Originally posted by BND1999:
[qb]OK Simmy.. sticking with the coconut cream in the box.. hope they have that in my market.. I have only looked for cans. Big thank you!![/qb]
If not you'll find it in NYC. Try a West Indian Market.
BND, woooiii, mi forget to tell yu, before you add the rice, make sure is only an inch of liquid in the pot, how do I explain that, hmmmmmm. At most, an inch and a half. Too much liquid will also make the rice and peas gooey. Better you pour some out into a bowl, than have too much. Can always add little back in if necessary.
One inch of liquid left *over* the peas, nat fram the bottom of the pot, but from where the peas stop. I hope you can understand that, don't know how to say it any other way.
Jamaica Dreamin, I find the cream in both Pathmark and Western Beef. It's usually in the aisle with Spanish or Jamaican foods. On the shelf, not in the frozen section. West Indian markets have it too, you're right about that. Can also try Latino markets. BND, if your store doesn't have it, use the the canned, only half though.
Oh man Simmy I am getting intimidated to try this again.. I know it will flop.. which beans.. which coconut.. how much liquid.. no stir.. and grate coconut cream?? if it's cream why grate?? Can't you hold a basic jamaican cooking class????? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Originally posted by BND1999:
[qb]Oh man Simmy I am getting intimidated to try this again.. I know it will flop.. which beans.. which coconut.. how much liquid.. no stir.. and grate coconut cream?? if it's cream why grate?? Can't you hold a basic jamaican cooking class????? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [/qb]
I'm incapable of cooking rice. I've tried spanish rice / Jamaican style rice. It's also either too gooey or too hard. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
LOL, BND, girl, don't get intimidated. Believe me when I say it took mi a good while to get it right. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Basic cooking class, ha ha ha, I thought that's what this was. Tee hee. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Anyway, use the red peas first, graduate to the gungo when you get the red peas right.
I grate the creamed just because I want to, it melts quicker in the pot that way. The creamed in the box comes as a solid you know. If you can't find the creamed, as I said, use the canned but only half a can.
Just make sure the amount of liquid is correct before you add your rice. And stir only once, no matter how tempted you are to keep stirring. Stirring makes it gooey and mushy. Once the liquid is cooked out, then steam on vey low until dried out. (about 20-30 more minutes on *real* low, with the trivet in place) Once you get it right, you won't have any problems from then on.
Jamaica Dreamin, you are NOT incapable of cooking rice. Rinse the rice a couple of times in cold water first. Drain it.
Rule of thumb, one inch of water over the rice. Here's how you measure it (this is for rice only, do not stick your finger in hot water, dwl)
Rice in pot, next, water in pot. Use your index finger and measure from the top of the rice, the water should come to the first joint on the finger, that's an inch. Turn on the fire, when water starts to bubble, cover and turn it to medium low, when water cooks out, steam rice on very low till it dries out. Use a trivet for the steaming. (about 20 minutes) Do not stir, that's another rule, it makes the rice gooey. (Get yourself a trivet, they sell em in the 99 cent store.)
Once the rice has steamed and is ready to serve, you may THEN fluff it up with a fork.
Patience, you and BND will learn if I have to come give lessons in person!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
By the way, use long grained rice. I use Basmati, I somehow love it better.
Ok will try Simmy... I learn best by see it touch it feel it.. meaning.. watching someone else do it...maybe at a future bashment we could cook.. LOL...love to have you and G2 in my kitchen just to show me some basics.. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Maybe I will try it with someone like Tee who lives near me... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
(((AIR))) girl dat sound so nice,an mi see yu have some great cooks pon yu side (((Tuff Gong))) mi ital friend who mi caan see, an Simmy.
BND watch dis now,mi goin to teach yu how to cook rice,dis is how mi madda teach mi
1 cup brown rice 2 cups water
or wen you add the rice if the water is not too hot, stick your index finger in the water. the water should not be above the first line on the indix finger,if so remove some.
next do not cover your pot until the water bigins to boil,then cover with a tight lid an turn your heat to low for about 29 mins.
sure proof way,take your cup of rice,fry in 2 tablespoon margarine/butter untill most of the kernels are brown,add to your 2 cups water with some salt,bring to a boil,cover leave on low heat.
Thank you thank you thank you for the detail in this post. While I tend to think I got the seasoning right for rice and peas, I have messed up the rice enough times...I'm gonna try the rice measuring trick. Plus I always use canned peas. If I planned better I could use dried...I'm gonna try that too.
I am a professional when using rice cookers though [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Which type of rice is better to use parboil (uncle Ben's) or regular rice (example: Carolina)? In Jamaica I grew up on regular long grain rice but since I have been in the states some of my friends are telling me to us parboil rice. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Greetings Millicent, welcome to our kitchen. Use any rice you personally prefere, which type do you love?
My preference is Basmati rice. There are so many types of rice out there, just use what suits you best. I'm sure others will come along and give you their preferences also. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Simmy:
[qb]Greetings Millicent, welcome to our kitchen. Use any rice you personally prefere, which type do you love?
My preference is Basmati rice. There are so many types of rice out there, just use what suits you best. I'm sure others will come along and give you their preferences also. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [/qb]
I love Basmati rice also...I did not know that it could be used to make rice & peas..silly me. Thanks [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.