Hi everyone, I live in Minnesota so I'm not lucky enough to get some of the Jamaican food items I miss so much. Does anyone know how to make those little round spice buns? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] Not the Easter bun type, the ones with no mixed fruits.
Hi sherylj, I believe Grandma2 has a recipe for these buns, hold tight and she will come with it.
Mek mi see if mi can find har, arite?
Note to G2: she means the ones with the yeast that you can make the little round buns with (for bun and cheese) I found no recipe for it, but you did state you have the yeast recipe, (in wan a yu poas in di archives) http://www.jamaicans.com/cgi-bin/ult...;f=24;t=000206
so mi depending pan yu, dwl. Please poas ei wen yu get di chance! Tonks. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
tanks Simmy, mi get big up, yu knoh mi head tek wata DWL,ok mek a try.
hi sherylj,welcome to de shap. now mi hope is hot cross bun yu talkin,cause ongle dat mi could tink......people still mek dem...
Hot Cross Bun
4 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 pk yeast
1/2 pint warm milk
1/2 cup shortening
1 cup currents
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground mixed spice
1 egg (opitional)
mix yeast with a little of the sugar and de milk. add 2 cups flour,cover, leave till yeast rise bout 1/2 hour.melt and cool shortening and all all ingredients to the yeast.knead well,cover,let rise until double in size. shape into round buns (12) place 3 ins.apart on a greased bakin sheet. cover let rise again for 20-30 mins. mark a cross on top brush with melted sugar bake in a 350 degree oven,15-20 mins. enjoy
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.