Does anyone have a recipe for corn meal pudding? I had it last time I was in Ja, and it was delicious. I've only ever made corn meal porridge, but the pudding is even better.
cornmeal pudding
Re: cornmeal pudding
dr.bone yu back,so how did mommy like de cake,she come back yet,mi miss har give har mi love.
Cornmeal Pudding
3 cups cornmeal
1/4 cup flour
4 1/2 cups coconut milk
2 cups milk
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 cup raisins
4 tablespoon margarine
mix cornmeal,flour,baking powder,salt,sugar,cinnamon and nutmeg,add milk,vanilla,almond extract and raisins,stir well.
pour into a well greased baking pan. bake at 300 degrees for 1 1/2 hrs check,if not ready bake for about half hour more. remember the top will be wet
cause its soft top. enjoy
Thanks grandma. Mom did like the cake. I gave her a whole one, and she took some to Ja for our friends who liked it too. She'll be back on the 7th. I had to come back on the first b/c some of us have to work [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Grandma, I made this last night, and it tasted good but the bf was quick to point out that there was either too much cornmeal, or not enough milk, b/c it was a little grainy. I can think of some other nickname that bf can stand for besides boyfriend [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] I told him to kiss my behind (and he better get started, it's big and may take awhile), and make his own dang food next time [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
No matter how much you try, you just can't please 'em. He even criticized my curry chicken. Last time he cooked it, he had to ask me how to make it, and still added the wrong seasonings b/c he didn't listen to me. I tell ya, the boy has lost his roots. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
neva mind dr.bones,a soh dem stay DWL, but yu knoh some a de cornmeal dem really coarse,so if yu buy dat one,wen yu mix up yu batter leave it pon de counter for about 3/4 to 1 hour before baking,or yu can buy the fine cornmeal,dats de one i use.
tell him is my fault mi did fi get to mention dat, now mi feel so bad. tell him nex time fi mi yaw, an tanks fi mentioning it to.
so ask him if it taste good DWL
Hi Grandma2, just made my cornmeal pudding for Sunday evening desert, and it was delicious. Thanks for your recipie. One thing though, when does the butter get added. Did not see it up above...I just threw it in at the end. Does it even matter anyway?
Next time though, I will use light brown sugar. This one gave the puddin a darker look than I prefer, but it was still quite tasty. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
pepper an dr.bones,mi tell yu mi head a tek wata,lawd mi really sorry bout dat, yes yu just added it after,like spot it on top of de pudding after yu pour it in the pan.
mi madda use to rub it in with the mixture,but mi find say some of it get lef in de pan,but both ways ok.
glad yu both liked it,thanks