I've got a few different curry goat recipes, but was hoping to find other ways to fix it. I raise goats so I'm always eating it, and was hoping to find a new way to fix it.
Anyone? I ran a search but only found more curry goat. =D
Hi Jade Stone, ...just thought I would respond, not with any recipe, since I'm not knowledgable. I do know that there are other ways to prepare goat since my mom did it. Those who know how, will surely let you know. My real question to you is: Are you Jamaican, and where in Texas are you?
Do you sell any of your livestock? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
well since yu call fi goat recipe an doan specify:
Goat tripe goes great with tomatoe paste with lots and lots of pepper serve with fufu - just great!!! - an African friend made it for me and now I'm addicted. Anyway, you take the
Get:
goat tripe (cut in small bite size pieces) wash well, that thing has lots of sandy bits.
Anyway, you just basically boil with all your seasonings/spices and LOTS of pepper until the water goes down and the tripe is well cooked to taste.
Then add in the tomatoe paste and cook until you have a nice sauce. It taste really good.
By the way, by tripe I mean the belly part that kind of looks like honeycomb.
I never used tripe, though...just the goat cut up in chunks...as long as its not di 'ol RAM...
mi do mi best to mek we know di recipe, zeen?
MEAT (1st step):
goat (cut in chunks), chicken (I use gizzards; you can use any skinless chicken parts), 1 cow foot (cut in chunks) (roughly 2 lbs. meat combined)...add 2-4 Maggie seasoning cubes, 1/2 onion (larger pieces), tons of curry (di red one) and likkle thyme while boiling all meats in enough water to cover everything (big stockpot di best)...di cow foot take di longest (obviously)...you should give them a 30 min. head start (all meat should be finished when di cow foot tender)...remove meat from stockpot and set aside...pour juice into large bowl...you will need it later for sauce...
MEAT (2nd step):
place goat meat in large frying pan and allow to "brown" on all sides in a likkle oil...remove meat and set aside...
SAUCE (1st step):
blend/puree 1 scotch bonnet pepper, 1 onion, 1/2 red bell pepper and enough plum tomatoes to fill container (usually 6-10 depending on tomatos you use)...heat oil (I use corn oil) in same stockpot (approx. 1/4 inch)...CAREFULLY! add tomato puree and 1 "whole" scotch bonnet pepper...it should "fry" for approx. 15-20 minutes...you will see the tomatos start to lose color and the puree looks "puffy"...
SAUCE (2nd step):
slowly add juice to stockpot (continue boiling entire mixture)...until you get a nice, smooth texture for di sauce...add all meat and continue to "simmer" for approx. 1 hour...
FINALLY, di stew is ready...yum! yum! yum! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
BTW, as swinish says, fufu is fabulous wid di stew but tasteless (in my opinion)...I usually serve di stew ova rice and sometimes fry some ripe plaintain to go along wid too!!... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
I'm not Jamaican, do I need to be to post here? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] I just love Jamaican cooking and was hoping to find some good recipes for goat.
I do sell them, btw. I raise them for show, but for every show boy, there are 10 that go straight to the freezer. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] I'm 116 miles southeast of Amarillo, TX. These aren't gamey or small, they'll be close to 80 pounds when they're weaned. That's why I need some recipes, lol! Too much goat in the freezer! If you want to buy some though and are far away, I can hook you up with other breeders all over the US. We always have freezer kids. =)
Jade
Originally posted by barosa:
[qb]Hi Jade Stone, ...just thought I would respond, not with any recipe, since I'm not knowledgable. I do know that there are other ways to prepare goat since my mom did it. Those who know how, will surely let you know. My real question to you is: Are you Jamaican, and where in Texas are you?
Do you sell any of your livestock? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img] [/qb]
4 Lbs goat meat(cut in cubes)
1 1/2 Tablespoon salt
1/3 cup flour
2 L Tomatoes(diced)
1 L Onion (sliced)
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
1 Green pepper (sliced)
5 Cloves garlic (chopped)
1 teaspoon black pepper
4 cup cold water
1/2 Cup veg oil
heat 1/4 cup of the oil, brown meat, take out put aside.
Add the rest of oil and flour to the pan cook until brown, add water one cup at a time mix well.
Add veg meat and spices cook for 40 min or until tender.
Roasted Cabrito
1 kid goat(about 8 lbs)
1 stick unsalted butter
2 cloves garlic(minced)
1 Tablespoon lime juice
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon celery salt
1/2 teaspoon each, rosemary, basil, savory and oregano
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
Melt butter add garlic salt and lime juice and cook for 2 mins
Add rest of ingredients pour over cabrito and roast for about 3-4 hrs, cover with foil.
Baste often to keep meat from drying out.
Uncover after 3 hrs and finish cooking.
Remember to baste often.
Originally posted by Jade Stone:
[qb]Thanks chitown, that sounds wonderful! Can't wait to try it. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Btw, what's fufu?
