It is totally different. It can be considered to be an extreme hair style depending on length. For the record, I have hired people with locks and also convinced a bank in the Caribbean to re-think their hiring policies but there is a fundamental issue here. Should schools and employers have no right to set any standards re: hair? This is totally different from the natural hair issue. Natural hair is what God put on our head.
War Against Natural Black Hair
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThis is disappointing but also reinforces what I have been saying for a long time. The black men who cast music videos and TV shows reflect similar biases based on who they cast.
wen mii regular barber was pon vacation mii used wan oldar barbar yuh shood ave ear da man chatt bout oww mii ave good hair. mii tarted fe wandar bout imm.
itt bout self hating brainwashed blakk peeps
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIt is totally different. It can be considered to be an extreme hair style depending on length. For the record, I have hired people with locks and also convinced a bank in the Caribbean to re-think their hiring policies but there is a fundamental issue here. Should schools and employers have no right to set any standards re: hair? This is totally different from the natural hair issue. Natural hair is what God put on our head.
wance school ann employers tart fe set arbitaree tandard dat lead to institutional racism
Originally posted by blugiant View Posttropi wan blakk ooman woo was sittinn behind mii ann mii tekk aff mii hat ann shi tarted fe chatt bout oww mii iss baby daddy material cah mii ave good hair. so mii ask ar wat was badd hair ann shi sed naps. shi disgusted mii.
wen mii regular barber was pon vacation mii used wan oldar barbar yuh shood ave ear da man chatt bout oww mii ave good hair. mii tarted fe wandar bout imm.
itt bout self hating brainwashed blakk peeps
Originally posted by blugiant View Postso ar yuh seyinn oyinbo widd extra long hair shood be force to cut dem hair fe conform
wance school ann employers tart fe set arbitaree tandard dat lead to institutional racism
I started another thread about that. Take a look and tell me what you think. I posted photo examples. I don't think setting standards against extreme hairstyles is the same thing as a war against natural hairdo.Last edited by Tropicana; 12-12-2013, 08:42 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostOkay so are you saying that anything goes?
I started another thread about that. Take a look and tell me what you think. I posted photo examples.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIt is totally different. It can be considered to be an extreme hair style depending on length. For the record, I have hired people with locks and also convinced a bank in the Caribbean to re-think their hiring policies but there is a fundamental issue here. Should schools and employers have no right to set any standards re: hair? This is totally different from the natural hair issue. Natural hair is what God put on our head.
so then braids are not natural...neither razor shapeups
I never said that locks were not natural hair....I said locks are an extreme hairstyle (depending of course on how they are worn) and this discussion transcends as simple focus on whether or not people should face discrimination based on whether or not hey wear their hair as God put it on their head. No way can one compare cornrows to locks. Cornrows are styled, locks for the most part are what happens when one stops combing and styling.
BP Accused of Racism by Fired Top Executive
By JAMIE ROSS
BP fired a top executive after warning her that braiding her hair and wearing dashikis made her colleagues "uncomfortable," and that she should do so only "during 'culture day' [or] black history month," the former West Coast CFO claims in court.
Melphine Evans sued BP West Coast Products, BP Products North America and nine people, in Orange County Superior Court.
Evans claims she was fired after nearly 10 years with British Petroleum Oil Co. and replaced with a younger white male, after a series of overtly racial complaints.
Evans began working for BP in early 2001 as vice president of North America's Western Region, and was CFO BP West Coast Products in La Palma, Calif. when she was fired, according to her 24-page lawsuit.
She claims that her supervisors and other management responded to her complaints of race and gender discrimination "by telling her she 'was the problem'" and with a litany of insensitive remarks.
According to the lawsuit, these remarks included:
"'You intimidate and make your colleagues uncomfortable by wearing ethnic clothing and ethnic hairstyles ('Dashikis,' 'twists,' 'braids/cornrows'). On one occasion, a BP representative went so far as to ask Ms. Evans 'if she understood that wearing a "dashiki" to work makes her colleagues feel uncomfortable?'
"If you insist on wearing ethnic clothing/hairstyles-you should only do so during 'culture day,' black history month or special diversity events/days.'
"'If you are going to wear ethnic clothing, you should alert people in advance that you will be wearing something ethnic ...'
"'We didn't take any action against the contractor who placed the noose in the Cherry Point refinery because we weren't really sure the rope that was placed there was meant to harass or intimidate employees ... sometimes refinery employees practice tying knots and since there aren't that many black employees at the refinery and the knot in the rope was not tied like a noose knot, we don't believe it symbolized racial hatred or violence...'
