Have you ever done it, or had it done? How did it turn out?
Chemical Peel
i used to work with a lady that does it.
the first two days she look horrible. face red like tomato and just god aweful. around day 3-4 she looks amaze. u woulda tink she get a face lift.
seems like is something she needed to keep up every 4-6 monthish though, if memory sever mi rite. you always know when she got it done cus most times she stayed home but on the odd time she had to come in savior. it was a a site.
wonder if it would look the same with black skin....proable woudnt look as red and sore/bad sun burn looking.
found this when i googled.
Who Is a Good Candidate For a Chemical Peel?
Generally, fair-skinned and light-haired patients are better candidates for chemical peels. If you have darker skin, you may also have good results, depending upon the type of problem being treated. But you also may be more likely to have an uneven skin tone after the procedure.
Skin sags, bulges, and more severe wrinkles do not respond well to chemical peels. They may need other kinds of cosmetic surgical procedures, such as laser resurfacing, a facelift, brow lift, eyelid lift, or soft tissue filler (collagen or fat). A dermatologic surgeon can help determine the most appropriate type of treatment for you.
Before You Get a Chemical Peel
Tell your doctor if you have any history of scarring, cold sores that keep coming back, or facial X-rays.
Before you get a chemical peel, your doctor may ask you to stop taking certain drugs and prepare your skin by using other medications, such as Retin-A, Renova, or glycolic acid. The doctor may also prescribe antibiotics or antiviral drugs.
Work with your doctor to determine the depth of your peel. This decision depends upon the condition of your skin and your goals for treatment.
Ask your doctor in advance whether you will need to have someone drive you home after your peel.
source: http://www.webmd.com/beauty/peels/co...eel-treatmentsLast edited by missus_vegas; 07-27-2013, 04:23 PM.
ok this is scary lol. google is a hell of a ting u know. it can make u feel like chicken little
see some scary stories here of dark skin peeps
- rahsa
- 14 Dec 2012
I am also medium-dark African American complexion and have done a 25% TCA peel at home 4 days ago and have had the same pink results, If I had seen this page I wouldn't have done such a high peel as I was scared the colour would not come back. I went to the hospital yesterday and they have reassured me the colour will come back because the tca did not penetrate too deep into my layers but I was lucky! They did tell me that they are not sure if my colour will be the same. Fingers crossed
the comments on this post remind me of ja.com
Originally posted by kia027 View PostI have had Glycolic Peels with a facial but I doan think is the same thing u talking Nunya?
I came across a site where a black woman was talking about doing a chemical peel at home... she posted pics of her and they looked like the pic MsV posted... but she said after about a week, her colour came back and she was overjoyed by the result.
Looked a little further and found a clip from the Dr show where they advise that you not do it at home and also that if you are dark complected you shouldn't do it/ or have it done...
Some folk seem to think it's a form of bleaching, while others say it's a face lift... So I thought I turn to my trusty Ja.commers to get a truer picture...
Originally posted by Nunya View PostDunno the difference.
Some folk seem to think it's a form of bleaching, while others say it's a face lift... So I thought I turn to my trusty Ja.commers to get a truer picture...
glycolic acid=a kind of chemical peel
it's a mild chemical to resurface and smooth the skin. it can sometimes (depending on the strength) even out the skin tonethough it's not really uber noticeable, unless the skin was in bad shape prior to the treatment.
overall, the results are pretty good so I can see how someone might become addicted to them
this should only be done by your dermatologist and any skin type can have it done. (if you have darker skin, then you really should have a Derm that specializes in your darker skin to begin with)
ideally you should use a Derm so that you don't look like you juss leff the hospital burn unit.
just like any other procedure (like butt implants) people will always try to find the cheaper way that end up sheg up dem face.
if you do get any kind of peel, your Derm will tell you that your skin will be sensitive to the sun, so sun block is a must.
and at the end of the day even if you don't end up getting a peel, sun block on yuh face/neck is a must (even in the winter) because the sun damages your skin and ages you.
there are mild ones that you can get from some beauty lines/stores like sephora etc ranging from hundreds to maybe 15.00
i've had the glycolic twiceLast edited by Gen; 07-27-2013, 11:08 PM.
