I love the taste of cornmeal porridge with coconut milk, but have never made it myself. I just want to know what % of coconut milk is required to make this.
Do I add it at the end, or do I use coconut milk instead of water or regular milk?
mawning Pepper, if yu boil it with the coconut milk instead of water,i find it more taste like tun cornmeal,so here is my recipe fi dat
Cornmeal Porridge
1/2 cup cornmeal
6 cups water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 cup coconut milk or 1/4 of the box of coconut cream
condense milk,carnation milk,sugar
place water to boil with nutmeg,cinnamon,salt and vanilla.
mix the cornmeal in a cup with cold water. stir into boiling water keep stirring thats the secret,you dont want it lumpy. boil for about 15 mins,on low heat.if its getting too thick add more water. stir in coconut milk boil for ten mins.
sweeten with condense milk,carnation milk an sugar to taste. maybe 1/4 cup condense an 1/4 cup carnation milk 5 table spoon sugar. enjoy
We had a Construction Man Special, only cooked on Constuction Sites in Jamaica, that used the dried (bone-ate) coconut, the ones they used for boiling oil.....If yu ever taste that yu nuh waan no more porridge cook nuh adda way. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Sorry mi nah tell unno how fi cook it...a strictly Construction Man seekrit...
Grandma2, good morning and thanks once again for sharing your knowledge! I've love cornmeal porridge from I was a boy as me auntie used to make it for me and I never knew how to make it with coconut milk. I will be trying this recipe fe true. (Evertime I mek it, it tun lumpy ...so tanks fe sharin de secret!) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
jamaican4jesus, I doan kno ow ole yu is, but if yu nevva taste cawnmeal porridge cook with cocanat milk, den half a yu life gawn!! Anyhow follow grandma2 recipe an join us cawnmeal porridge lovas. ENJOY!!!
Aright!, Aright!, Ah hear yu! I mis-read. Anyhow you an I are now in de same boat, since mi a go mek some now using grandma's formula. I hope to enjoy mine as I know you will enjoy yours. Lata.
De doctor waan mi bout I cholesterol so mi fraid a all that cream and stuff. Mi use to mek it widout di cocnat milk an all dat condense milk. Not as taasty but still good. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.