I told Grandma that I made patties for my neighbors this past week and delivered them with the recipe and a likkle bag of Jamaican Curry Powder. She asked me to post it here:
Jamaican Meat Patties
(Oven 400degF or 200degC)
(the jumping off place for this recipe was from the book, “Travelling Jamaica with Knife, Fork, and Spoon” available through Amazon.com)
Pastry
4C flour
½ tsp baking powder
2 tsp ground turmeric (or 1tsp Jamaican Curry Powder and 1tsp annatto)
1 tsp salt
1 C vegetable shortening at room temp.
1 C very cold water
Sift together first four ingredients, cut shortening in until dough has consistency of coarse cornmeal.
Add cold water slowly just until the dough holds together.
Wrap and chill in fridge while making filling.
Filling:
1 ½ pounds ground beef
2 onions finely chopped
5 scallions finely chopped
1-2 habanero or scotch bonnet peppers (discard membrane & seeds) finely chopped
2 Tbsp. Fresh Thyme leaves chopped
2 Garlic cloves grated or finely chopped
2 small pkgs of bread crumbs
1Tbsp. Grated ginger root (optional)
2Tbsp. Vegetable oil
1-2 tsp. Turmeric or Jamaican Curry Powder
Salt & Pepper to Taste
3/4 Cup Water
(You can also add, chopped cooked mushrooms, carrots, cabbage, cho cho, making sure to drain off and squeeze out as much liquid as possible before folding into the cooked meat mixture)
Put the beef in a bowl and add the onions, scallions, habanero pepper, thyme, garlic, and ginger. (And other cooked vegetables) Mix well. Heat the oil in a deep skillet and cook the meat mixture over medium high heat until browned, about 10 minutes. Add bread crumbs, spices and stir well. Add water, cover pan and simmer for 30 minutes. The mixture should be the consistency of thick chili....wet, not runny or dry and crumbly. Preheat oven.
*Divide the dough into 24 equal pieces, on lightly floured surface roll out to 1/4" thickness keeping it in a rough circle. Spoon enough filling into the center of each circle to cover half, leaving the edges free.Moisten edges. Fold the pastry circle in half and crimp the edge with a fork. Bake the patties on an ungreased baking sheet for 30-35 minutes.
*note: I found that I could get more than 24 out of this recipe, so you might want to divide it into about 30 pieces. Each circle should be 4-5 inches diameter. I also ran out of pastry before I ran out of filling, so I grabbed a package of Phyllo (puff pastry) from the freezer, let it thaw, and used it.....extra rich, but flaky and very yummy!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Jamaican Meat Patties
(Oven 400degF or 200degC)
(the jumping off place for this recipe was from the book, “Travelling Jamaica with Knife, Fork, and Spoon” available through Amazon.com)
Pastry
4C flour
½ tsp baking powder
2 tsp ground turmeric (or 1tsp Jamaican Curry Powder and 1tsp annatto)
1 tsp salt
1 C vegetable shortening at room temp.
1 C very cold water
Sift together first four ingredients, cut shortening in until dough has consistency of coarse cornmeal.
Add cold water slowly just until the dough holds together.
Wrap and chill in fridge while making filling.
Filling:
1 ½ pounds ground beef
2 onions finely chopped
5 scallions finely chopped
1-2 habanero or scotch bonnet peppers (discard membrane & seeds) finely chopped
2 Tbsp. Fresh Thyme leaves chopped
2 Garlic cloves grated or finely chopped
2 small pkgs of bread crumbs
1Tbsp. Grated ginger root (optional)
2Tbsp. Vegetable oil
1-2 tsp. Turmeric or Jamaican Curry Powder
Salt & Pepper to Taste
3/4 Cup Water
(You can also add, chopped cooked mushrooms, carrots, cabbage, cho cho, making sure to drain off and squeeze out as much liquid as possible before folding into the cooked meat mixture)
Put the beef in a bowl and add the onions, scallions, habanero pepper, thyme, garlic, and ginger. (And other cooked vegetables) Mix well. Heat the oil in a deep skillet and cook the meat mixture over medium high heat until browned, about 10 minutes. Add bread crumbs, spices and stir well. Add water, cover pan and simmer for 30 minutes. The mixture should be the consistency of thick chili....wet, not runny or dry and crumbly. Preheat oven.
*Divide the dough into 24 equal pieces, on lightly floured surface roll out to 1/4" thickness keeping it in a rough circle. Spoon enough filling into the center of each circle to cover half, leaving the edges free.Moisten edges. Fold the pastry circle in half and crimp the edge with a fork. Bake the patties on an ungreased baking sheet for 30-35 minutes.
*note: I found that I could get more than 24 out of this recipe, so you might want to divide it into about 30 pieces. Each circle should be 4-5 inches diameter. I also ran out of pastry before I ran out of filling, so I grabbed a package of Phyllo (puff pastry) from the freezer, let it thaw, and used it.....extra rich, but flaky and very yummy!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]