Looking for Easter Bun receipe, please and thank- you!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Easter Bun!!!
Re: Easter Bun!!!
me is not expert like Grandma, but this is the one I use every year.
STOUT BUN
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
3 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon melted butter
1 cup mixed fruits (mixed peels)
and raisins
1 egg
1 tablespoon mixed spice (nutmeg, cinnimanon, vanilla)
1 stout
3 tablespoons honey
Dissolve sugar, butter, honey and spice in stout over heat.
Remove from heat and add beaten egg. In mixing bowl mix flour, baking powder and fruits. Add first mixture, mix well . Pour in greased pan. Bake at 350 for 1 1/2 hours.
Make a glaze using 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup water. Boil to syrup and spread over bun, after it is baked, and put back in oven for 5 minutes.
If you want riasin bun and/or hot cross bun mek mi no. Me is not expert mi say
PS if you want the bun darker - put some burnt sugar or browning.
Nicky how about yu try mine,cause i never had that problem
Jamaican Bun
3 cups flour
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
3 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon honey
1tablespoon butter
1 teaspoon anisee seed
1 teaspoon mace
1 teaspoon cinnamon, mix spice
1 bottle beer
browning about 2 tablespoon
1 cup rasins
1/2 cup cherries
Mix beer,spices,butter and honey on low flame until butter melts. mix flour,fruits,cherries,baking powder and salt. add beaten eggs to beer mixture (make sure its not too hot).add the flour to the mixture.pour into a well greased loaf pan. bake for appx. 1 hour or longer at 350 degrees,until done. enjoy
I used Grandma2's recipy for Easter Bun, with beer etc.
Its all most half baked, but no really good smell yet.
Only had a big bottle of beer, so I'm sipping the last half with Clamato. (god its not even noon, yet
I'll come forward again, after the BIG TEST. With a upd.
HAPPY GOOD FRIDAY !!!!!!!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
The cheese comes in between the 2 slices of bun, like a sandwich.
Like ackee and saltfish, one compliments the other.
Now you remind me of Dennis the Menace`s peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]