On the real website it say 724 kCal and when I punch in the numbers for the calculation it is 424 which is more realistic so I burned my lunch during lunch ... I am using mapmyrun (to keep track of the distance and time)
If I can get up to a 5k within 30 mins without feeling like I am going to die (and this was run 5 mins walk 1 min until we got back to the office bldg) I will attempt to run a charity run.
Fall temps are really here. I was this morning and trying to remember why i liked it so cold. After a mile, i warmed up and it was great.
9 miles today. Not on track for half marathon however due to being out for several weeks due to sinus/allergy issues and then having to back off on training due to shin splints. I'm thinking of doing hot choc 15 k in January but don't want to register so far ahead again.
you know ILP i read that on RW forum as well (about the organizers and the races that they've had in other cities.)
i was going to do it because of peer pressure (my chiropractor and bout 5 other people in the running group doing it)......but i think is the first year them having it in Atlanta and people prob dont hear the bad things bout it yet.
slacked off on the daily walk thing for a while but got back in it today.
Noticed that while the tread on my sneakers still looks good,
I felt the balls of my feet pounding the pavement.
Does that mean that I need new shoes or can I get by with new inserts?
Does Nike sell inserts to their shoes? I have Nike Pegasus Trail sneakers
Another issue I have been struggling with is nighttime eating.. Part of it is stress related (at least yesterday it was). I drink 90 oz of water easily in the day, I tend to have my bigger meals earlier in the day and try to stop eating after 7pm I am not feeling hungry but peckish but when stressed I aim for carbs
I would just go back to the running store and see what them suggest. I don't think your sneakers have seen that much road action that them need to replace already?
but of course me doan keep track of your mileage...so me doan really know
Inserts are cheap so if that's what them suggest you good to go.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would just go back to the running store and see what them suggest. I don't think your sneakers have seen that much road action that them need to replace already?
but of course me doan keep track of your mileage...so me doan really know
Inserts are cheap so if that's what them suggest you good to go. </div></div>
I know dem seh every 6 months but I have not logged that many miles in the past 6 months so I wonder if dem motivated to sell a new pair vs doing just an insert
what's their return policy? the store by me them tek it back even if u wear it outside.
tell them the sneakers haven't seen much use and ask them if them think inserts could help ..if them seh "yes" or "maybe"...then go with that first.
Most bonified (as in running focused) stores will allow you to return shoes, even if worn. Of course they expect you to repurchase another pair (from them) of shoes.
ran 4 miles and bike ride 10 miles this evening. It was chilly for the ride but felt good for the run. since i got back in, been having a hard time with flexing my fingers...even typing is taking a bit of an effort.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">ran 4 miles and bike ride 10 miles this evening. It was chilly for the ride but felt good for the run. since i got back in, been having a hard time with flexing my fingers...even typing is taking a bit of an effort. </div></div>
nice ride & run!
Amby Burfoot's Simple Secrets to a Lifetime of Running (testing copy/paste function on board..doan mind me )
Enjoy the Good, Endure the Bad
First the bad news: If you aim for a lifetime of running, you will hit bumps on the road. Heck, let's be honest: You will hit something that looks like Mount Everest, and on the back side a gulf as deep as the Grand Canyon. The challenges we each encounter are uniquely ours, but they will come. We all have good years and bad. Shift happens.
I have run Manchester with a "walking pneumonia" that produced an audible crackling in my lungs as I gasped for air. This was in 1981, my 19th Manchester in a row. I was willing to slow down and crackle a little, but not to abandon the streak. A decade later, my Achilles tendon began making almost the exact same sound. You can look it up; it's called "crepitus." Several doctors told me I would need surgery if I hoped to continue running. I ignored them, adjusted my running routine (to almost nothing), and hobbled through Manchester that year.Now the good news: I haven't heard a peep from that Achilles tendon in the last 15 years. The body wants to heal itself, and only requests that you give it a little time and space. Injuries come, and injuries go, never as soon as you would like. But they eventually depart. Two years ago I ran slowly at Manchester because I was recovering from meniscus surgery. This year I plan to kick butt.
The above were just a few of my physical bumps on the road. The emotional stuff hits much harder. In the mid-1970s, when I was 27 years old, I served as a Peace Corps volunteer in El Salvador, in Central America. One evening I was fixing dinner when I heard a knock on the door. I opened it to a very sober-faced man I had met once before–the director of Peace Corps operations in El Salvador. "I have bad news for you, Amby," he said, handing me a telegram. My eyes scanned to the bottom. There I saw the signature: "Henry Kissinger, Secretary of State." The telegram informed me that my father had been killed in a car accident. I should fly home at once. I did, and soon felt myself sinking into more sorrow, details, and swirl than I had ever known.
This was in early November, three weeks before Manchester. Somehow, I managed to run most days. The runs were short–I didn't have the focus to do more–but I remember them as the most brutally hard fartlek sessions I have ever done. They cleared my head and cleansed my wounds.
On Thanksgiving Day, I ran Manchester. I knew my father–a former athlete, YMCA director, and the person responsible for my interest in sports–would have wanted me to. And I won. I would like to tell you I was inspired by my father's memory. That's the way the story is supposed to be told: Son wins race to honor father.
But it wouldn't be truthful. The truth is: I was running fast to escape the pain and confusion.
Life requires us to make adjustments, to change course. Some years, when the waters of your life are calm and you feel a sense of control at the helm, you'll race hard, and hope for personal bests. Other years, beset by a perfect storm of turbulence, you'll have to settle for less. That's okay. Less is still something; just don't surrender and abandon ship.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.