It juss come to mi mind.Mi mother use to blend up a wicked punch every Sunday morning.I know she added either bull shandy or guieness to the punch.I cant remember seeing Bull shandy in the shops for ages, have you?
bull shandy???
Re: bull shandy???
My last drink of bull shandy, about 1985 I went Jamaica and go to a place I belive in Hanover by the name of Axe and Adge disrtrict (Adge not sure of correct spelling).
There was a man with a little grocery shop who had some bull shandy on the top shelf, they seems to be there so long that the the horns were falling off the bull's head,I mean the paper on the bottle with the bull's head were rubbing off the bottle. my friend and I were so delighted to see the shandy that we started to drink the shandy hot.
I can remembering ordering the third one , from that time I didn't remember anything until the next morning waking up with a spliting headache.
My friend was fired up for the rest of the other day. I wish I could find some bull shandy, I would surely pay it back for what it did to me, after all is said and done the bull shandy brought back a lot of memories to me it used to be my favourite drink when I was a very young boy.
nice story Po mi isrelite,bway dem stap sell it from bout dat time deh yu knoh. why not mek yu own,wen mi dida pickney mi fada use to mek his own,an all wen dem use to bottle it de country people still made their own.
Shandy (or Bull Shandy)
1 bottle red stripe
1 pint ginger beer
pour over ice cubes stir an serve. mek it pon a Sunday afternoon. fi some reason it just go down better DWL,enjoy
G2 I personally know the manufacturers of Bull shandy Mr.wong in industrial estate and there is no ginger in it. It is actually made from soya and molases and is fermented to produce the product. I dont know if he is still running the company now or any of his kids has returned (they were all in the USA) to manage is,but it was a product I use to drink al lot as a child ( not it is not intoxicating) I would go to thr factory and catty my JUG [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] and spill it in the car on my way home.
Boy!!! life in Jamaica is incomparable!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
the closest thing to bull shandy would be Malta with a couple ounces of vinegar.
yes Dr.Dudd yu could be rite on dat, but mi was mekin country man bull shandy or just shandy.
is funny in de country we kids would get a drink of this every Sunday.
i heard its not being made anymore,if yu find out anything let us knoh please
G2, the drink that you mention a recipe (ginger ale can be used also) for was called Dandy Shandy, it was made by D&G and popular in the mid 90s. Bull Shandy is a whole 'nedda story, I can only remember that the taste was sorta bitter but ei taste good [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img] especially served over ice [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]