That is why the lazee wig wearing women doan comb them hair everyday. Them cornrow for up to a week at a time, as a lot of them find that daily combing/brushing/manipulation lead to breakage and less retention.
Styling Natural Hair
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI've learned hair grows faster when you blow dry it and use the curling iron or flat iron less often.
Thin hair that is really kinky like mine requires constant care when it is longer, even if it is worn wash and wear, the hairdresser has to leave most of the texture in or it breaks. De-tangling becomes a real issue. Hair must be combed out an braided nightly. Something for which I don't seem to have the time or patience. It may be better to keep it in a French braid for a few days.
but back in old time days that is what women did, plait their hair out at night and then combed & styled for day. It was my intention to have my daughter plait her own hair at night - we make it some nights.. This way she can learn to part & comb her own hair.
deep conditioning is key no need for texturizers if going full natural though-- so ceabee hair website sayIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by kia027 View Postbut back in old time days that is what women did, plait their hair out at night and then combed & styled for day. It was my intention to have my daughter plait her own hair at night - we make it some nights.. This way she can learn to part & comb her own hair.
your success with this if you're trying to grow your hair long depends on hair texture. remember the hair typing system? the less coiled or kinky ...the hair is probably less prone to breakage.
If i remember right Girlkia is a type 3 something she would probably have less problems than a 4 something.
eta : problems = breakage, split ends etcLast edited by CeaBee; 10-13-2013, 02:52 PM.
Originally posted by CeaBee View Postyour success with this if you're trying to grow your hair long depends on hair texture. remember the hair typing system? the less coiled or kinky ...the hair is probably less prone to breakage.
If i remember right Girlkia is a type 3 something she would probably have less problems than a 4 something.
eta : problems = breakage, split ends etc
I think I had better do the back though where it is kinkiest as you just have to look at it and it tangles. As my hair is thin, the hairdresser can't relax it very much so the back still has a ton of kink. I haven're relaxed the top for a few years now. The texture is very different from the back. It is less kinky than the back that has been relaxed.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWith my coil pattern...as kinky as it gets..I should be braiding or twisting it every night when worn natural or wash and wear but mi cyaan baddah.
I think I had better do the back though where it is kinkiest as you just have to look at it and it tangles. As my hair is thin, the hairdresser can't relax it very much so the back still has a ton of kink. I haven're relaxed the top for a few years now. The texture is very different from the back. It is less kinky than the back that has been relaxed.
If you not having a problem in this area or don't care about it,then disregard.
I am not disagreeing with you.
I've been reading a lot about manipulation and it's impact. I think for growth as you say maybe cornrows (not too tight and without extensions) are the route to go. I know my hair grew fastest when I had cornrows. They were long with extensions so when I finally stopped wearing that style, I wore a French braid for a while to give it a rest. I kept all of the length.
I notice when I blow dry and iron less often, more lenght is retained too.
This is what I was reading and came in here to post when I saw your last comment:
These are 5 simple steps to reverse stagnant hair into long thriving hair1. Accept that what you are doing does not work
You are doing it all, protective styling, moisturising and deep conditioning but still you have not managed to move your hair an inch. It is time to face the facts – your current routine despite having all the good stuff really does not work.
It is time for a critical assessment. Do you keep a protective style long enough to ensure that you gain benefit from it? Do you moisturise at the critical points when moisture is needed (when taking down a style and when handling free hair) and do you avoid handling your hair at its weakest state (soaking wet)? Could you be doing too much to your hair therefore causing it to wear away and compromise length?
If you do not see results within 2-3 months, you need to make this critical assessment again. Do not wait for 1 year to go by. You should be able to see small increments in your hair length every 2-3 months.
2. Know when your hair breaks
The reason for hair staying at a stagnant length is because it is breaking just as fast as it is growing. It is really important to know when your hair is most vulnerable to breakage and this varies from person to person depending on your individual strand thickness and choice of styling. The most common breakage points are:
-during takedown of a protective style (especially at the ends)
-during detangling (both conditioner combing and dry detangling)
- while wearing hair free (due to tangling, shrinkage, knots and regular handling)
Once you identify why and when your hair is most vulnerable to breakage, you will be able to know exactly when you must protect your hair from damage.
3. Try something new
Having accepted that what you are doing does not work, it is time to try to do something new. If you have been conditioner combing, try dry or damp detangling for a little while and see how it works for you. Compare your results after 2-3 months and decide which one really works best for you. If you have never deep conditioned your hair, try doing it for 2-3 months and see if your hair improves or not. If you only use heavy oils or butters on your hair, try light oils and see if your hair would equally be happy with those. Do not write things off before you actually try them.
4. Know when to stop
I am really all for trying something new but equally you should know when to stop. If a technique causes immediate breakage, stop using it. Do not think perhaps your hair is shedding more than usual, assume that the technique is not working for your hair and must be adjusted to suit your curls and kinks or not used at all. If you are deep conditioning 2-3 times a week and your hair is not moisturised, stop and reassess how you are conditioning (is your conditioner working, do you need to warm it up first, could you do with some protein, do you use a leave in/moisturiser/oil after washing).
5. Have realistic expectations
Finally hair takes a long time to grow. Many naturals cannot retain 100% of their growth. If your hair is susceptible to split ends then cutting them off will impact retention but provided at the end of the year you have kept some length, do not be disheartened. There are a small proportion of women who can keep all their growth but I feel that it is more reasonable to expect between 3-5 inches per year with a regular trimming or dusting routine.
Ladies, what are your hair goals for 2013? Will you be trying to grow your hair out?
Not that it is any of your flippin' bee's wax but the top part of my hair IS natural. I haven't relaxed it in years. I have had it blow dried and curled though.
I will eventually have fully natural hair again when I don't need to relax it and blow dry it for professional reasons so I am gathering information. One has to have a transition strategy and strategies for managing natural hair that is longer than shoulder length. Preparation is the key to success.
Philosophically I still support natural hair.
Also FYI, I don't have to TRY to GO natural. When my hair comes of my head it IS natural.Last edited by Tropicana; 11-07-2013, 01:14 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostNot that it is any of your flippin' bee's wax but the top part of my hair IS natural. I haven't relaxed it in years. I have had it blow dried and curled though.
Also FYI, I don't have to TRY to GO natural. When my hair comes of my head it IS natural.
And yes u do haffi try caz quick a clock it grow out natural yuh run gawn a haridressa fi str8'n it out
Originally posted by Emperah View Postbut yuh still a gimmie tory doe
And yes u do haffi try caz quick a clock it grow out natural yuh run gawn a haridressa fi str8'n it out
207619_aIKkH5in.jpg
I guess I am not the only one who has to earn a living....bet you sorry you told we.