Jade[/qb]
jade stone...u welcome...u welcome...u welcome...
mi figet tu put di onion in di recipe...
you mussa read/print it again now...
hennyways, fufu is pounded yam...lawdamercy, how di African oomans dem have di patience fi dat mi neva know!!
if you have access to decent "ethnic" stores you should be able to find it prepackaged like rice in a clear bag (it looks like flour)...all you do is boil water and add di fufu...di finished product looks like very stiff mashed potatoes!!
Thanks for your response Jade. I was only curious why I asked. We welcome all nationalities here. Our national motto is: OUT OF MANY ONE PEOPLE.
Thanks for the information which can be useful to us Jamaicans who eat a lot of goat meat. If and when the need arises you will certainly be hearing from me, and maybe others. Thanks again.
Goat or Lamb's Tails Soup (Deer's Tails may Substitute)
12 prepared goat's tails
1 tablespoon lemon Juice
1 bay leaf
1 cup barley (cooked for one hour and drained and washed)
2 chicken boullion cubes
2 carrots shredded
1 parsnip root, shredded
1 small onion chopped
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1 cup dried mushrooms, crushed
parsley, chive and dill (chopped)
salt, pepper
sugar
Cut off tail at the root, lay on scraping table, and dip into
boiling water, or pour over to loosen hair and scurf. Scrape with
bell hog scraper, until clean of all hair and scurf, and scrub with
soap and water until clean. Package in bags of 12 and freeze
immediately or use that day.
Soak tails in refrigerator with cold water to cover, with 1 Tablespoon
of Lemon juice and Bay leaf overnight.
Next day add the boullion cubes and cook with the barley at least
4 hrs on Simmer heat, adding water if necessary (don't add cold
water, always add hot water).
Meantime saute onion, carrot and parsnip in 1 tablespoon of olive
oil. Add cooked and dry vegetables to soup and cook another 30
min. Add salt, pepper, and sugar to taste. Serve hot.
Place one kid goat with hams and shoulders on bottom of roasting rack top with the ribs and backstrap or tenderloin.
Make a basting sauce of the following:
1 stick of butter, we prefer unsalted butter for the sweet taste
2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced
1 Teaspoon Salt Juice of one lime
1 Tablespoon Soy Sauce
1 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce
1 Tablespoon Celery Salt
1/2 Teaspoon each, Rosemary, Basil, Savory and Oregano
1/2 Teaspoon Black Pepper
Melt butter in microwave and add the garlic, salt and lime juice. Heat thoroughly in microwave. Add the rest of the ingredients.
Pour over cabrito and roast for about 3-4 hours covered with foil, basting often with the sauce in the roasting pan.
After 4 hours, uncover and baste thoroughly and cook in oven an additional 45 minutes to 1 hour. This will cause the meat to crust over. Baste with the sauce as often as you can. This will keep the meat from drying out.
Carve and serve with fresh pico de gallo and sliced avocado.
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 med. onions (chopped coarsely)
1 sm. bell pepper (chopped)
1 stalk celery (chopped)
Tony Chachere's Seasoning (or salt, red pepper, marjoram)
2 lbs. goat meat (cut into bite-sized chunks)
1 1/2 lb. rabbit meat (cut into bite-sized chunks)
1 lb. link sausage (cut into bite-sized chunks)
1 can mushrooms
1 can rotel tomatoes (diced)
3 large cans tomatoe sauce (303 size)
dark brown roux (recipe follows)
Saute onions, bell pepper, and celery in olive oil - use large cast iron dutch oven if possible
Remove from oil
Season goat meat and rabbit with a liberal amount of Tony's seasoning (or mixture mentioned)
Brown goat meat and rabbit in oil
Add vegetables back into the meat and add 3 quarts of water (make sure you cover meat to about 1" above meat in pot)
Add rotel tomatoes and tomatoe sauce
Cook down about 1 hour on low heat - stirring occassionally to make sure it doesn't stick
Add sausage
Add enough roux to thicken, but not enough to taste like flour
Check seasoning and adjust to taste
Serve over rice when thickened
Roux:
1 cup oil
1 cup plain flour
Combine in cast iron skillet and brown over medium heat - stirring constantly - until the color of chocolate - be very careful not to burn
(continue to stir after fire is cut off until skillet cools some)
Cut a very young goat (8 to 12 lbs) into serving pieces. Wash and dry pieces and place in an open pan in a 350° oven. Cook for 20 minutes using a meat thermometer, making sure internal temperature reaches 160°. Prepare barbecue sauce. Simmer for 30 minutes. Baste kid goat with sauce every 15 to 20 minutes for 2 hours or until meat is very tender.
Combine vinegar, oil and seasonings and pour over goat. Cover and marinate in refrigerator 12 to 24 hours, turning often. Remove goat, strain marinade and reserve. Quarter potatoes and onions and place in shallow roasting pan along with chilies and garlic and pour 1/4 cup marinade over vegetables. Place goat on roasting rack over vegetables. Pour 1/4 cup marinade over goat. Roast at 325° F for approximately 25 minutes per pound of goat. Baste with 1/4 cup marinade every 20-30 minutes before carving. Serve with vegetables. Use drippings for gravy if desired.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.