I had a wonderful breakfast in Negril a couple weeks ago of butterbeans, fried dumplings and callaloo... I asked for the recipe for the butterbeans, but understandably, I haven't heard back from the owner of the cafe. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
DWL yu gwaan Hushbaby, a so it go still yu nuh girl DWL, but tru mi neva eat a dat place mi nuh waan give no rang information.
but mi have few recipe under me belt fi beans still [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
likkle,
G2 will come back with your recipe soon, but in the meantime, check on the back of the can, look for the butterbeans in the can by grace foods. or check their site, gracefoods.com. hope this helps. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Me memba one time butta bean use to sell inna tin.So unno can go check out the supamarket an see if unno cyaan get ie.
I havent had dat since mi did small though so might be it noh deh nemore
1/2 lb codfish
2 plum tomatoes chopped
1 stalk escallion
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 sprig thyme
1 can butter beans
2 Tbs. cooking oil
2 slice scotch bonnet
salt to taste
Boil saltfish 2 place in cold water an pickup.
chop tomatoes and slice escallion and pepper. heat cooking oil in the frying pan. add tomatoes, escallion and pepper,saute' for a few minutes.
add codfish and butter beans to seasoning and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.nice with boil bananas
yu can add onion an garlic for variation
------------------------------------------
Sausage and Butter Bean
1 clove garlic chopped
1/2 med onion chopped
1 stalk escallion chopped
2 cans vienna sausages chopped
1 med green sweet pepper chopped
1 med tomato chopped
2 Tbs. cooking oil
1 can butter beans
2 Tbs. ketchup
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
drain vienna sausages and cut sweet pepper into thick strips and chopped tomato. set aside.
Heat oil in a skillet or frying pan.saute garlic, onion and escallion.add whole sausages and the entire can of butter beans. add tomato ketchup and sprinkle on the black pepper. toss in sweet pepper and tomato.
serve warm
likkle,
I copied this from gracefoods website, i'm not sure if it is what you need, but they have PLENTY more, and thanks for asking this question, now i know what i'm having for dinner tonight [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
1 can GRACE CODFISH
2 large plum tomatoes
1 stalk escallion
ยฝ tsp. GRACE BLACK PEPPER
1 sprig thyme
1 can GRACE BUTTER BEANS
2 Tbs. GRACE VEGETABLE OIL
1. Drain and flake codfish.
2. Chop tomatoes and slice escallion.
3. Heat cooking oil in the frying pan.
4. Add tomatoes, escallion and saute' for a few minutes.
5. Add codfish and butter beans to seasoning and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.
To Serve: With yam and bananas.
Granny I will be trying out one of those recipes and I will be sure to get back to you and let you know how it turns out.
Did you go dig up you old recipe book for those
Thanks neways
Down here (in Australia)I cant get calaloo, so when I make a similar dish I fry some onions in oil, then add some red beans n spinach for a little bit, then a dash of worcestershire sauce n black pepper, it comes up nice indeed.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.