Stop breakage.
The secret to growing longer hair
Re: The secret to growing longer hair
for me .. my hair was the healthiest when I started avoiding the hairdresser.
I think conditioning is key and styling your hair that is most appropriate to your hair texture & the way it falls.
basically I have been washing & wearing-- avoiding rubber bands as clipsIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
i think nutrition is the key. nott'n you put on the outside will make your hair grows. it grows from the inside of your scalp, just like your nails grow from your nail bed.
laws mi memba all dem tar sitt'n deh mi aunty use to buy bout it mek hair "grow" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Edited to add: i notice when i exercise and sweat nuff that my hair grows faster - probably because i'm getting lots of oxygen to the cells, but i'm no scientist - just an observation i made on myself.
another lady i know says when she uses the sauna her hair grows faster. she has locks as well.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i think nutrition is the key. nott'n you put on the outside will make your hair grows. it grows from the inside of your scalp, just like your nails grow from your nail bed.
laws mi memba all dem tar sitt'n deh mi aunty use to buy bout it mek hair "grow" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Edited to add: i notice when i exercise and sweat nuff that my hair grows faster - probably because i'm getting lots of oxygen to the cells, but i'm no scientist - just an observation i made on myself.
another lady i know says when she uses the sauna her hair grows faster. she has locks as well. </div></div>
mi notice seh when mi used to steam mi hair (way back in JA) it used to grow nuff too
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i think nutrition is the key. nott'n you put on the outside will make your hair grows. it grows from the inside of your scalp, just like your nails grow from your nail bed.
another lady i know says when she uses the sauna her hair grows faster. she has locks as well. </div></div>I like the idea of a sauna to increase the growth rate.
Sue, have you ever used a product that prevented breakage, i.e. retain your growth?
I agree nothing you put on your scalp is going to "grow hair" other than a scalp massage might increase blood flow.
<span style='font-size: 11pt'><span style="color: #FF0000"><span style='font-family: Arial Black'>Rule No. 1 for Avoiding Breakage: Comb your hair gently</span></span></span>
- Part your hair in sections.
- Comb from the ends up.
- Take your time.
- Avoid using brushes.
Banish words like "tough", "coarse", etc. from your vocabulary when referring to your hair. Because of it's coily nature, afro hair - whether natural or straightened - is extremely delicate, so handle with care.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">for me .. my hair was the healthiest when I started avoiding the hairdresser.
I think conditioning is key and styling your hair that is most appropriate to your hair texture & the way it falls.
<span style="color: #FF0000">basically I have been washing & wearing-- avoiding rubber bands as clips </span> </div></div>
Mimimal manipulation and not using damaging hair accessories also help to prevent breakage.
I hear you on the hairdresser, kia. Many black hairdressers are trained in hair styles, not hair care. They tend to cut too much so you never see any growth from one visit to the next.
I go on the long hair care forum quite regularly and OMG these women are freaks for growing hair!!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img] The techniques, strategies etc...too much...I can't keep up with it [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] ...My hair is armpit length and I got it this long by doing nothing to it...I keep it in a ponytail and thats it.. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] and don't ask me how often I wash it either...since my baby was born [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I go on the long hair care forum quite regularly and OMG these women are freaks for growing hair!!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img] The techniques, strategies etc...too much...I can't keep up with it [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] ...My hair is armpit length and I got it this long by doing nothing to it...I keep it in a ponytail and thats it.. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] and don't ask me how often I wash it either...since my baby was born [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img] </div></div>
a monthly treatment of olive oil to wet ends and steam cap works for me [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
I use xtra virgin oil. Mi tap guh hair dressa nuh mek no sense
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sue, have you ever used a product that prevented breakage, i.e. retain your growth?
when my hair starts breaking (prolly from di hole heep a red dye) i just cut it to where it stays thick, like i posted a couple months ago. i usually wash it everyday in summer in the mornings. so i don't really get a chance to moisterize it as often as i should between washings. otherwise, any coconut oil, balsam products or even john frieda oil based products will do.
BStar..I use this every 6 weeks on my hair..I did not last winter an definitely saw alot more breakage..of course.. I, also, stopped using the Aveda products in my weekly routine..so it could have been that...either way I'm back to my old winterising routine..