Originally posted by missus_vegas View PostI am also medium-dark African American complexion and have done a 25% TCA peel at home 4 days ago and have had the same pink results, If I had seen this page I wouldn't have done such a high peel as I was scared the colour would not come back. I went to the hospital yesterday and they have reassured me the colour will come back because the tca did not penetrate too deep into my layers but I was lucky! They did tell me that they are not sure if my colour will be the same. Fingers crossed
50%?!?!?! she is crazywhen I had mine done by a licensed dermatologist they did not go higher than 5% on me and I am lighter than she is
50% was what was written on the linkIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by Nunya View PostDunno the difference.
I came across a site where a black woman was talking about doing a chemical peel at home... she posted pics of her and they looked like the pic MsV posted... but she said after about a week, her colour came back and she was overjoyed by the result.
Looked a little further and found a clip from the Dr show where they advise that you not do it at home and also that if you are dark complected you shouldn't do it/ or have it done...
Some folk seem to think it's a form of bleaching, while others say it's a face lift... So I thought I turn to my trusty Ja.commers to get a truer picture...If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
25% concentration is a bit much for the first time. a guess she never mek dem do a patch test first or she dweet at home, she did really want bun off her face
Originally posted by missus_vegas View Postok this is scary lol. google is a hell of a ting u know. it can make u feel like chicken little
see some scary stories here of dark skin peeps
[ATTACH=CONFIG]1190[/ATTACH]
- rahsa
- 14 Dec 2012
I am also medium-dark African American complexion and have done a 25% TCA peel at home 4 days ago and have had the same pink results, If I had seen this page I wouldn't have done such a high peel as I was scared the colour would not come back. I went to the hospital yesterday and they have reassured me the colour will come back because the tca did not penetrate too deep into my layers but I was lucky! They did tell me that they are not sure if my colour will be the same. Fingers crossed
You would think the word chemical would give someone a hint to be careful and read the directions thoroughly ~sigh~ the things we do for beauty
Nunya I found some info on chemical peels here
Chemical Peel Details
What it is: A Chemical Peel is a skin resurfacing technique in which a chemical solution is applied to the face to remove the outer surface layers of skin. Chemical Peels come in a range of strengths, from a deeper Phenol Peel to more superficial peels, such as a Glycolic Acid peel. Chemical Peels allow new, healthier skin to emerge.
A chemical skin peel involves the application of a solution to the entire face or to specific areas to peel away the skin's top layers. Several light to medium-depth peels can often achieve similar results to one deeper peel treatment, with less risk and shorter recovery time.
- Peel solutions may contain alpha hydroxy acids, tricholoracetic acid (TCA) or phenol, and peel "depth" or the number of skin layers removed, is determined by both solution ingredients and concentration.
- TCA Skin Peels use trichloroacetic acid for peeling of the face, neck, hands and other exposed areas of the body. It has less bleaching effect than phenol peels, and is good for "spot" peeling of specific areas. It can be used for deep, medium or light peeling, depending on the concentration and method of application.
- Phenol is used for deep chemical peels. Phenol offers full-face peeling when sun damage or wrinkling is severe. It can also be used to treat limited areas of the face, such as deep wrinkles around the mouth, but it may permanently bleach the skin, leaving a line of demarcation between the treated and untreated areas that must be covered with makeup.
- Lactic acid lotions like Lac-Hydrin can help to treat keratosis pilaris and lighten brown spots at the same time.
- At Home Chemical Peel kits are less concentrated than the agents offered by a skin care specialist. If you use "At Home" peels, there is a risk of applying to strong of an acid for your skin type. Reports on RealSelf by home peeling of acne scars, acne, and other facial skin concerns reveal that people can get severely burned and scarred from products.