HELP,I have tried a few patty recipes and there is a taste that is missing, need more recipes to try, please give me the best out there, and I need a stew peas and rice recipes, thanks.........
stew peas and patties
Re: stew peas and patties
tek these from the history, mi going to look for de patty fi yu ok soon come
STEWED PEAS
½ lbpig tail (mi no eat it but some people do)
1 1/2 lb beef (or meat of your choice)
2 cups red peas, washed
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1-2 sprigs thyme
2 stalks escallion, ( or I onion)
1 whole Scotch Bonnet
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cups flour for dumplin
1 cup coconut milk or 1/4 box of the cream
Place peas and meats in large pot along with whole Scotch Bonnet and thyme and cover with enough water to cover completely Bring to boil, then lower heat and cover pot and simmer for about 2 hours or until peas are tender. Add water if necessary during cooking
When the meats and peas are tender, add spinners,add coconut milk and seasoning,season taste.mi like fi add a little margarine.simmer for about 20 minutes to thicken the stew.if needed stir a little flour in cold water,about 2 tablespoon flour to 1/4 cup water,add to stew for thickening,hope this ok let mi know arite
another think you can even mek dis meatless it still nice,an save some fi yu husband fi soup de next day
------------------
Jah & I one love
grandma2
Member posted 04-16-2001 07:53 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
this is so easy to make i make it all the time
12 oz. ground beef
2 tablespoon oil
sprig of thyme ( its a spice)
3 stalk escallion chopped
1 small hot pepper
4 slices bread
1 1/2 cup water
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 egg yokes beaten or 1/2 cup milk
fry beef and thyme in oil for about 15 minutes. chop hot pepper finely, add escallion and pepper to meat. cook,stirring for about 5 minutes.place bread and water in a blender and blend, add this puree,salt,b.pepper to meat. cook stirring for 3 mins. do not allow mixture to dry out too much discard thyme.
for pastry
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup lard
1 cup cold water
sift flour and salt. knead in lard.bind with water to form a firm dough. knead for 2mins.
rofl pastry 1/8 inches thick. cut pastry round 6 inches. divide filling between patties, brush edges with water. fold over.seal glaze with egg yoke or milk .bake on top shelf for about 25 mins. at 450 degrees until golden brown. ENJOY
------------------
Jah & I one love
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by trinigal-1:
grandma2 thanks for the recipes, I am going to try it soon, I was wondering if you know what gives the patties that yellow colour? and I have tried a similar recipe, but it was missing a certain taste, do you know what it could be, thank you.............</font>
------------------
Jah & I one love
trinigal-1 and Redj,watch de colour it will change de hole taste of de patties, tumric is base curry,soh it can be bitter,if it must be yellow, cause yu like de colour,try de annatto oil. some places use food colouring.
the original patty was yellow from lard our lard use to be yellow, now i see crisco bring it back.
------------------
Jah & I one love