"'They hate you and they are going to get you.'"
Asked for a comment, BP spokesman Scott Dean told Courthouse News: "Generally, BP does not publicly discuss personnel issues. However, BP treats all employees fairly. BP disagrees with the claims and will vigorously defend the suit."
Dean said the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing dismissed a discrimination complaint Evans filed with the agency last year.
That Nov. 30, 2012 dismissal letter, attached as an exhibit to the lawsuit, states in part: "The Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) has closed your case for the following reason: Investigated and Dismissed - Withdrawn. Based upon its investigation, DFEH is unable to conclude that the information obtained establishes a violation of the statute."
But Evans says in her lawsuit: "Although plaintiff's supervisors, [defendants] Rita Griffin and Nick Elmslie told her on the day they fired her, that she 'did not get along well with her teammates and colleagues' and that she regularly engaged in 'bullying and overly aggressive behavior,' the plaintiff's official 360 evaluative performance feedback reviews which were completed by teammates that were selected by defendant" included the statement: 'Melphine is a people person. She engages her entire organization and is sincere in her desire to ensure all are valued and heard.'"
Griffin complimented Evans for leadership skills less than three weeks before she fired her, according to the complaint.
Evans claims BP's reasons for firing her were pretextual, to cover for its "racist and sexist comments and actions and ... hostile and discriminatory treatment that was inconsistent with her similarly situated white counterparts at BP."
Evans seeks damages for race and gender discrimination, harassment, retaliation, and wrongful termination.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI never said that locks were not natural hair....I said locks are an extreme hairstyle (depending of course on how they are worn) and this discussion transcends as simple focus on whether or not people should face discrimination based on whether or not hey wear their hair as God put it on their head. No way can one compare cornrows to locks. Cornrows are styled, locks for the most part are what happens when one stops combing and styling.
Originally posted by jah_yout View PostI guess the brainwash goes to the core....calling locs extreme hairstyle while considering chemically burned hair normal or superior...aye sah...the chain come offa wi foot and gone pon wi brain
tropi awlso sed blakk oomen woo wear dem natural hair ar discriminated against butt shii mekkinn argument dat justeefii discrimination aff peeps woo wear locsLast edited by blugiant; 12-13-2013, 06:34 PM.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postwat a ting
tropi awlso sed blakk oomen woo wear dem natural hair ar discriminated against butt shii mekkinn argument dat justeefii discrimination aff peeps woo wear locs
Let me state it one more time in English and if you don't get it I will try French. Whether you want to admit it or not, how you wear your hair does have an impact on career opportunities whether you are Black, White or pink with purple polka dots.
Like it or not, for women, natural hair does reduce opportunities for some careers. Like it or not, locks are a different matter and perceived as an extreme hairstyle unless shaped and styled neatly. It's a totally different discussion from natural vs straightened.
I have responded to jah_yout's absurd accusations over here:
Last edited by Tropicana; 12-13-2013, 08:15 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWhere did I make an argument justifying discrimination against people who wear locks....cut and paste it right here. Guess you skipped the part that I posted TWICE stating that I have hired people with locks and convinced a bank in the Caribbean to re-think their blanket ban on locks.
Let me state it one more time in English and if you don't get it I will try French. Whether you want to admit it or not, how you wear your hair does have an impact on career opportunities whether you are Black, White or pink with purple polka dots.
Like it or not, for women, natural hair does reduce opportunities for some careers. Like it or not, locks are a different matter and perceived as an extreme hairstyle unless shaped and styled neatly. It's a totally different discussion from natural vs straightened.
I have responded to jah_yout's absurd accusations over here:
http://www.jamaicans.com/forums/show...hair-standards
Absolutely not. Some hair styles are more extreme than others and this goes for whether we are talking about hair pon de heads of Black people, White people or Chiney people.
Whether you like it or not, someone with locks down to dem kimba (especially if they are not neatly trimmed), a mohawk hairdo, or a punk hairdo is unlikely to get a job in the corporate sector. If they do, they won't get promoted. Stating that is not defending institutional racism. That's a fact. That's reality whether we are talking about the US, Jamaica, Canada, the UK, and even Africa. That is a TOTALLY different issue from war on natural hair.
So in the other thread I asked if employers have the right to set standards re: dress and hair and posted nuff examples of extreme hairstlyes. You still haven't answered. What are you afraid of?Last edited by Tropicana; 12-14-2013, 11:19 AM.