purchase the black/gray Forerunner 110 without heart rate, you can buy a Garmin heart rate monitor separately or use with an *ANT+™ heart rate monitor you already own
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.