I am not much of a cook, but I need to start eating healthier. Looking for recipe, and direction on steaming fish. I have never steamed fish. I plan to use red snapper (fillet) I would apreciate any help. Thanks.
steamed fish
Re: steamed fish
i took this out of the archives
Steamed Fish
2 lbs fish
2 oz butter
1 small onion
2 med.tomatoes
2 stalk escallion
2 sprig thyme
1 scotch bonnet pepper
2 tablespoon ketchup
2 tablespoon soya sauce
3 cloves garlic
5 pimento seeds crushed
salt and pepper
5 tablespoon cooking oil
1/2 cup water
Clean fish,season with salt and pepper, fry in hot oil,for about 5 mins on each side,remove to a plate. in the same oil add onion,escallion,pepper,thyme,tomatoes and garlic fry for 5 mins,add pimento seed,ketchup,soya sauce,salt and pepper cook for 3 mins. add water,stir, lay fish on top cover steam for 3 mins,take a spoon and lift some of the sauce over top of fish turn over gentle,add butter,cover steam for about 8 to 10 mins.turn off fire,let it sit for about 10 mins serve.
------------------
Jah and I one love. My mind not only wanders, it sometime leaves completely.
anytime jamaica dreamin,as mi always deh pon diet,mi go learn fi eat better de adder day,an weh mi learn is really easy, mi biggest problem is bread an rice,or carbs.so mi cut back on dat an loose 25lbs.but if yu need anyting else just let me know ahrite
------------------
Jah and I one love. My mind not only wanders, it sometime leaves completely.
STEAM FISH MISS PEACHES
1 ½ lbs. firm fish fillets or steaks
l lime cut in two
½ green pepper, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
2-3 celery leaves, finely chopped
½ small tomato, chopped
1 stem escallion, chopped (optional)
1 sprig fresh thyme
½ tsp salt
½ tsp fresh ginger, grated
Rinse fish under running water, rub well with one half of the lime and rinse again.
Place fish in bowl, squeeze juice from the other lime half on top, add other ingredients,
and mix well. Put aside on counter to season for at least 1 hour; if over 1½ hours refrigerate.
Place in medium saucepan with tightly fitting lid, put over high heat, wait till steam rises from the pot.
Lower heat to low, steam a further 4 minutes, check for doneness.
If you can get the fish to come apart using a fork, it's done.
Remove from heat immediately and serve with plain rice and greens.