I want to make some fish thats stuffed with calaloo. can anyone help me with ideas on how to prepare this. if not then please help me with some recipes on preparing calaloo [email protected]
stuffed fish
Re: stuffed fish
thicknes watz up,here is how mi cook de calaloo
Calallo
1 bungle calaloo (chop small)
1 medium onion chopped
1 medium tomato chopped
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 cloves garlic minced
2 slices scotch bonnet pepper
3 tablespoon cooking oil
wash calaloo well,put aside to drain. in a heavy pot on medium heat add cooking oil. when it hot add onions,garlic,tomato,pepper fry for 2 mins. add calaloo add salt and black pepper cover tightly. stir in 5 mins. it should have enough water to cook it,if not add 2 tablespoonful water,cover tightly again.stir every 5 mins.cook for 15 mins. remove from heat adjust seasoning.
in the mean time have your fish ready. place on a double foil,melt 3 tablespoon of margarine.take 1 tablespoon of the melted margarine and pour on the inside.take the calaloo in a spoon,squeeze some of the juice out on the side of the pot, stuff the fish. pour the rest of the melted margarine over the fish,sprinkle with salt and pepper.seal, bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 mins. enjoy.
Here's a recipe for ingredients for crab stuffing (it's actually a recipe for crab cakes but you can use it as your stuffing, it may be a bit too much crab stuffing, but you can gauge that. If it's too much, make less the next time.) Allow about 2 to 3 tbsp. stuffing for each fillet.Originally posted by MiGranny:
[qb]GM2,
Speaking of stuffed fish, could you give me a recipe for filet of fish stuffed with crabmeat? I had that out recently but I am not sure how they prepared it. Any ideas? Tank yu![/qb]
Ingredients for crab stuffing
3 tbs. butter
1/4 cup finely chopped onions
1 lb. jumbo lump crabmeat
1/3 cup bread crumbs
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/4 tsp. hot red pepper sauce
season with salt and pepper to taste
Method for the crab stuffing:
In a medium skillet, heat 1 tbsp. of the butter over medium heat. Add the onion. Cook stirring occasionally, until tender, about 4 minutes. Transfere to a medium bowl.
Add the crab meat and sprinkle the bread crumbs. Then pour the egg and hot pepper sauce on top. Season with the salt and pepper to taste.
Using your hands, gently mix, being careful not to break up the crab meat any more than necessary.
Now your stuffing is ready.
Here's the method for baked stuffed fillets:
2-3 pounds fish fillets (which ever type you prefere)
1 cup flour
1 egg, beaten
2 tbsp. bread crumbs
Method:
Spread stuffing on fillets and roll up from head to tail, then skewer or tie.
Dip each one in seasoned flour.
Coat with egg and bread crumbs or batter.
Place in buttered baking dish and bake in pre-heated moderate oven 350 degrees, for about 20-30 minutes, (10 minutes for each pound of fish) basting occasionally.
Serve on hot dish.
Remove skewer or thread if used.
Garnish with lime or lemon and parsley.
MiGraanny yu knoh mi nuh eat de crab ting rite. but mi sister do an here is her recipe,she say its de best
Baked Stuff FishOriginally posted by MiGranny:
[qb]GM2,
Speaking of stuffed fish, could you give me a recipe for filet of fish stuffed with crabmeat? I had that out recently but I am not sure how they prepared it. Any ideas? Tank yu![/qb]
1 whole 3lb fish
5 tablespoon butter
3 teaspoon celery chopped
3 tablespoon chopped onions
3/4 lb crab meat,flaked
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup parsley
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup red stripe beer
1 tablespoon flour
dash of hot sauce
salt and black pepper
slice onions
Wash your fish useing lime,pat dry. season well with black pepper, salt an sliced onions,set aside for about 2 hours. melt butter fry chopped onions and celery until onion is tender. add crabmeat,salt and pepper to taste,bread crumbs,speck of hot pepper,parsley and a 1/4 cup of cream and mix well. stuff the fish loosely with stuffing and sew up the opening. pour beer over fish in a butter baking dish and bake at 400 degrees for 30 mins.basting all the time till fish is cooked,using liquid in dish to do this. remove fish to a serving platter. cook liquid in dish over high heat until its reduced considerably. add remain cream and stir in the rest of butter with the flour and mix to a paste.cook stirring for 2 mins. season to taste. strain the sauce and serve with fish.
she say she somtimes lay a few strips of bacon ova de fish before she bake it. mi hear its de best in de world. enjoy