Hi there, does anyone have a recipe for corned beef, or corned pork. It is too expensive in the westindian stores, so I would like to make it myself if possible, and see how it comes out
hi jenjen,how yu do.now mek mi give yu a story,mi had a breda in law,him dead now.him was chinese,an as a pickney,him use to mek de sweetest corned beef an pork,lawd wen him open de plastic tub an tek out de pig tail an boil it inna coconut milk,jeesam,dats why mi nuh nam it nuh more cause it did too sweet DWL. anyway dis a fi him recipe. yu must get a big plastic tub with tight lid.
Corned Beef
4 lbs brisket
2 tablespoon saltpetre
1 1/2 cup coarse salt or 1 cup salt
12 pimento seed
12 black pepper seed
2 tablespoon brown sugar
1 cup boiled cool water
with a sharp knife cut gashes into the beef on all sides.mix all the other ingredients (try to mix out most of the salt) and fill the gash with it pour rest over beef.roll beef over and over to make sure its well covered. cover and sit in a cool place for at least 14 days.turn over in 7 days. now sometimes he adds garlic,thyme,onion pepper,depends on his mood either all of them or just one.
you would do the same with the fresh pigs tail,just mek sure yu turn it every 5 days or kip it inna de bottom of the fridge.yu knoh how it can get touch DWL. mek mi knoh seen
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.