Re: Corn Hominy Porridge
hi Leonie,bwoy yu lov everyting mi love,soh here is my recipe again
Hominy Porridge
1 cup hominy corn
water
1 teaspoon cinnamon,mi love the leaves soh mi carry dem from JA
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups coconut milk(if yu use de cream use 1/2 box)
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 or so carnation milk
1/2 cup or so condense milk
sugar
1/3 cup flour
i wash and soak the corn overnight,in the morning bowl the corn in the same water it was soaking in,so use a pot,add cinnamon, and salt, boil till soft about 2 hours (you can use a pressure cooker,pressure for 1/2 hour)add the coconut milk,mix flour with some water untill smooth,strain into the pot with corn,stiring well,bring to a boil again, add nutmeg and vanilla,sweeten to taste,den yu call mi DWL (if it nuh thick enough use more flour)
------------------
Jah and I one love. My mind not only wanders, it sometime leaves completely.
[This message has been edited by grandma2 (edited 09-05-2001).]
leonie,mi notice yu live in the states,soh mi nuh no bout the west indies shap dem,wen mi life in florida mi notice say dem sell it in tins,i tried it its pretty good they even have white ones mi nuh no bout dat,but get the can,wash the corn,add water boil then add your ingredients,just dont have to cook it so long. try dat
------------------
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Leonie:
Thanks Grannie, but mi no see the corn in a fi mi s/market</font>
------------------
hi Leonie,mi neva even tink of mentioning de cracked corn,see 2 head better dan one DWL,mi glad it turn out nice,BWT weh fi mi deh DWL
------------------
Sending by Fedex:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by grandma2:
hi Leonie,mi neva even tink of mentioning de cracked corn,see 2 head better dan one DWL,mi glad it turn out nice,BWT weh fi mi deh DWL
</font>